My Favorite Spin Playlist

I was super excited to teach Spinning today because it’s my second favorite thing to do next to running which I did this morning even though it was only a mile.  My short run was a warm up before I did a little leg day work!  Right now, I teach a Spinning class on Thursday night at 5:30.  When my boss called and asked if I would sub for a class on Tuesday, I was more than happy to do so!  I love making up new routines and playlists for my dedicated Spinners 😉

Image

If you’ve never taken a Spinning class, I highly recommend it!  It’s a fast paced, high energy workout but when you’re working hard alongside so many others and listening to upbeat music, how can you go wrong!?  

The routine that I used today is one of my favorites because it is hard to do every time I do it!  I always work up a sweat and feel like I got a really good workout.  It consists of five different moves and then I repeat the loop 2 or 3 times, depending on the length of the class and the length of the songs.  I change the songs up each time I use the routine but the moves stay the same!  Today, our playlist looked like this:

Image

Not all my playlists are a “certain” kind of music, although this one is certainly more top 100 chart! 🙂  Here’s a detailed look at the ride:

Strobelight – Jason Derulo (3:03) Warm up!  Add resistance to feel the road under your feet.  Get ready to work!

Mr. Saxobeat – Alexandra Stan (3:13) Seated Climb, Run, Standing Climb — change positions every 30 seconds and add just a bit of resistance each time.  Feel a moderate hill by song’s end.

We Run The Night – Havana Brown feat. Pitbull (3:49) Here you have moderate resistance:  alternate 1 minute in the saddle, 1 minute running through the resistance.

Elevator – Flo Rida feat. Timbaland (3:50) Take it from moderate resistance to heavy resistance.  Standing climb!

Memories – David Guetta feat. Kid Cudi (3:29) HOLD that heavy resistance from the climb and take it back to the saddle. PUSH through heavy resistance for 30 seconds, then take it out to the standing climb and pick up speed for 30 seconds.  Alternate for the duration of the song!

Now or Never – Outasight (3:43) Back it down to moderate resistance…time to jump!  I find it much easier to move between a standing climb position and hovering back over the saddle.  4 out, 4 hover.  Challenge yourself and try for 2 counts on the chorus!

Crank It Up – David Guetta feat. Akon (3:24) Hit the flat road!  Here, you sprint.  Sprinting on the flat road is all about control:  you are pushing the pedals, the pedals are not pushing your legs!  Think of it as picking up the pace.  15 seconds on, 15 seconds off.  This will keep your heart rate up there for sure!

Take Over Control – Afrojack (3:43)  Move between the three positions: Seated Climb, Run, Standing Climb changing every 30 seconds.  Add just a bit of resistance each time!  Reach the moderate hill.

Work – Ciara feat. Missy Elliott (4:05) Moderate resistance:  alternate 1 minute in the saddle, 1 minute running through the resistance.

Paradise (Tiesto Remix) – Coldplay (4:47) Take it from moderate resistance to heavy resistance.  Standing climb!

Don’t Stop the Party – Pitbull feat. TJR (3:25) HOLD that heavy resistance from the climb and take it back to the saddle. Seated climb for 30 seconds then take it to a standing climb and pick up that pace for 30 seconds!

Let’s Go – Calvin Harris feat. Ne-Yo (3:45) Moderate resistance…time to jump!  This is the best jumping song at the end of class!  It’s like Calvin Harris is telling you to keep going!  Move from a standing climb to a hover — 4 counts each.  Definitely try 2 counts here!  The ride is almost over!

Catch My Feeling – Kelly Clarkson vs. Flo Rida (3:48) Finally on the flat road! 2 songs until you cool down. Sprinting on the flat road again!  Control those legs — 15 seconds on, 15 seconds off! 

Let It Roll – Flo Rida (3:16) – Oh, bring it up to a run on the flat road!  Stretch out those legs!

If I Lose Myself – OneRepublic (4:02) – Time to cool down 🙂 Keep those legs moving for at least a minute before you hop off the bike.  Stretch, stretch, stretch!

Even though I was almost late for class today (stupid traffic lights), I made it with one minute to spare and my students were excited to meet a new instructor!  I hope I didn’t scare them away with this one 😉

 

Leave a Reply

