Quality Sibling Time

I saw my most favorite sign of life hanging up downtown today:

IMG_5810

RUNNER OF STEEL.

Hey!  Runner of steel!  That’s me!  (At least, I think that title applies to me most days…)  I am so excited for the half marathon I cannot even put it into words.  I had a moment of despair tonight when I realized I have to be in my corral by 6:45 A.M.  That’s really freaking early.  BUT I WILL BE SO HIGH ON ENDORPHINS I DON’T EVEN CARE 🙂

Today was a really fun day!  I was busy from the get go and had to settle for an afternoon workout which is not my favorite.  My youngest brother, Jake, lost his retainer and had an exciting 8 A.M. appointment to get a new one.  Despicable Me was playing on the TV near all the patients so that was semi-entertaining 😉  In true “I’m in middle school and I want to go into school as late as possible” fashion, Jake insisted that we go out to breakfast.  En route to Panera in Monroeville (which is about 10 minutes from his school), we decided to go on an adventure to Pamela’s P&G Diner.  They are known for serving the “best breakfast” in Pittsburgh and Jake had never been there before!  I justified the longer drive and delay of getting him to school by saying that if we ate there on a weekend we would have had to wait much longer.  Tehehe.

If you don't take a picture of your food, did you really ever eat it?

If you don’t take a picture of your food, did you really ever eat it?

I got the Tex Mex omelette with wheat toast and Jake got the bacon and cheese omelette.  For as many scrambled and/or dippy eggs as that boy eats, he had never eaten an omelette before!  We were both very happy campers 🙂

After I took Jake to school (just in time for the cut off to participate in after school activities!), I went to visit my mom at her elementary school.  I am completing some field hours there this May for my degree.  It’s fun to help some of the same teachers that I had when I was in school.  They are getting ready for a Family Math Night next week and there are a lot of last minute preparations!

Today was an important day for my other brother, Alex.  He is graduating from high school next month and he can hardly wait!  But this afternoon, he had an appointment at the Carpenter’s Union to take a placement test.   It was a 100 question multiple choice test that focused mostly on math.  The score on this test will determine if he can start his apprenticeship there!  He will find out how he did in the middle of May.  I am so excited for him!

Working hard while I creepily lurked around in the lobby.  Hey, they could've closed the door.  Muahaha.

Working hard while I creepily lurked around in the lobby. Hey, they could’ve closed the door. Muahaha.

My afternoon workout turned into a destination run.  Let me stand up on my soap box for a second and say if you are ever unmotivated to run, run to a PLACE.  Don’t run in a circle or you will go crazy.  I put on my running clothes in hopes of being motivated and 20 minutes later I was out the door. 😉  Around mile 2, my mom called to tell me she was going to visit her friend in our old neighborhood.  I decided at that moment to take my run in that direction and it was great.

IMG_5814

The road to anywhere.

It’s on a road like this…to a destination…that your brain has a silent argument with itself in which it says “Damn you for running to a place because that means we can’t stop” and “Thank you for pushing me to work out even when I want to lay on the ground and eat a popsicle”.  Or maybe that’s just my brain. 😉  In any case, I was able to log 5 miles which is just perfect before my race this weekend.  I didn’t push myself too hard today — it was just a nice, easy run.

Questions:

– Do you have brothers (or siblings)?

– Do you run with a friend or solo?

– Have you ever run to a destination?

2 thoughts on “Quality Sibling Time

Leave a Reply

