A Sweet Treat

I’m a big fan of using healthy ingredients to make sweet treats for dessert.  Why not?!  First, it’s fun to be creative in the kitchen, but an added bonus is that your dessert then becomes GOOD for you!  Score 🙂

Enter the chocolate Greek yogurt cupcake.Image(Source)

92 calories?  No fat?  What kind of recipe IS this?!  A good one, don’t worry!

This recipe caught my eye for a few reasons:

1.  I love chocolate.  (But really, who doesn’t?!)

2.  My latest food obsession is vanilla Greek yogurt.  Seriously, who knew it was so delicious?  I’ve been a strawberry and strawberry ONLY yogurt-eater for my entire life.  I’m glad I stepped out of the box. 😉

3.  I recently bought Truvia, a zero-calorie sweetener, to use in place of sugar.  So far I haven’t used it for anything except my coffee — now was the perfect opportunity!

Image

(Source)

Ingredients:  This recipe makes approximately 15 cupcakes.

2 Dannon Oikos Vanilla fat free Greek yogurts

*I used Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla Greek yogurt!*

1.5 cups Truvia

2 egg whites

3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 TBSP Silk Light Soy Milk

*I used Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk!*

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup cocoa powder

How To Make This Delicious Creation:

Preheat the oven to 350*F.  Use an electric mixer to combine yogurt and Truvia, then add egg whites, milk, and vanilla.  Add all dry ingredients.

Image

Fill the cupcake tins 3/4 of the way.  Bake for 20 minutes!  And don’t forget to lick the spatula. 😉

Comparison:

Image

They are yummy with some Reddi-Whip on top!

Now, get cookin’!

Leave a Reply

