Fitness Fun!

A big part of my life is dedicated to fitness.  I love being active and eating healthy because it makes me feel good about myself and I know that I am only helping my body in the long run.  Leading a healthy lifestyle now will help ensure that I can continue to be healthy as I grow older! 🙂

I found a fun post from Ashley over at My Food and Fitness Diaries that talks about all things fitness.  As I was reading, I was already thinking about what my favorite things are.  I hope you enjoy reading!

Five Fitness Things I Can’t Live Without

  • Headphones for my iPod! I have been known to forget this precious item.  I currently own about five pairs of headphones from various trips to the gym where I forgot them and had to purchase new ones at the nearest store. 😉
  • Brooks Ghost Shoes.  After being a dedicated Asics runner, I tried the Ghost 5 last summer and went through two pairs as I trained for my first half marathon!  I haven’t been injured or uncomfortable since wearing this shoe.
  • Bobby pins to keep my bangs out of my face.
  • Foam roller.  I do need to be more consistent, though!
  • Neon colored shirts & sports bras.  My closet looks like a rainbow!

Most Embarrassing Song I Listen To While Working Out

With a little bit of a twist (it’s a remix with Pitbull), I love to listen to Michael Jackson’s “Bad”!  When he sings,

“And The Whole World Has To
Answer Right Now
Just To Tell You Once Again,
Who’s Bad . . .”

I am literally asking myself that question! Who’s bad? I’M BAD! I’M KICKING SERIOUS BUTT OVER HERE WHILE I WORK OUT! YAY! GO ME! 🙂

Favorite Pre-Workout Snack or Meal

On a busy school or work day, I will wake up early and have an easy on the go granola bar while I get dressed to run.

free-fiber-one-sample 1001029_030000055755_A_400In every runner’s handbook/magazine/article I’ve ever read, I don’t think either of these count as a quality pre-run snack.  But they work for me!  When I get back, I will have scrambled eggs or oatmeal.  And I always eat a banana!

IMG_5363

Morning hair.

 Peanut butter & banana on toast is my favorite pre-RACE food!  Also, I should probably be more aware of what I look like when I take pictures.  Or consider how the world wide web will see me as I post this photo.  No shame.

On My Fitness Bucket List

  • Run a marathon!
  • Get my personal trainer certification.
  • Run a 1:30 half marathon.
  • Learn how to do crow pose!
I can do that. Right? Right.

I can do that. Right? Right.

Must Have Tech Tools

  • My Fitness Pal app on my iPhone.  There are so many varying opinions about counting calories, but I simply like to keep track of what I eat.  It makes me more mindful.  If you know me, you know I have a major sweet tooth!
  • Map My Run or Nike+ Sportwatch GPS to log my miles!

Top Exercise Gear

  • Puma socks.  Cushion-y and tall enough to cover my heel.  I hate when the sock slouches down and I get a blister!
  • Nike Free.  Perfect for cross training and lifting!
Bright, fun, and comfy!

Bright, fun, and comfy!

Motivational Mantras

  • “If it was easy, everyone would do it.”
  • “You’re not going to get the ass you want by sitting on the one you have.”
  • “Love your legs for what they can do, not just how they look.
  • “I’m busy getting stronger.”

And one that popped out of my mouth while teaching a Spin class one day:

“YOU are tired but your legs are not!  Keep going!”

Favorite Cardio Exercise

  • Running
  • Spinning
  • Hip Hop Cardio
I jump. Copyright Kam Jamz Fitness

I jump.
Copyright Kam Jamz Fitness

Favorite Strength Moves

  • Bent over barbell row
  • Lateral pulldown
  • Weighted squats
  • Squat jumps (Oh how they burn!)
  • Planks

Question:

– Tell me a thing or two about your fitness life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

