Show and Tell: Resolutions and Goals

I’m linking up with Andrea over at Momfessionals today to share my goals for 2015 🙂

Show and Tell Banner

I recently shared my “one word” for 2015 both here and on Instagram.

I am choosing to be more “present” in my life this year.

IMG_5531

Too often, I feel that I let myself get distracted by things that don’t really matter…namely, social media.  The first step to being more present in my life this year will be putting my phone down.  I cannot tell you how many times I am scrolling through Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram and reading posts that I have already seen.  I am deeming that unacceptable;)

I also want to be more present because I want to appreciate what I have.  I recently graduated with a degree in early level education and I am in grad school for reading education.  I am blessed with a job as a research assistant and a writing tutor so I am constantly working with students and I LOVE both of my jobs.  But, because many of my friends graduated and got “real” jobs and I am still in school, I find myself wishing I was in a different place in life.  I don’t want a different job and I don’t want to wish away these years.  I need to be present in them.  Also, I hope to be a better listener.  I want to have more meaningful conversations.  I want my relationships to grow.  And I want to appreciate the things that go unnoticed when I’m not paying attention.  Am I supposed to meet someone new?  Have a random conversation in line at the grocery store?  See a random act of kindness?  I don’t know!  But, in 2015, I plan on finding out.

I like to choose one word to define my year because it gives me focus.  Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of “things” that I am also planning on doing, but they are not resolutions.  They are goals because they WILL be done!

1. Read 52 books.

read

I am a bookworm at heart.  When I was younger, my mom challenged my brothers and I to read 100 books every summer.  I only achieved that feat ONE time!  I know that 52 books is a LOFTY goal, but there are times of the year that I read more often, and there will also be certain books that I come across that I will fly through because I love them!  I have tried to accomplish this before, but I always end up somewhere in the 30s.  And I also slack on keeping track of the titles.  So maybe I actually have done it before…who knows;)  My mom and I settled on the number 52 together.  52 weeks, 52 books…it just made sense.  I’m sure this will be challenging at times but I am really excited to get my hands on new books!

2.  Make time for what I will call “morning message”.  

While we are talking about reading, I really want to spend the first part of my day after I wake up reading my Bible.  I am guilty of waking up and scrolling through social media as if it’s the daily newspaper.  No more!  I started reading Jesus Calling last year in September.  I like to read the daily passage, connect it to the verses, and write in my journal.  It is going to become the best habit of this year, I just know it:)

IMG_5447

Also, I have The Message Remix Bible and it’s my very favorite.  Because it’s written in contemporary language, it just makes more sense to me.

3.  Find a Spinning and PiYo “home”.

spin-class-in-cumberland-lincoln-ri piyo

I have been teaching Spin classes since 2011 and I recently became a PiYo LIVE instructor in December.  I absolutely LOVE teaching Spin classes.  Finding music, creating the workout, motivating the people in class…it’s so fun!!! And as I am practicing the PiYo choreography, I am getting more excited to teach that class for the first time, too!  When I moved to Maryland for grad school, I wasn’t able to transfer from my gym in Pittsburgh like I had hoped.  I have been to a few Spin studios that I love and I have emailed a few gyms about teaching PiYo, so hopefully everything falls into place this month!

4.  Gain confidence in my abilities as a health coach.

teambeachbody

Nutrition and fitness are my passion and I want to share that with as many people as possible!  I am guilty of comparison, but I need to focus on what I bring to the table and not worry about how my journey differs from someone else’s.

5.  Grow my savings.

 savings-piggybank

I’m a recent college graduate in grad school.  Need I say more?

6.  Run a 1:45 marathon.  

My PR is 1:54:50.  That means I have to cut almost 10 minutes off of my time…but it CAN be done.  Thanks to all the strength training I’m going to do, remember? 😉  While we’re on this point…I also want to sign up for a race I’ve never done before.

half

7.  Walk my dogs as often as possible when I am home in Pittsburgh!

Dogs need to walk.  And they have our entire fenced in backyard to run around in, but it really needs to be a priority to walk the little guys!  I will be convincing my entire family of this point before I pack to go back to school:)

IMG_8376

 8.  Make 2015 a yes year.

I want to travel with family and friends.  I want to visit new places in my own town.  I want to try new food, wear new clothes, and take risks.  And I’m going to do that by saying yes.  I am an over-analyzer by nature, so this will be an interesting experience;)

SAY-YES

Now that we’ve ended on a nice even number, I can’t help but wonder what else I will accomplish this year that I don’t even realize yet!  My brain runs on a school year schedule, so much so that August/September is when I buy a new planner.  I simply cannot shop for a planner in January.  Cannot happen;)  But, I can’t argue that there is something about January 1 that feels good. 🙂

– Do you make New Years resolutions?

– What are your 2015 goals and resolutions?

2 thoughts on “Show and Tell: Resolutions and Goals

  1. I love all of your goals, and I can honestly relate to all of them because they’re big priorities in my life, too!! Reading the Bible and devotions, “regular books”, putting the phone down, dog walking… etc.! I think it’s great that you’re furthering your education and trying to enjoy this time in your life and not wish it away. My goals for 2015: plant a garden, travel, write, decorate, read 50 books, take care of my nails, re-read the whole Bible, re-read The Purpose Driven life, and organize my house! Whew. It’s going to be a busy and amazing year for us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Let’s Talk [January] | kylie mcgraw

Leave a Reply

