Something New: Podcasts

So, I discussed my love affair with music last Friday. But recently, I have also started listening to podcasts. I need to be in the right setting while I listen to a podcast, though. They are great in the car but I’m 50/50 with them in the gym. Sometimes I can focus, and sometimes there are ton of people in the gym and it’s really loud and I just can’t pay attention to the “extra” noise in my ears. So I go back to music. But hey. Whatever works! If you haven’t listened to a podcast before, all iPhones come with the purple podcast app:

IMG_6599

Then you just search whatever you are interested in! You can also play around with podcasts on iTunes. 🙂 Some of my favorites:

IMG_6600

Two that you MUST listen to are Serial and Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me.

Let’s start with Serial. Oh my goodness if you have not listened to this, you need to. I kept seeing people post on social media about this podcast during the holidays, so one day when I was walking my dogs, I downloaded the first episode. It’s a true story about a guy who was arrested and sent to jail for the murder of his high school girlfriend…but some people think he was wrongly accused. Like a good book you just can’t put down. So. Addicting. Although, two things:

1. Listening to this while walking my dogs alone was slightly terrifying. Every time the wind blew, I jumped a mile!

2. It happened in Baltimore which is only 30 miles away from where I go to school. It felt too close for comfort at times!!!

NPR has a ton of podcasts, but that one is called Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me! It’s the first podcast I ever downloaded, actually. It sounds like a radio show with people calling in and they answer trivia questions. Kinda fun. 🙂

 (N) is the National Community Church podcast. My church has 7 locations and at least 4 services I could attend each weekend, but as hard as it is to admit, sometimes life gets in the way and I don’t make it. If I’m traveling or someone is in town (or sleeping in…shhh!), the podcast is a great alternative to going to the service! I try to listen to it right away on Monday morning. We are in the middle of a series called Elements right now, so we are talking about Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self-Control. Each week is a different word and I don’t want to miss any of them!

The other ones are a random assortment of things that interest me, mostly related to health and fitness. If you have ever heard of the Insanity workout, you have to listen to the Define Your Life podcast. Shaun T created Insanity and his podcast just talks about life but he is so. darn. amazing. I say that because I actually believe it, but also because he always emphasizes the word amazing. That’s pretty much how he feels about life. 🙂

I want another podcast to suck me in like Serial did! Any recommendations??

One thought on “Something New: Podcasts

  1. Pingback: Rain Can’t Rain On My Friday Parade | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

