What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday: Recipe Club Edition

Hi. My name is Kylie and I am a serial snacker. Yes, that’s right, I love me some snacks. And I bet you do too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Recipe Club 2

On Wednesdays, I usually share what I’ve been eating recently…but I’ve been a huge slacker in the picture department so I’m linking up with Andreaย to share an oldie but goodie…no bake energy balls!

When it comes to cooking,ย I have two major beliefs. Number one: everyone knows how to cook. If you know how to follow directions (aka a recipe), then you are a chef to me! Number two: it must be easy and it must not include 9,472 ingredients that no one has in their pantry. Do you hear me, Pinterest? I don’t have the grocery store’s entire spice section in my kitchen! I will admit to frequently omitting ingredients…especially when only a teaspoon is called for. This may not be the best method, but it’s part of my method…which is that cooking and baking should be simple. Fewer ingredients is better and easy assembly is where it’s at!

Exhibit A:

My usual omelette…

IMG_6735

…because you throw things in a frying pan and let it go. And it still looks pretty and tastes delicious no matter what!

Pinterest goes through phases where I swear I see similar recipes pinned over and over again and then they seem to fade away. A few years ago, I found a recipe for energy balls and I’m pretty sure that my mom and I have made these at least twice a month ever since! In our family, this Pinterest trend stuck around. ๐Ÿ˜‰

99e2f15e47111e927b866f6ba6d2fea2

(source)

This is the Pinterest image I originally found and pinned to my “Healthy Is Happy” board. Follow me!

This little snack tastes like a mini chocolate chip cookie with a little extra sweetness because of the coconut. It’s right up my alley because you mix everything in a bowl, roll it up, and put them in the fridge. I mean, come on. What could be easier?!

Here is what you need:

1 cup oatmeal
ยฝ cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
โ…“ cup honey
1 cup coconut flakes
ยฝ cup ground flaxseed
ยฝ cup mini chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla

Once you have combined all the ingredients, use a spoon to “measure” a little bit of “batter” and roll it into a ball. Put the rolled energy balls on a cookie sheet or in a container and store them in the fridge. ๐Ÿ™‚

You can call me out on the ground flaxseed. I know it’s not an ingredient that everyone has on hand and I honestly never purchased it until we made this, but now there’s always a bag with our baking ingredients!

IMG_6390

Our first successful batch!

We made these before going on our annual girls’ trip to Atlantic City and they were the perfect snack for the car and for the beach! Plus, it always helps to know that you’re eating something healthy on vacation. At first, my mom pinned this recipe, too…then she grew to love it so much that she wrote it on a little index card and put it in the cabinet with all our baking ingredients. Now I’m pretty sure sheย could make it with her eyes shut, but I don’t want to call her out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll just say that’s a testimony to how good they are!

Sidenote: I recently tried a vanilla energy ball recipe recommended by The Beachbody Blog. It’s also a simple recipe, but it calls for almond flour…which I don’t keep on hand in my kitchen. So in true Kylie fashion, I skipped it. Let’s just say the end product wasn’t as good as it could have been. ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_5846

Happy snacking!!!

One thought on “What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday: Recipe Club Edition

  1. Pingback: Friends + Fruit + Favorites, Oh My | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

