Weekend Recap: Easter Edition

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had my fair share of candy, chocolate, and decadent desserts over the past few days! It felt like Halloween 2.0 at one point. Ha! It is all so delicious…you just have to indulge! But of course, we are celebrating more than chocolate. Jesus rose to save US. That is the real reason to celebrate.

IMG_6508

We sang this song at church and my mom and I were so excited. It is our very favorite! Our celebration started on Good Friday with a good old fashioned tradition: dying eggs! My brothers tried to pretend like they weren’t excited, but you can’t skip out on tradition. 😉

IMG_6448

IMG_6568

IMG_6449

My mom and I met my aunt at a local fire hall for a fish fry and craft show. It happens every year on Good Friday and every year I am surprised by how many people come out! There were fewer vendors there this year, so it wasn’t as much fun as it could’ve been, but it was still nice to get out and about. I was still hard at work on my thesis on Friday afternoon. 😉 When we got home, I faced a tough decision…

IMG_6402

…before I tuned in to watch my church’s live stream of their Good Friday service. I love my church in DC and I was so sad to be missing Easter service, so I am really glad I could see Good Friday!

IMG_6452

Then on Easter, I actually went to church in my town with my whole family. 🙂

IMG_6505

When we got home from church, we all searched for our Easter baskets. The “Easter bunny” still hides them in random places around the house and if you find someone else’s basket before you find your own, you aren’t allowed to tell that person where to look! This year, mine was in a basket under the coffee table, my brother’s girlfriend’s basket was on a hidden shelf under the kitchen table, and the dogs’ basket was in a footstool in the office! I have no idea where my brothers found their baskets. I may or may not have been too busy adding one of the Reese eggs to my oatmeal. 😉

IMG_6565

Quality photo from Snapchat. #blogfail

And then cute little gift bags! I wasn’t a basket hiding Easter bunny…just a girl who really likes to give little gifts. They’re so much fun! I got everyone their favorite magazine with some kind of beverage…energy drink, K cups, tea…because there was way too much sugar in this house BEFORE Easter even happened. Hahaha

IMG_6509

We aren’t huge breakfast people for Easter…in fact, my brothers went down to the cafe in church to eat a doughnut! But we went to my aunt’s house with my mom’s relatives for a late lunch. My aunt always makes us get together for a photo session and everyone loves it. 😉

IMG_6521

Don’t judge me and my hair. It was windy and brothers and cousins don’t stand still and smile long enough to wait for the wind to stop! Haha!

IMG_6519

I am outnumbered by siblings and cousins as the only girl…but I have a lovely mom and two lovely aunts to keep me company. 🙂

My mom and I made a ton of biscotti and pizzelles this weekend because they are our favorite treats to make for holidays! But, we had one mission for Easter afternoon…and that was recreating a fruit plate from Pinterest!

IMG_6567

I think it was a success! We flattened crescent rolls into the shape of an egg and baked it. Then we added a cream cheese/strawberry yogurt mixture as the “icing” and the toppings were obviously all the fruit! This was an exciting Pinterest recreation because it tasted good AND it looked good! Two Christmases ago (I tried to find a picture, I swear…), we tried to do a vegetable Christmas tree thing that Pinterest had convinced us was a good idea. This Easter egg was easy because it’s flat…these Christmas trees…well, they had to actually be standing like a Christmas tree. Basically, the center of the tree was vegetable dip…but it was a lot of dip because it had to be in a Christmas tree shape. Then, the cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, and little tomatoes were all around that shape as the branches and decorations. We were even so adventurous as to try and make TWO trees! It was SO cute on Pinterest and tasted SO good in real life…but in real life, it kind of looked like two shrubs. Not really two Christmas trees. Hahaha

After our fruit plate success, I hung out with this guy and did some PiYo…

IMG_6545

IMG_6541

…and then it was time for a big dinner. Big because there was lots of food, but it was just the five of us around the table which was nice. 🙂

After dinner, we joined our entire neighborhood on a walk. I’m just kidding…really it was me, my mom, and our dogs…but I swear every single person in the neighborhood was out walking! Even when we turned onto a busier street (that led to this more deserted street), we saw a TON of people out and about! I guess everyone was walking off their food coma. 😉

IMG_6552

It was a wonderful few days with my favorite people and WAY too much food celebrating Jesus! I hope you had the happiest Easter/Passover/weekend! Happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Easter Edition

  1. What an amazing Easter! Which church do you go to in DC?! If I visit there next months and I’m there on a Sunday, I’d love to go!

    I kind of hate when I walk my dog and there are 10,000 people out just because it’s warm outside for once. I’m always thinking… these poor dogs were cooped up all winter! And then my dog goes crazy trying to sniff them and it’s just chaos and a total first world problem 😉

    Anyways…..! Giving magazines + a drink is such a cute gift idea!! I might have to steal that some time 🙂

    • I go to National Community Church and I LOVE it! There are 7 locations in the DC/Virginia area and they are all in old theaters. Our pastor is amazing and he’s an author which I didn’t realize when I first started going there! It’s http://theaterchurch.com. 🙂 I like going to the Barracks Row location! And I know…it’s been one of my resolutions to walk the dogs as much as I can when I’m home. My mom tries to walk them too but we have a huge fenced in yard so I think sometimes we assume they got their energy all out running out there! Reading + yummy beverages are two of my favorite things so it was only right to push that on my family ha! Steal away!

Leave a Reply

