What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday V

I have two food philosophies: balanced and easy. I don’t believe in life without chocolate and I don’t believe in recipes that require 438 spices that no one has ever heard of. πŸ˜‰ With that being said, we all know that the holidays bring lots of yummy treats…which of course you ate because they only come around once a year, right?

IMG_6458

My mom loves baking biscotti. The temptation of almond apricot biscotti with white chocolate cannot be resisted.

IMG_6457

But in true Kylie fashion, I tried to balance out those eats with more nutritious ones…like this bowl of cinnamon oatmeal and plate of hot sauce. Aka egg whites with veggies. πŸ˜‰ I am trying so hard to break my ketchup addiction so hot sauce has become my new go-to!Β I am also so happy that the gas stations and rest stops that I stop at while driving to and from Pittsburgh have snacks like these…

IMG_6586

…but there was a peanut butter filled donut in the section right next to the veggies. I almost cried.

Of course, if you are like me, you like to plan to make treats that everyone can enjoy that still have a healthy spin.

IMG_6567

My mom found the cutest Easter egg fruit pizza on Pinterest so while she prepped Easter dinner, I patiently worked at the counter on my masterpiece. It had a crescent roll crust and cream cheese/strawberry greek yogurt “sauce”. Then we had a million pieces of fruit to cut and arrange! I think it turned out really well considering our Pinterest fail with veggie Christmas trees a few years ago haha!

IMG_6596

I’m recovering from my Easter sugar coma with leftover Easter turkey and my two favorite side dishes: broccoli and sweet potatoes…with hot sauce. πŸ˜‰

By far, the best thing I ate in the last few days was this Banana Honeymoon Shakeology Pie. When I tell you the ingredients, you might make a face, but I PROMISE it tastes like chocolate pudding. I made my family taste test it. They can vouch for me! Ready for the recipe? It is BEYOND easy.

Get out your blender and add:

Β Β  IMG_6504

2 ripe bananas
2 scoops Chocolate Shakeology
12 oz tofu (I know!!!)
1/2 c peanut butter
2 T milk of choice
1 T honey

Blend those ingredients together and smooth it all out into a graham cracker pie crust. Put it in the fridge to set for 1 hour! Serves about 8; one slice is about 220 calories.

Β Β IMG_6575

This seriously tastes like such an indulgent dessert andΒ you can’t even taste the tofu!Β I have heard so many people say tofu takes on the taste of whatever it is eaten with…but I have eaten buffalo tofu before and it did not measure up to my standards. Here, you wouldn’t even know you were eating it. I always feel good eating dessert but I especially feel good when I know it is semi-good for me. πŸ™‚

What’s the best dish you’ve eaten recently?!

One thought on “What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday V

Leave a Reply

