Friday Favorites: Spring Is HERE!

It’s Friday, Friday, gotta get down on Friday!

fridayfavorites

Linking up with some of my favorites…Andrea, Erika, and Narci. Blog your favorites from this week and join us! 🙂

– ONE –
10606353_10204766336376204_6707568915100211709_n

MY FRIENDS ARE COMING THIS WEEKEND!
We are racing the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler on Sunday in Washington, D.C.! Last year, the race was the first weekend of April and the trees weren’t at “peak bloom” yet. Since the first weekend of April this year was Easter, they obviously moved the race but also hoped the trees would be looking pretty for the weekend. Apparently there are live cameras and the National Park Service is keeping a close watch. Serious business! Pretty pictures here.

– TWO –

IMG_6585

Flashback to my drive home to Maryland on Monday. I cannot wait for the weather to be consistently warm because the cold weather sends me to the gas station constantly to put air in my tire. Yes, tire. Not all four. Just one. I took my brother to the gas station with me when I was home so he had to do my least favorite chore. At least I have a car to drive. That is a favorite. 🙂

– THREE –

IMG_6595

The little things are the big things. This leather ottoman has changed my life. I searched high and low for one that would match the furniture in my family room and then I spotted a brown leather one right at home in our game room. Thanks for sharing, Mom. 🙂 And yes, I’m an outfit repeater. But I promise the leggings were washed;)

– FOUR –

IMG_6603

Studying outside. Need I say more? It was a tad windy, but so worth it!

– FIVE –

IMG_6610

I know I pay a great deal of money to be in graduate school, but there is nothing sweeter than an email canceling the rest of your day. 😉 Apparently, a tower in Northern Maryland got messed up and it knocked out the power in ALL of Southern Maryland and DC. I wonder if President Obama got the day off, too?

– SIX –

       Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 8.55.00 PM

In 2013, Johna and I signed up for The City Spree. It’s a scavenger hunt type race. You get a map with a bunch of different colored checkpoints on it and each checkpoint is worth a different amount of points. If you get there first, you get the most points. As more people go to those checkpoints, the total points you can get at that specific place decrease. Basically you want to run the fastest to the most obscure locations so you can get the most points! And you have about 2 hours to do so. There is no course for the race…it’s just you, your map, and whoever you decide to run with! It is labeled a 5K or a 10K, but when we ran in 2013, we did about 8 miles. Last year, we went to sign up again and we realized we were famous! Ha! They used a picture of us running on their website.

Screen Shot 2013-05-22 at 9.25.55 PM

IMG_3650

The checkpoints are always a little hidden, so we do crazy things like take the stairs two at a time and climb through fences to find them;) The other night, one of my co-workers from the YMCA sent me a screenshot of an email she received from LivingSocial about the race this year. We are famous again!

IMG_6617

I don’t know why I think it’s so fun that they keep featuring our photo. It’s just so cool! Running is such a fun sport for me and I really love Brooks’ slogan “Run Happy”. I think this picture is the definition of Run Happy. 🙂

“April showers bring May flowers” is in full force but it is supposed to be sunny and 70 this weekend. I can’t wait! Happy weekend to YOU!

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Spring Is HERE!

  1. I lived in DC for just 6 months, but absolutely loved it! I missed the cherry blossoms but hope to go back someday to see them!

    That city spree sounds so fun! I would totally do that! And how awesome that your picture is on their website!

    Happy Friday!!

    • Isn’t it the best?? I just love cities and this one is SO different from Pittsburgh (my hometown). You should definitely make a trip back. I am so excited to feel like a tourist this weekend! Ha! We will make a detour from DC to Pittsburgh so you can run The City Spree 🙂

  2. Have a great time running with your friends this weekend! I hope the cherry blossom trees are in full bloom for the race…oh how gorgeous that would be!! Hooray for the perfect ottoman, and for leggings you love enough to repeat wear 🙂 How FUN that the city spree race has made you famous!! 😉 I totally get why they use that pic too — you make it look like so much fun! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Short & Sweet | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

