Friday Favorites: It’s Gonna Be May

I just have to…
10256849_682246620858_2678625709634414170_n-300x300

#90skidhumor;)

Happy Friday! I hope your week was full of lots of fun moments. I’m so thankful for these posts because I love looking back at what I’ve already forgotten! Life can be really good even when it’s busy and hectic and crazy (as mine has been…grad school problems)!

Linking up with Andrea, Erika, and Narci!

fridayfavorites

– FOOD –

I usually grocery shop on Saturday and cook a bunch of food for the week on Sunday. I am a huge fan of leftovers! They make meal time so much easier. And when I have only prepped healthy things, I can only make healthy choices, even when I am ravenous. It’s a pretty sweet deal;) I decided that I am the kind of person who really likes to eat in front of the TV. Who doesn’t have this problem!? So when it’s time to eat, I’ll turn on the TV, kick my feet up on the ottoman, and just eat in my favorite chair. There are sooo many benefits to actually eating at a table and focusing on your food because you are less likely to overeat. BUT! This works for me. I eat what’s on my plate, I get a little TV time, and then I get back to whatever I was doing. My roommate and I keep completely different hours and she and I never eat at the same so it’s not like I’m being rude. 😉 But sometimes my leftovers look like this…

IMG_7051

…eating and driving might be worse than texting and driving. Final decision up in the air.

The very best meal I had this week:

IMG_7070

 Burrito bowl + freshly baked chips because they were out when I ordered + queso. The chips and queso didn’t make it into the photo for obvious reasons. #myonetruelove

IMG_7094

Sometimes I cheat on queso with trail mix. Trail mix is my other true love. If you haven’t picked this “Handful of Everything” kind up at Target yet, PUT IT ON THE LIST! Yogurt dipped peanuts, dried pineapple, dried mango, and dried banana, coconut flakes, raisins, chocolate chips, almonds…I’m drooling. Don’t ask how long it took me to eat this bag.

– CLOTHES –

IMG_7140

My favorite Gap skinny jeans slid on my body without having to do a little dance earlier this week. Praise the skinny jean gods!

IMG_7064

Do you ever buy something with no idea of where you will wear it? I do that a lot with clearance items at Target. I bought this dress on sale last summer because I already had the shorts in the same pattern and fabric and LOVED them. I loved the style and cut of this dress because it is different than the rest in my closet, so that was another reason I needed it. Girl logic. 🙂 Anyways, I finally had the chance to wear it last weekend for an event for grad students at the UMD Golf Course! I call it an event, UMD called it “Grad Prom”. I can’t bring myself to admit I went to Grad Prom. That sounds so lame. But it was so fun! Hahaha

IMG_7078

Favorite hoodie ever! I’m a Beachbody coach and my team is The Power Krew. I wasn’t home for our quarterly event last weekend but I went to an event in Baltimore that was almosttt as good! I definitely missed my Pittsburgh fam ❤

– MAIL –

IMG_7164

I love every piece of mail I ever receive. I also love sending mail. Do you want to be pen pals? Because we totally can be. My mom told me to check my mailbox earlier this week and when I saw this card I thought, “YES! PERFECT FOR ME!” But I was surprised to open the card and see a note from my sweet baby brother and his volleyball pictures from this season! The best surprise.

IMG_7204

I love mail. And selfies. And superfoods. And chocolate.

– SUNSHINE –

IMG_7172

I don’t think I realized how NOT sunny it is in Pittsburgh until I moved to Maryland last summer. Pittsburgh and Seattle are on the same level of gray and rainy, I am now convinced. It is so sunny and warm here all the time. I love it! Especially after the long, snowy winter that we all endured!

– TRAIL RUNNING –

IMG_7181

Ohhh, the days of cross country, how I forgot about you! My running group and I went to Rock Creek Park this week to do a little loop around the trails. Oh my word. I was so glad to be following the people in front of me because I seriously was looking down at my feet the whole time! So many roots and rocks and little crevices! I kind of missed my racing spikes…

IMG_7178

…yes. I definitely need trail shoes now. A necessary purchase. So thankful for daylight until almost 8 PM every night!

– PICTURE MESSAGES –

   IMG_7147

I am originally from Pittsburgh and I went to undergrad in Pittsburgh so it was always easy to sneak home to the suburbs if something was going on that I wanted to attend…like my youngest brother’s volleyball games. He’s 6’5″ of awesome. Sadly they lost this day, but I loved getting to see the action and pretend I was there!

   IMG_7194

Meet my other brother’s dog, Amigo. We call him Migo. He is the sweetest little dog ever and SO smart. My family has a Golden Retriever and Migo seriously makes Colby look like an idiot. Hahaha but apparently yesterday Migo was up to some antics of his own…he is obsessed with tennis balls. And so even though this tennis ball is already destroyed, he just couldn’t stand to see it on the patio table and took it upon himself to go get it. I just can’t deal with his face. SO FUNNY!

Happy weekend, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: It’s Gonna Be May

Leave a Reply

