Bookworm

  My very favorite show in middle school was Gilmore Girls. I started watching part way through the series, but of course I went out and bought the first few seasons on DVD because duh. This was before the days of Netflix. Now I have the entire series of DVDs and I rewatch them all the time! Rory Gilmore and I relate on so many levels, but the biggest one is that of books. I feel like she read different genres than I tend to read, but we’re both always in the middle of several books and we both always have a book on us at all times. 🙂

I was on Pinterest recently and I saw this list:

All 339 Books Referenced In Gilmore Girls

I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am to start crossing books off that list. 😉

b381cdf0439d2fe824a9ac35c8af402f

One of my goals for 2015 is to read 52 books. I am getting anxious because I think of June as the halfway point of the year (because it is) and I only have 13 books on my “already read” list for the year! Check out my list in the One Year, Many Pages tab of this blog. 🙂 I don’t want to be cliche and say, “Well, now that it’s summer, I’m going to have so much more time…”, but that is partially true. And the other part is I just need to get off my laptop. SO MANY BLOGS TO READ AND PICTURES TO PIN!

The month isn’t over yet, so I’m hoping to finish 3 books. Here’s what I’ve read this May…

IMG_7720

All over blog world (since I told you I have been a blog reading machine lately;)), everyone is raving about Liane Moriarty’s books! I really liked this book…I read it by the pool the weekend after I turned in my biggest paper of the semester. Pure relaxation! I loved her writing style and her characters…you learn a lot about a bunch of different characters who are all connected in some way as the book progresses. The only complaint I had was that it seemed like every female character was divorced, widowed, or in an unhappy relationship! I suppose I should have expected SOME animosity somewhere since the title infers that a man is keeping a secret, but still. I have rose-colored glasses on about love. Couldn’t ONE of the couples have been happy?! Haha take a read and let me know what you think. 🙂

IMG_7687

Since I moved to the DC area last summer, I have been attending National Community Church. Our pastor, Mark Batterson, has written several books and he gave a copy of his newest book to us at service a few weeks ago! I was so excited to read this book because it’s all about making the life YOU have more exciting. It’s saying yes to adventure, whatever that may be for you, and sharing your experiences with others. Life is meant to be lived and loved with other people by your side. Pastor Mark’s mentor, Dick Foth, coauthored this book and it was the first book he has ever written! He has given the sermon at church a few times since I started attending and he is such a good storyteller that I knew his writing would be just as amazing. This book is SO relatable, no matter how old you are, and I love how they use life experiences and Scripture to make ideas more meaningful. The chapters are split into two parts: “Dick’s Story” and “Mark’s Story”, so you could easily read a few pages, set it down, and pick it up to read later. READ IT!

Sidenote: it used to make me cringe when I would see my aunt reading a book and highlighting it like crazy. I like a well-read, worn book…but if it’s highlighted or has notes in it, I don’t want it! I want to make my own connections as I read…I don’t want to be swayed by someone else’s. And look what I did to A Trip Around the Sun…

IMG_7690

So no, you cannot borrow my copy. Sorry. 🙂

IMG_7721

Book #3 is a work in progress. We have a store in Pittsburgh called Half-Price Books which I LOVE because you can sell your already read books to them or buy books that others have already read at discounted prices. And they always have the newest titles, too! There is no Half-Price Books in Maryland, so one weekend a few months ago when my mom was out shopping, she stopped at this book store to get a few books for me that she thought I might like. I am not far enough into this book yet to give you a full review…but that little red sticker on the front likens this book to The Help, which I loved! So I will keep you updated. 🙂

I’m headed home to Pittsburgh for a few weeks and I’m headed to THE BEACH this weekend so I hope to get lots of reading in soon! As I was writing this post, I saw this link that my friend posted on my Facebook wall…

21 Books From The Last 5 Years That Every Woman Should Read

…NOW I’m overwhelmed! Rory Gilmore’s list plus Huffington Post’s list have me set up for awhile!

And if you are a Gilmore Girls fan and love to read too, you will appreciate this picture. Reason #473 why Dean is basically my dream guy. 🙂

 47a86d304bd8bc1ddb48cb987d59d452

Linking up with Narci for Carpool Book Club!

6 thoughts on “Bookworm

  1. GILMORE GIRLS FOREVER! I cried when I finished Season 1 and didn’t have Season 2. My mom had to drive me to Target that night to get it…so pathetic. But It’s my true love! I keep seeing Shay post about the Husband’s Secret, so now I want to read it!

    • Haha not pathetic AT ALL! Did you know Stars Hollow is based off the town Washington Depot in Connecticut? I want to go so badly! Wait, let’s exchange! I’ll mail you The Husband’s Secret if you mail me a book in return;) Ha!

  2. Gilmore Girls is the best. I watched the whole series when it got put on Netflix (pretty sure I’d seen all the episodes before, but not in order like that!). I cried when it ended. 🙂 I read What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty and loved it, and I just started Three Wishes and I’m intrigued. I plan to read all of her books! And now I need to go browse those lists you mentioned…even though my to-read list is already 70 books long!

    • Haha I can’t believe you made it this long without seeing them in order!!! I want to read What Alice Forgot because it became a movie and I LOVE when books become movies even though books are always better. I have to read and see both. It’s my thing 🙂 Girl, if i made a list of books to read, my bank account would be drained. Keep me away from Amazon.com. I have like ten running lists going in my brain right now hahaha

  3. I may or may not still watch Gilmore Girls everyday at 11 and 12 on ABC Family. And I may or may not be able to quote every episode… Haha love this post! I’m still waiting for my “Dean” to appreciate my inner nerd! I feel the same about marked up books but now (as I’ve learned to obsess over Pinterest quotes) I love seeing what others find interesting! Have you read Wild? If not add it to the list! I’m working on it now 🙂

    • Yes I read Wild because I had to see the movie! Haha! And that is very true. I have always been obsessed with quotes even back in the Xanga days so maybe I need to change my outlook when it comes to books! And when I find my Dean I will check to see if he has a brother and send him your way;)

Leave a Reply

