What’s Up?!

My love of surveys will never die. And I love checking in with all my favorite blog friends to see what they’re up to! Join the link up on Mel or Shay’s blogs and share your rambles!

whatsupwed1

What I’m eating this week:

IMG_7614

Warm weather has me craving ALL THE FRESH THINGS! I have been eating a ton of huge salads with grilled chicken. My favorite summer dish. πŸ™‚

IMG_7729

I’m a big fan of food with ingredients that I can pronounce…these “That’s It” bars that I found at Chop’t (hey! A salad place! What do you know;) are made up of just apples and mangoes. Dried fruit in a perfect little serving size! If you give me a bag of dried fruit, I will go to town. If you give me a bar, I will only eat one. Therefore, these bars are a double threat for me because they are only two ingredients (that I can pronounce) and it’s already in a perfect serving size for me!

What I’m reminiscing about:

IMG_5029

I was a camp counselor at the YMCA for the past two summers and while those days felt so very long while I was in them, I really will miss becoming such good friends with other counselors and hanging out with the little people every day!

What I’m loving: 

IMG_7848

Not over how cool and portable and easy and fun my travel blender is. I LOVE IT! $14.99 well spent, my friends.

What I’ve been up to:

IMG_7724

Traveling. Which means lots of entertainment is needed on the way to my destination! I love the Pentatonix station on Pandora and The Chalene Show on the iPhone’s podcast app! Chalene’s podcast is also available on the Android version of the podcast app, but I don’t know what that’s called. πŸ™‚ Probably just podcast. Ha! She is so positive and she talks about health, fitness, living a healthy life, making good decisions, work, your free time…she covers it all. Love her!

What I’m dreading:

IMG_7762

And on the note of traveling…I’m dreading going back and forth from DC to Pittsburgh. I have plans in both places during these first few weeks of summer and I am excited about it all, so I guess I need to just be thankful I have the means to travel and leave it at that!

What I’m working on:

1a4058d9e604b63e6653804a5b90afd4

Closing my silly laptop. I am applying for jobs right now and I feel like I am a SLAVE to certain websites and my email account. I just want to tune into LIFE instead of my computer!!!

What I’m excited about:

images

So, this show definitely isn’t for everyone. It can be crass at times but I love it. This fall, I saw the Orange Is The New Black book at Target and because I had heard people talking about the show and didn’t understand their obsession, I decided to read the book. I am a book –> movie/TV fanatic so I had to read first haha! When I started watching the show on Netflix, I had no concept of how long it was or how many episodes there were. When the last episode of Season 2 ended (and by the way, it ends on a huge cliffhanger), I jumped off my couch to hit PLAY NEXT EPISODE and I was so upset when I realized there were not, in fact, more episodes to be watched. Needless to say, I am super excited for Season 3 to start on June 12!

What I’m watching/reading:

FullSizeRender

I did some serious damage at my favorite store in Pittsburgh…Half Price Books. Does your town have one of those stores??? There are multiple locations in Pittsburgh and ZERO in the Maryland/DC/Virginia area. It’s so sad! Ha! All of these books were $4 or less each, so I was pretty happy with my finds. πŸ™‚ I decided to start reading Start Something That Matters by Blake Mycoskie first. Blake is the creator of TOMS shoes and for some reason, I am so intrigued by his story and advice for making a difference! I have been loving personal development/self help/nonfiction books lately so this is right up my alley. I also brought Seating Arrangements along for my travels this week because it seems like a lighthearted read! I really want to read Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places because I loved Gone Girl, but I’m convinced it’s too scary! Someone talk me into it or share your review, please! πŸ™‚

What I’m listening to:

When I find a song I love, I LOVE IT. I downloaded this song yesterday and I’m pretty sure I’ve listened to it 25 times already. At least.

And this is pretty good too…

And Blake Shelton. Because he’s Blake Shelton. I have eclectic taste in music, as you can tell. I’m on the road again as you read this. I needed lots of new tunes!

What I’m wearing:

IMG_7790

These shoes. The end.

Actually, not the end. I said I wouldn’t jump on the Birkenstock train BUT I’M HERE AND I’M SO HAPPY!

What I’m doing this weekend:

IMG_3732

Summertime + Kenny Chesney + my friends = the perfect Saturday. Kenny is playing at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh with Eric Church, Chase Rice, and Brantley Gilbert. He’s come to Pittsburgh SO many summers in a row and I haven’t been to one of his concerts since I was probably ten years old! I can’t wait. πŸ™‚ This is a throwback with some of the same girls I’ll be hanging out with this weekend to Tim McGraw last summer!

What I’m looking forward to next month WEEK:

TaylorSwiftRed

I’m changing this one up;) Next Saturday I’m going back to Heinz Field to see Taylor Swift. AH! I saw her when she was in town for her Speak Now tour in 2011 but I fell out of love with her when her Red album came out. I LOVE the 1989 album and one of my friends got tickets for Christmas and I’m the lucky girl she invited to go with her! We have tickets on the field. I’m not one to spend a ton of money on my concert tickets…I always feel like I’m there and that’s enough for me but I’m about to be so close to Taylor Swift and that is SO COOL!

What else is new:

College_of_Education_logo_vertical

Even though it is officially summer, I am taking two online classes that start in early June. I was so burned out at the end of the spring semester because I was working on the most important paper of my grad school career, BUT I know that nothing worth having comes easy so I guess it comes with the territory. I am going to enjoy this TRULY free time from grad school while I can, but I’m also excited to get started with these next two classes!

Bonus question…What is your favorite thing to grill/BBQ?

   

One of my favorite ways to eat pineapple is with a packet of Jello powder sprinkled on top…extra flavor! But grilled pineapple is so fresh and good, it is a close second.

 

 I’m not a huge fan of red meat unless it’s served with an Italian dish. You won’t ever see me eating a steak or a burger! But I do love turkey burgers and this brand is my new favorite. They have a ton of protein and flavor!! 

______________________________________________________________

So, tell me: what have you been up to?!

And if you’re a blogger, here’s your list of questions! Have fun!

WUWquestions

13 thoughts on “What’s Up?!

  1. Those fruit bars sound awesome! Did you get those in our neck of the woods?! I haven’t read any of those books you bought BUT anything by Sarah Dessen is great. She’s one of my favorites! Okay – so I’ve never heard this Ugly Heart song before but I LOVE IT! It’s so catchy and fun. Have SO much fun at Kenny. I’ll be away for it this year and I am so upset!

    • I did not find those fruit bars by us BUT there is a website so you can always order them;) That’s probably what I’m going to do since I’ve only seen them in one place! Vacation is just as good as Kenny, don’t worry! And you have to get into Jodi Picoult. I thought I read all of her books and then I saw those two! I agree about Sarah Dessen. But same thing…somehow I missed that one so I can’t wait to read it!

      • She is a little different from my regular young adult or love stories BUT they are always about relationships and such so they’re worth it. Brings us into the adult world of books ha! I think you should start with Plain Truth…but I also LOVED The Storyteller and Nineteen Minutes (I actually read that one for a class in college)!

  2. Love half price books! I get work out videos there and tv shows and well….anything I can snag for a deal. Have fun at all those concerts!! Love me some good ol’ country music and Taylor Swift (she’s still country in my eyes).

    • RIGHT?! Last time I went to her concert everyone had on cowgirl hats and boots. This time everyone will probably be in sequins and red lipstick haha! And I love me a good deal. DC needs to step up its book game! πŸ™‚

  3. Dark Places is SO good! It is a mystery/thriller type, probably more ‘scary’ than Gone Girl…but I LOVED it. I need to read her other book, Sharp Objects. So jealous you’re seeing Taylor Swift! Have so much fun!

    • See I heard Sharp Objects was the “scariest” of them all so I will let you read that one first and you can then talk me into another book πŸ™‚ Thanks! I can’t wait!

  4. I saw you commented on my blog so I came to check yours out too… and I love it! I’ve read through a bunch of your posts and they are all so cute. I love reading, Jesus, and Taylor Swift too… haha!

Leave a Reply

