Things That Make Me Smile {Friday Favorites}

Happy Friday, friends!

This week ended up looking nothing like what I had planned on…as I write to you, I am currently sitting at my desk in my apartment in Maryland. Remember when I was going home for three beautiful weeks?! Yeah, me too. Life gets busy and hectic and straight upΒ in the way, but I am trying not to think of it that way and instead appreciate the opportunities that God has given me and give thanks that I have the ability to travel back and forth if I so wish!

My favorite things this week seem kind of lame now that I’m looking at the pictures…but this is a peek into my little life. And it’s not lame. I like my life. So there. πŸ˜‰

– ONE –

My brother’s dog is a Staffordshire Terrier, but most people call him a Pitbull. Never in my life did I think I would live with a Pitbull (or at least live with him when I go home to Pittsburgh), but he truly is the sweetest dog ever. My family has always had a Golden Retriever, and while I love our 2 year old little Colby SO much, my brother’s dog Amigo makes Colby look like an idiot most of the time. Ha! Amigo is so smart and Colby is so silly.

IMG_5657

Here they are…representing UMD with toys that I mailed them. πŸ™‚

ANYWAYS! That was a tangent. Amigo and Colby love to be on top of you at all times, but they are both large dogs for different reasons: Colby just has long limbs and Amigo weighs a lot even though he is much smaller. Colby will usually fall asleep on your lap and then get up twenty minutes later to go lay on the kitchen or bathroom floor where it is cooler. Amigo, on the other hand, curls himself up in your blankets, his blankets, ALL THE BLANKETS, and never moves.

On Monday before my mom left for work, she brought Amigo and his blanket into my room while I was still asleep and I woke up to this 70 pound pillow pet on my legs.

IMG_7977

After writing in my journal and checking social media on my phone (it’s not as bad because I wrote in my journal first…right? Right!), I went to make coffee. And I came back to this one literally in my spot. On top of my pillows. DUDE!

IMG_7981

He’s like…you really think you’re laying back down here? No, no you are not.

– TWO –

IMG_7985

My favorite breakfast in all the land is oatmeal. Recently, I heard someone say they think oatmeal is disgusting and they really want to like it but it is the worst. My heart broke a little bit.Β *cue the drama* I have been traveling a lot lately, so I love that Starbucks has the option to order oatmeal or an egg white wrap. Sometimes I walk into a rest stop and I think good Lord, there is nothing of substance here. It’s just fast food! And while this oatmeal only takes 3 minutes to cook, it is certainly a better choice than dry cereal from the gas station (but Cheerios! And Cinnamon Toast Crunch! YOU ARE SO GOOD!). I love that I can make healthy choices on the road. πŸ™‚

– THREE –

I don’t have my car with me in Maryland right now (it’s in the shop in Pittsburgh getting fixed), but luckily there is no shortage of public transportation in DC. On Wednesday alone, I took a bus, two trains, and another bus to get back to my apartment. I felt like a gypsy carrying all my bags and running through the Metro station! Haha

Yesterday, I had to go somewhere in Virginia that was not on the Metro or bus line, and because I don’t trust taxis or Ubers, I got a Zipcar. My first car was a red Ford Escape that my friend and I named Skyler…she was the best car.

0227100951

Then she got handed down to my brother and then she died a slow death last winter. Alex had many adventures with her. One time while he was delivering food for a restaurant he worked for, he couldn’t get the car alarm to turn off. So he kept driving. Only my brother. Another time, he drove home from college because it was the middle of a very cold week and the heater in the car didn’t work anymore. Ha! Now he drives a white Ford Escape and I drive a gold Jeep Patriot BUT yesterday when I got a Zipcar, IT WAS A RED FORD ESCAPE!

IMG_8027

There was actually a name on the windshield: Colwick. I guess that helps you identify the car in case there are two of the same vehicle parked right by each other. It was so fun to be behind the wheel of an Escape again. πŸ™‚

IMG_8029

Can I just say I know nothing about cars, but I know there is a HUGE difference between a 6-cylinder engine and a 4-cylinder engine? My Escape, and the Escape I drove yesterday, both have 6-cylinder engines. My Jeep has a 4-cylinder engine and oh Lord do I have to press the gas pedal. It struggles to pick up speed and go up hills. But yesterday in little red Colwick…I WAS MOVING! #idrivefast #igotitfrommymama

– FOUR –

Β IMG_8045

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my roommate for suggesting we eat dinner outside on the pool deck last night. There was no shortage of silly college kids playing beer pong or random songs like “Gangsta’s Paradise” playing while we were out there, but it was worth the craziness to enjoy the summer weather and to see this. πŸ™‚

– FIVE –

Hi, my name is Kylie and sometimes I hate running.

Do you like to run? I actually do. But there is very often a misconception that if you like to run or you identify yourself as a runner, you have to do it every day, all the time. That, my friends, is just not true. There are seasons of life where I love running and seasons of life where every other exercise BUT running is my jam. I ran two races recently and then I took about a month off from running…minus my favorite Wednesday night runs with my church’s small group. Those runs are my favorite. πŸ™‚ However, those runs were starting to feel really hard because I wasn’t running regularly…and I also just missed putting on my shoes and going outside without a second thought. I no longer wanted to go running as my workout for the day because it just felt. so. hard. I felt like a beginner again. So instead of dwelling on that, I decided to take on Runner’s World current challenge: The Runner’s World Run Streak! To keep yourself motivated, or to GET motivated, the challenge is to run at least one mile per day from Memorial Day until the Fourth of July.

IMG_8048

I tried to do this challenge two years ago and I failed epically, mostly because I didn’t take a break between my most recent race and this challenge. I just kept going. This time, I came into the challenge refreshed. Today marks Day 5 of the #RWRunStreak and when I woke up today, my body hated me. So much that I didn’t even make the effort to put in my contacts. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t run for five consecutive days in a VERY long time. So instead of throwing in the towel this early in the challenge, I did 30 minutes ofΒ yogaΒ and then I ran a slow mile on the treadmill…increasing and decreasing my speed every so often to keep it challenging but keep my legs feeling good. I ended up logging 8 miles in 5 days which may seem like a lot or may seem like nothing at all. You can keep up with my daily progress HERE. πŸ™‚

I’m headed back to Pittsburgh for the Kenny Chesney concert this weekend. Tell me, what are you up to?Β Do you like Kenny? And what’s making you smile this week?!

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Linking up with these lovely ladies. If you’re a blogger, join us in sharing your five favorite things from this week!

fridayfavorites

Andrea, Narci, Erika

p.txt

April, Christina, Natasha, Darci

2 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Smile {Friday Favorites}

  1. Such sweet dog pics! My friend has the best pitbull, so happy and cuddly.

    I fell the same way about running! Sometimes I love it and other time I hate it. Hah. It is nice to have some alone time and to think, and listen to music, but it’s not always my favorite. After big races (half and marathon) I always take months off and switch to some other form of activity. Running can get boring! πŸ™‚ Keep up the runs!!

    Have so much fun at Kenny!! Happy weekend Kylie!

Leave a Reply

