Friends + Fruit + Favorites, Oh My

Like Jamie over at The Celebrating Momma, I believe that you should do a little celebrating every day…not just when Friday rolls around. Although Friday usually does bring some pretty fun times. ๐Ÿ™‚ My favorite day of the week is actuallyย Thursday because it’s full of anticipation of good times ahead and everyone is usually still super productive. Even ABC jumped on board with their super amazing TV shows. #TGIT

Anyways, Jamie’s post this week really spoke to me. I was feeling all kinds of anxious and overwhelmed about certain decisions in my life and I kept going back to God asking…what are you doing? Why aren’t things happening? Where are you going with this? Why isn’t it happening MY WAY?

I was sort of asking the right questions. But I wanted to be in the driver’s seat of life, andย I am not.ย I should have been saying…show me what I can do here. Let things happen in your time. Here are my fears…you will make them right. I trust you.

Instead of beating myself up for not trusting the Lord earlier, I’m going to celebrate my favorite moments. ๐Ÿ™‚

– ONE –

IMG_8081

It could be argued that my favorite food is peanut butter, but is that really even a food? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Come summer, I am all about the fruit. Put pineapple and strawberries in the same container and I am in HEAVEN. The juices mix together and taste so fresh and delicious! Last weekend, my mom and I made these fruit kabobs for me to take to the Kenny Chesney tailgate. Tailgates are also my favorite because they usually include chips and buffalo chicken dip, but I’mย that friendย that shows up with fruit kabobs and a vegetable tray and turkey burgers. Yes, yes I did.

– TWO –

IMG_8159

On the note of Kenny Chesney, these are my favorite people. A big group of us tailgated for a few hours before the concert…eating, drinking, playing corn hole and Kan Jam…there was also laying in the grass (as seen above) and ten people in my Jeep Patriot at one point. Ha! It was HOT and sunny last Saturday but there were scatteredย torrential downpours.ย Not scattered showers. It would go from sunny to literally WATCHING the clouds roll in…and then it would pour for a solid ten minutes…and then it would get sunny again. An adventure for sure. ๐Ÿ˜‰

– THREE –

IMG_8220

If you follow me on Instagram, you might have seen me geeking out about my succulents the other night. I found these little beauties at Trader Joe’s the other day and I was SO HAPPY because from what I have heard, they are pretty low maintenance…as in, I don’t need to water them 24/7 for them to survive. If this is inaccurate, please don’t burst my bubble. Hahaha

Fresh flowers in my apartment is my favorite, but I don’t like how quickly they wilt and die. Hopefully I have better luck with these plants!

– FOUR –

IMG_8234

National Running Day. Need I say more? Running is my favorite. If running isn’t your jam, today is National Donut Day. Krispy Kreme and Dunkin Donuts are giving out free donuts. You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

– FIVE –

IMG_8244

Throwback pictures are my favorite. Do you have the Timehop app on your phone? You can link it to your social media accounts and every day, you can see what you posted on that exact day in previous years! I love checking it out every morning. ๐Ÿ™‚ This picture was taken five years ago…I can hardly believe it. My little brothers are both 6’5″ so seeing Jake (my youngest brother) looking this little makes me feel all the feelings! Ha!

I remember this was during the last week of school…you know, those days when you don’t want to go because everything of importance is over?? My mom is a teacher so she went to work but I was allowed to stay home because I was a senior and we LITERALLY had nothing to do except practice for graduation! Somehow, the baby of the family convinced my mom he should also be allowed to skip school. I guarantee when I was eleven years old this never would have happened. #babychildproblems But since I was essentially “babysitting” and my friend and I wanted to make plans, we took this cutie to the Pittsburgh Zoo. Our other brother was hanging out with his friends on this day…but we had so much fun at the zoo and we took so many pictures! I hope my brothers both love hanging out with me as much as I love hanging out with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

– SIX –

IMG_8249

Last weekend, my dad, my brother, and I went to brunch at Eat ‘N Park. It’s definitely one of my favorite restaurants! I love their omelettes, their salad bar, and of course, their Smiley cookies. I guess you could call this a chain restaurant because there are several locations…but it’s kind of a Pittsburgh thing! Randi will know what I’m talking about. ๐Ÿ˜‰

When you’re a kid, this restaurant is the best because you get a FREE Smiley cookie after you’re done eating. Me and my brother Alex definitely tried to pretend Jake was a “kid” for a lot longer than he actually was so we could get free cookies! Recently, I bought a Smiley mug (in Pittsburgh colors, of course) so I can represent my favorite place while I’m at school…but last weekend, I discovered Eat ‘N Park now makes K cups and my day was made. I might have to go back and stock up! I don’t usually like black coffee, but this is so good with just a little bit of Splenda!

– SEVEN –

IMG_8255

One of the first Pinterest snacks that I pinned many moons ago was a such a success that now my mom and I have the recipe memorized. Energy balls are my favorite. Energy balls that aren’t rolled into balls yet are just plain dangerous.

– EIGHT –

IMG_8250

Summer gives me a lot of time to shop. This is not a positive. One positive thing is my tank top from Target was on clearance…so that makes it all okay, right?! Jake is super into brand name clothing. I like nice clothes. I don’t really care where they’re from as long as they’re pretty and they make me look good. Ha! Anyways, when I was in Atlantic City recently, I went to the True Religion store to browse around for him. While my mom and I were sending him pictures of clothes in the store (yes, we were those people), the sales woman was accosting me because all the shorts and pants were $50 off for Memorial Day.

Well. True Religion clothing is expensive and even at $50 off, I am not spending that much on shorts. It’s just not enough fabric to be worth it. Ha! So this woman convinced me that I needed to try on these jeans and really all I wanted to was go shop at the boutique next door. But I tried the beloved jeans on, and as Sheaffer would say, “they’re like buttah.” My new favorite.

Tell me about your week!!!

___________________________________________________

Linking up with these lovely ladies. If you’re a blogger, join us in sharing your five favorite things from this week!

fridayfavorites

Andrea,ย Narci,ย Erika

7 thoughts on “Friends + Fruit + Favorites, Oh My

  1. Fruit kabobs are amazing, I always take them to parties or events too… My mom always made sure I was THAT kid who had the healthy treat! Haha. I may not be into running but I’m totally into donuts. I’m on the hunt to find some on Hilton Head today! And ahh Eat’n Park cookies. Nothing better than a fresh one from the cookie factory in Robinson – SO good. I’m not a coffee drinker but everyone raves about the K-cups! PS. I may or may not be hanging out with my bff Smiley as he throws out the first pitch at the Pirates game this month. It’s so cool knowing a “celebrity” ๐Ÿ˜‰ happy weekend!

  2. I LOVE fresh pineapple. I could eat it all day, every day. I have been wanting succulents for just about forever now. I’m going to Trader Joe’s this weekend, I’ll cross my fingers that mine has some!

    • Me too! Cutting it is like a workout in itself. I bought the already sliced pineapple from Trader Joe’s ha! I hope your store has lots of plants for you to choose from!!!

  3. Love fruit kabobs, what fun, and so perfect for summer. I love preparing food and having it ready to go because I get so lazy to cut things right before I eat them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love succulents. That’s the only plant I’ve had that hasn’t died! haha

    Happy Friday girl!

    • YAY so glad to hear a good review of the plants! I’m also glad I’m not the only one who fails to keep plants alive ha! And I totally know what you mean…I bought pre-sliced pineapple because I’m lazy;)

Leave a Reply

