Music, Food, and 4th of July: Summer Favorites

Good morning! Happy Friday to you ๐Ÿ™‚

Today, my favorite thing is this…

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 10.27.10 AM

…new episodes of Orange Is The New Black in my Netflix library. ๐Ÿ™‚ This show definitely isn’t for everyone, but after reading the book, I was so intrigued that I had to start watching! It’s based on the true story of Piper Kerman’s fifteen months in prison which I think is part of the reason why I find it so fascinating…it’s “real”! But then, you have to imagine they changed it to make it more entertaining for TV. Anyways, I finished the first two seasons pretty quickly in the fall and I had NO idea there weren’t more episodes! So when Season 2 ended on a huge cliffhanger, I jumped off the couch to click “Play Next Episode” and almost cried when that didn’t exist. Ha!

– TWO –ย 

Of course, I also discovered some new favorite songs this week, too. Perfect for teaching my first Spinning classย in ten months!ย I can hardly believe it has been that long. When I moved to Maryland last August, I obviously had to give up my instructing job in Pittsburgh, but I didn’t want to pick up a new one here until I really got into the swing of things with my schedule. Plus, I had no idea where I was moving to (I had visited but wasn’t so familiar with the area) and I wanted to figure out where the “cool” gyms were. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now for the summer session at UMD, I am teaching one Spinning class on Tuesday nights. I loved being back on the bike at the front of the room again!

I like this song for a hard hill climb…

…and this one for a cooldown. Or so I thought. When it started playing, I actually changed it. I did listen to it on repeat when I was running, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

– THREE –

My favorite kind of lunch or dinner requires little preparation and lots of ingredients that go well together because I am usually starving when I cook. Enter: chicken sausage & asparagus pizza flatbread.

IMG_8370

I cut oneย Flat-outย flatbreadย in half and toasted it while I cooked two Trader Joe’s Spicy Chicken Sausages in the frying pan. Some asparagus was steaming in the microwave at this point, too. I said I like “little preparation”, but that still means doing a few things at the same time! I chopped the asparagus while I waited for the chicken sausage to finish cooking and then I chopped that too. On the toasted flatbread, I put some tomato basil sauce, chopped chicken sausage and asparagus, and a little bit of mozzarella. Then I microwaved it just long enough for the cheese to melt and BAM. Healthy pizza. My favorite.

– FOUR –

Is there anything better than working out with other people who also LOVE to work out? My favorite class to take in Pittsburgh is called Kam Jamz and it’s taught by my favorite coach and instructor, Kam Niskach. She’s a beast! I have been going to Kam’s classes for almost two years and now she has started teaching other formats like Insanity, PiYo, P90x, and Cize, too. She started her instructor career teaching Zumba and then her class evolved to more of a hip hop class and now it’s some Zumba, some hip hop, and some crazy hard moves like burpees and tuck jumps. It’s a good time. ๐Ÿ™‚

dancing

Can you spot me?!

faster

We were celebrating two regular class go-ers birthdays…Scott and Janine. Kam asked for song requests via Facebook and that’s how our workout for that night was decided. How fun is that?! That’s how this group of people is…always up for a party and so welcoming. You know the hashtag that floats around social media that says “#fitfam”? These people truly are my Fit Fam and I wish I could work out with them more often!

– FIVE –

Can you even believe we are getting to the halfway point of June?! My half birthday was on Wednesday so I was really thinking about how fast time goes! 24 sounds so far away and so old. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But in the spirit of summer and holidays, my apartment got a little patriotic this week.

IMG_8379

IMG_8380

And…this door. Sigh.ย I loathe it but apparently water heaters are a necessary addition to your living space. Haha!

IMG_8377

Hopefully your eyes are drawn to the banner and not the vent. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, there has to be something that you are loving…even if you loved it last week, too.ย Tell me about your favorites this week!

Linking up with these lovely ladies! ๐Ÿ™‚

fridayfavorites

Andrea,ย Narci,ย Erika

p.txt

April,ย Christina,ย Natasha,ย Darci

18 thoughts on “Music, Food, and 4th of July: Summer Favorites

    • It really is the best! Doesn’t even feel like working out ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes get that flatbread ASAP! It’s perfect for so many different meals! A wrap, pizza, quesadilla…the possibilities are endless! Happy weekend to you!

  1. I love that Pray to God song! So catchy and upbeat! I haven’t heard the Imagine Dragons one, need to give it a listen! I can’t WAIT to start watching the new OITNB season! I listed it in my Friday Favorites too because I am stoked!

    • Okay I apparently go to sleep too early because Netflix put OITNB online last night!!! And here I was thinking I had to wait until TODAY! So unfair ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad I have someone to talk about the show with!! And glad you found some new songs ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I just never got into OITNB. But, I can totally get into that flatbread pizzaโ€ฆI am just like you that i’m starving when I cook so I never want it to take too long. And I wanna come to that class! So fun!

    • Haha I totally understand. I didn’t think it was my cup of tea either but now I have to know what happens! It can be crude at times but I try to look past that ha! Can’t everyone get on board with pizza?!

  3. Okay – I swear everyone loves OITNB! I guess I need to start that. But I also love that PLL is one of your top pics ๐Ÿ™‚ I swear if I don’t get some answers this season I GIVE UP! Your flatbread pizza looks amazing. I’m going to have try those soon.

    • Okay PLL is on my nerves and I also read the books so I’m like ABCFamily WHEREEEE are you going with this?! OITNB only intrigued me after I read the book. It’s definitely different than I think what we “regularly” watch haha!

      • Yeah I didn’t read the books but I heard ABCFamily is really making it more confusing than it needs to me! Maybe I’ll try OITNB once some other shows wind down… I spend too much time on Netflix haha

  4. Well, for my age, I consider myself to be in pretty good shape but I am sure I would think otherwise if I participated in one of those classes. Probably carry me out on a stretcher. :o))
    Yes, vents often are NOT in the best of places. Happy week to you!

    • Haha! There are people of all ages there. I’m sure you could make it work for you ๐Ÿ™‚ And I know! It’s a disappointing feature of that room but such is life in a small apartment! Happy week to you too ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading!

  5. Pingback: What I’ve Been Eating Wednesday V | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

