Survey Says: Running

Hello Monday.

IMG_8299\

On Friday, my friend and I made a slightly crazy running decision. More info on that coming soon. 😉

I am a recreational runner. I’m not the fastest person out there. I just happen to like lacing up my shoes and forgetting about the world for a few miles. Ha! If you’re a runner, you will like this…and if you aren’t a runner…maybe I can convince you to join the craziness. I saw these questions on my favorite blog last week and thought I would share all my running thoughts with you today!

1.  Would you rather run along a beach path or on a mountain trail?

IMG_2552

I have nothing against mountain trails, but I have more experience at the beach. My favorite place to run is right at the edge of the water because the sand is flat and hard! If you want a serious leg workout, run from the boardwalk to the water. That soft sand will do a number on ya…

2.  If you could choose the flavor of gatorade at your next race’s aid stations, what would it be?

IMG_0072

I’m not good with flavor names…I like purple and light blue and yellow. 🙂

3.  If I gave you a $100 gift card to a running store, what would be the first thing that you would purchase with it?

I NEED NEW SHOES! I cannot stress the importance of 1) getting fitted for the right kind of shoe and 2) getting new shoes every 400 miles. I LOVE going to the running store and getting on the treadmill and having them analyze my running. I feel so much more at peace knowing that I am wearing the right kind of shoe and knowing that I didn’t just pick it because it was pretty. 😉 I still pick pretty shoes, but if I was allowed to choose my exact running shoe, I would pick the Brooks Pure Flow because I like the style. That is a lightweight shoe and I need a stability shoe. I wouldn’t know that if I didn’t get my stride analyzed! I can’t tell you I quite follow my own advice about the 400 mile rule. Typically, 300-400 miles on a shoe means time for new ones. I’m not great at tracking when I get shoes, so I have no idea how many miles go on them, then I get shin splints, and then I know it’s time for new shoes. Not the best method. Ha!

4.  Do you prefer to follow a training plan or wake up and decide then how far and how fast you want to run?

I didn’t use a training plan for the first four long distance races I ever did. I do not recommend this! I finished each of those four races in decent time, but then I got hurt. Follow a training plan if you’re racing. With that said, I like a training plan when I’m on it. As soon as I race, I NEED to run however far and fast I want for a long time. I don’t like being told what to do for too long, so I usually take a break from “planned” running after a race!

5.  Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end on the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?

IMG_8770

This is how we felt knowing we just ran 2.5 miles downhill and knowing there were 2.5 miles to the top. Short answer: neither. I would rather have rolling hills. Finishing on a hill gives you runner’s high for sure because you are so darn happy to be done, but you dread it the whole run. Starting on a hill means you have to go downhill for a long time…and that’s hard on your legs. Rolling hills, please. 🙂

6.  When you can’t run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do?

I love Spinning and PiYo (because hello I love cardio and stretching, I need you) but I also have discovered a new love for doing strength training. Cardio is not the only exercise in the world…say what?! I refrain from saying lifting because I feel like that leads people to believe I’m bulky or I lift really heavy. Neither of those are true. Lifting makes you leaner, not bulkier! However, I used 20 lb dumbbells last week and it was an exciting moment in life ha!

384473_476219062446847_1142118968_n

7.  What is your preference—>  Out and back, point to point or loop runs?

LOOP! I get to constantly see new things and still end up back where I started!

8.  If you could recommend ANY running related item to a new runner, it would be a—>

Say it with me: correct. pair. of. shoes.

9.  Do you ever see any wild animals while out on your runs?

When I’m running in my hometown, there are usually turkeys and deer. On one rare occasion, I saw a chicken. Plum (my town) used to be a farm town, and while there are still some farms around, it’s mostly residential now. Typical suburbia with a few farm animals still hanging out.

IMG_0128

10.  Ever gotten lost while out on a run?

We used to get lost at cross country practice all the time! We ran on trails in a local park which was so fun. Those “we’re lost!” moments made up for the days we would intentionally run slow so we didn’t have to go as far;) Most recently, my friends and I were running to specific embassies in D.C. and our 4 mile run quickly turned into a 7 mile run because Siri couldn’t give us correct directions…

11.  If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days…what would that meal be?

I actually don’t crave specific foods right after I run. I crave a freezing cold glass of water, but as far as food goes, whatever meal time it is, I’m happy with that food!

12.  Capris or shorts… what do you run in most often?

I can now confidently say shorts. Come winter, I will be in three pairs of leggings, thank you very much! But…catch me on a treadmill…and I will only be in shorts and a tank top. I get so overheated on that thing!

IMG_8008

And that my friends is what I like to call “I didn’t do laundry or unpack from vacation” because THAT is a running skirt. Did you know running skirts are really expensive? Did you know people actually wore skirts while they were running? I have two and they were free and picked up at mile 8 of the Runner’s World Half Marathon in 2013 and 2014. Hahaha

13.  At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it is warming up and ready to go?

1 song on my iPod or 1/2 mile. Sometimes the whole run just feels hard, but for the most part, my body adjusts pretty well.

14.  What do you do with your key when you run?

I usually take it off it’s keychain and just leave the one silver loop on it. Then I put my finger through that loop so the key is in the palm of my hand. I hold my phone when I run (because I’m usually alone) and so the key is kind of right under my phone. This week, I’ve tried putting my key on my shoe lace and it was only comfortable the first time I tried it! I want to keep working on that one ha!

15.  If you could relive any race that you have done in the past, which one what it be?

IMG_4938

My second half marathon, which was the Runner’s World Half in Bethlehem, PA. I loved this race so so much. I had never been to this town before and it was in the Pennsylvania mountains in the fall, so the scenery was beautiful. I think it was also awesome to not know where I was going. Also, Runner’s World puts on such a good race. The weekend was full of inspirational speakers, running swag, and 3 different races to compete in or spectate!

16.  What type of run is your least favorite type of run?

A tempo run.  This is a run where you are supposed to feel like the pace you are going at is “comfortably hard”. Those two words don’t belong next to each other. Usually it just feels hard! But if you trust your training plan, eventually that pace will be your easy pace.

17.  What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to get your run on?

New running adventures such as Lululemon’s Run Club and November Project AND the warm weather!

NP

Photo Credit: November Project DC

The humidity in D.C. has been unbearable but you really can’t complain when it was -4 degrees for five straight months…

18.  When you go for a run, do you leave right from your front door or do you drive somewhere to start?

I have been driving to run recently…but I have about 4 good routes right out my door that I like taking too! College Park just isn’t as pretty as Washington, D.C. 🙂

19.  When running in daylight—>  are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?

They aren’t a must but they are becoming one. I wore regular glasses all the time until last summer and I wore sunglasses by putting sunglasses over my real glasses because I am super cool. Anyways, when running, that is not a good situation. Now that I wear contacts, I love wearing sunglasses to run. I don’t NEED them, but like I said…getting to that point. I definitely miss them when I don’t have them!

20.  When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?

Usually I am nowhere near my house or car when I’m tired so that’s a big one! Run away from places that will make you quit. 😉 When I’m on the treadmill, just slowing the speed a bit keeps me from quitting. Your run doesn’t have to be 100% effort the whole time you’re out there…just keep your legs moving.

IMG_3668

– Relationship status: love running or hate running?

– What’s your favorite kind of exercise?

15 thoughts on “Survey Says: Running

  1. Love running! Now that I’ve taken a few weeks off, I’m ready to start marathon training ASAP! Best exercise is running, but I’ve recently been getting into plyo’s. Hope you have a fab day : )

  2. Loved this post Kylie! SO many funny things: the free running skirt, getting lost on your runs ( i used to tie my shoe on the side of the road during cross country practice and say that I’d catch up with everyone so I could go slower), and wearing your sunglasses over your real glasses.

    You’re so fun, thanks for sharing this awesome list/questionnaire! I need to run today after work, I’m 3 weeks away from my Chicago half marathon…eek!

  3. I just started running in January. My regular workout shoes (I wore them on the elliptical or walking…or zumba-ing) were Nike Frees… After about two weeks I knew I needed to get fit for running shoes so I went. The guy said that Nikes are super narrow and I have wide feet. I didn’t realize it but they were SQUEEZING my feet (I realized it once I tried on ones that fit!). They also have sooo much support whereas the Frees are like…flat. The good ones were only like $30 or $40 more! I will always be going to a running store for my shoes from now on. 🙂

    • YES this is the perfect testimony to getting fitted! My Nike Frees are so cute but you’re right, they’re just basically flat! I’m glad you joined the running world:)

  4. Pingback: Marathon Monday [Week 2] | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

