Rain, Reading + A New Look

How was your weekend?! Mine looked a lot like this…

IMG_8852

Comfy clothes and slippers approximately 6 seconds after arriving home. Ha! I dare you to change faster than me. 😉 I was super excited to wear these clothes because it felt COLD this weekend which was a welcomed change! As a 23 year old, I pride myself on being an adult (90% of the time) but there are still some things that I rudely claim “only old people do”. One of these things –> talk about the weather. However, let’s discuss weather for a minute.

IMG_8711

Sitting in my car because nothing is important enough to deal with hail.

The Maryland/DC/Virginia area has been having some crazy thunderstorms lately. Last week, it was about 95* with 90% humidity all week long. It. was. so. hot. But on random occasions, we would have these ridiculous thunderstorms…think puddles that are deeper than you think when driving, lightning that makes green lights turn red, and hail. This craziness usually only lasts for an hour or so and then we are back to sun and heat. But on Saturday, it torrentially downpouring and CHILLY! 🙂 After running a bunch of errands in the morning, I decided the rain wasn’t worth fighting with anymore and came home to relax in my favorite comfy clothes. Is there anything better than that on a weekend?!

IMG_8794

Aaaand there’s that sun we were talking about.

My weekend was already off to a great start (besides cooler weather) because my roommate checked our mailbox and I got ALL THE THINGS!

IMG_8837

The new music and choreography for Round 40 of PiYo (which is 80s inspired…so fun!), a card from my mom, a card from one of my best friends, and FREE protein powder packets from Quest Nutrition! I received Vanilla Milkshake and Chocolate Milkshake after filling out a survey a few weeks ago. My favorite Quest protein flavor is peanut butter because it is truly such a decadent flavor! Some protein powder can taste gritty or even thin, but I have never had that problem with Quest protein powder. You should try it! (P.S. I’m not sponsored in any way by the company, I just love their products.) Their website is always offering some kind of free promotion. Also, they just came out with two new protein powder flavors: Salted Caramel and Banana Cream. Salted Caramel is right up my sweet tooth’s alley. 😉 One of my friends from college sent me a picture of the two free packets she received in the mail and she got the two NEW flavors! I love mail and I love free things so I tried not to be too jealous. Ha!

FullSizeRender

My many pieces of mail inspired me to sit down and make little cards and care packages for two of my friends or family. One of my summer bucket list goals was to send two pieces of mail each month. June = check! And I am obsessed with the stationary. Target dollar section is the best!

 IMG_8846

For some reason, I have been waking up at 3 or 4 AM every night and I cannot seem to go back to sleep. Thanks to Molly’s suggestion, I heard some pretty good tunes the other night. 😉

IMG_8939

And I added another book to my list for the year! My mom and I set a goal to read 52 books this year and seeing as it’s already July, I am nervous about how close I will actually get to achieving this goal! I love Jodi Picoult and when I saw this book at my local Half Price books, I knew I had to get it because even though it’s an older title, I have never read it. It was hard to finish and I hate when that happens! It was much different than her “typical” story line, the timeline was a little difficult to keep up with because each chapter jumped around, and I found myself kind of not caring what was going to happen at some points. Now that I know how the story ends, I like how it all came together…and I’m glad I have another book to add to my list! Ha! Have you ever started reading a book that you just couldn’t get into!?

IMG_8853

I ate my favorite meal on repeat…

 IMG_8867

…and served in the nursery at church before attending service on Sunday. I go to National Community Church in DC and I’m so glad God brought me to that place when I moved here last summer. I have been in a small group since I started attending church, but I just started serving in the nursery. I LOVE spending time with the babies in the nursery. The first week I shadowed, I was holding a baby who was teething and she was SO distraught the entire time her parents were in church. This week was much better but we were a few adults short so it was difficult to appease the ones who were upset and keep the ones who were happy entertained! My favorite moment was laying on the floor with 2 girls and a boy and playing “cars” with them. They thought sound effects were hilarious even though they were only about 9-12 months! One girl took a liking to me and when she got tired, I ended up rocking with her a lot. When her dad picked her up, she cried! I wanted to go home with her. She was so sweet!

Perhaps the biggest event of the weekend came when I went to the hair salon and told my stylist to “chop away”.

IMG_8919

I have worn my hair the exact same way since eighth grade. I just like my side swept bangs and long length! I have cut it shorter a few times over the years, but I really wanted something different! Now, I have choppy layers and my hair is longer in the front and shorter in the back. Also, my favorite topknot ponytail hairstyle is out…

IMG_8921

…because my ponytail now looks like this! Ha! Running so far has required lots of bobby pins and headbands. 😉 And I miss the knot on top of my head when I’m just hanging out and relaxing! It feels weird to have my hair down. Ah!

– How was your weekend?

– How often do you change your hair?

23 thoughts on “Rain, Reading + A New Look

  1. I’ve been looking for some new protein powder to try so I will absolutely check Quest out! I just got my hair cut too and it has to be the most recent time in the past two years. My ends were so dead that I ended up cutting off about 4 inches. It’s way shorter than I like, but it looks so much healthier and fuller. I guess that’s what happens when you take care of it! Haha.

    • I am SO bad about taking care of my hair the way I am probably supposed to! Next step is to invest in heat protectant spray for when I use my straightener. Please try Quest! So good! They even make a multipurpose flavor if you were ever trying to cook with protein powder 🙂

  2. Your haircut is so cute, I love it! Perfect change for the summer heat in DC 🙂

    I just sent 3 surprise care packages to my friends back home in Chicago and they loved it and it felt really good. What a great goal to send two pieces of mail a month, I really like that!

    And that target stationary is darling!

  3. Oh my gosh! Your hair is so dang cute like that!!! I always get the itch to chop my hair off when it gets this hot!! And you are also seriously inspiring me to get reading…..you go girl. That goal sounds brutal!

  4. We are no officially rocking the same haircut! I love it, although I do miss my long hair and the easiness of throwing it on top of my head haha! I tend to do these drastic changes after break ups. Break my heart? I’m going to chop my hair off! Ha!

    • Haha and I’ve been single for awhile, so I wonder what brought this on?! Maybe I am breaking up with an old version of myself;) I came home tonight and I was so sad. It feels so good to tie my hair on top of my head after a long day and instead I had to put it in its sad little ponytail haha!

      • Hahah maybe it’s because you just got the job and it’s time for a change 🙂 and it will always grow! Short hair is nice for summer though!

  5. HAHAH did Sleepytime Tunes work?!?! Currently turning it on as it’s 1:10am and I have to wake up in 4.5 hours. Yes to reading a book I can’t get in to…I feel like that’s why i’ve been so bad about reading lately. Also, I told you that your hair was so cute!!!

  6. Yes to all things Jodi Picoult! Love love her! You can definitely do 52 books this year! So happy you found my little blog in the blogsphere so now I can see yours too! 🙂

  7. Girl, these thunderstorms have been unreal! And looking at the forecast (haha I despise talking about the weather too) it looks like we still have more coming, but hopefully things clear up a bit for the 4th!

    Your hair looks awesome. I kind of did the same thing last year. My hair had been really long for about 6-7 years and I chopped it last fall, not quite as much as you though. It was fun but I did eventually start missing it long, so I’m growing it out again.

    • I already miss long hair! Ah! Your hair is so pretty…I wish mine had curl and body like yours does! Weather is so interesting and fun;) Hopefully we have a DRY 4th for fun celebrations! Are you coming into DC for fireworks??

  8. Pingback: 2015: A Year In Review | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

