Vanilla Pound Cake

When is the last time you ate cauliflower for dessert?

No?

Just me?

Well, your answer to that question is about to change because I have a recipe for you that is filled with totally random, yet nutritious ingredients! And you will be able to say that you ate and enjoyed cauliflower for dessert. 😉 This weekend, I was craving something sweet, and while I can’t say I have ever eaten pound cake in the past, Pinterest came to the rescue here. I wasn’t sure how the combination of these ingredients would turn out, but aren’t the Pinterest “fails” just as much fun as the Pinterest successes?! I think so! Ultimately, this Vanilla Pound Cake was easy to make, required few ingredients (my kitchen rule of thumb!) and tasted delicious!

pound cake

Original recipe here.

Ingredients

1/2 cup steamed cauliflower
1/2 cup egg whites
1 cup vanilla protein powder
2 eggs
4 drops vanilla extract
Cinnamon (to taste)

How To

First, preheat your oven to 325*. Steam your cauliflower (I used the microwave) and get your electric mixer or blender ready to go!

IMG_8858

Combine eggs, egg whites, and vanilla in a bowl. Add steamed cauliflower, then add protein powder. Finally, drop in some vanilla extract and cinnamon!

IMG_8859

I used my hand mixer and it worked really well! One thing to note: the “batter” is very thin in consistency at this stage of cooking. I kept checking the recipe to make sure I didn’t forget anything, but I didn’t, and you didn’t either! It is just very thin. Grease your bread pan (I used Coconut Spray Oil) and set your timer for 30 to 40 minutes.

 IMG_8860

At the 30 minute mark, start checking your pound cake. The top should be slightly browned and the consistency should be much more firm to the touch.

IMG_8861

I was able to slice this loaf into 8 pieces, and using MyFitnessPal, I found that each piece of pound cake was about 75 calories! I ate it plain, but you could add honey for a touch of sweetness, too. Word to the wonderers: you cannot taste the cauliflower. 😉

Enjoy!

– Do you like cauliflower?

– Have you ever tasted pound cake?

17 thoughts on “Vanilla Pound Cake

  1. Consider this being made asap. I love pound cake and I love cauliflower. I’ve been eating a lot of the Trader Joe’s cauliflower rice – it’s absolutely incredible. Can’t wait to make this… thanks for sharing : )

  2. Okay I don’t like cauliflower… but I do like pound cake! I’m totally going to make this for my dad because he loves cauliflower. I can’t believe it is that healthy for you!

  3. I don’t do vegetables. Like I only eat carrots, celery, lettuce and broccoli so maybe I’ll have to try this to disguise the cauliflower. And have someone make it for me so I don’t know that’s what’s in it 🙂

    • Girl, you do veggies! That’s quite a list even though it’s short;) Broccoli is my favorite but asparagus is moving up the list, too. And ha! I will make and send you some!

  4. Pingback: Mashed Cauliflower Sweet Potatoes | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

