Marathon Monday [Week 2]

I wrote one of my favorite kinds of posts ever last Monday. I did a survey and answered lots of questions about running. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also mentioned that my friend and I decided to do something crazy…

MCM

…we officially signed up to runย our FIRST marathon!ย I absolutely LOVE the half marathon distance. I have run four in the past. I think it’s difficult enough that it definitely requires training, but I think it’s a “short” enough distance that you can really race and push yourself to run fast. When I picture myself running a full marathon, I picture myself running just to cross the finish line. I am not concerned about time and I really see it as an item to check off my bucket list. I think I will be a one-and-done type of girl. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Because I have this point of view, when my friend Hannah suggested that I sign up as a charity runner, I knew it was the perfect thing for me to do! Now, I will be running for aย cause.

Our team is raising money for two charities: Give To The World and CitiHope International. These charities seek to deliver health and hope to vulnerable communities worldwide. Give To The World sends medical supplies and essential material items to families living in conflict zones while CitiHope International promotes health by delivering medicine and other resources to underserved populations. I am so proud to be part of this team and my goal is to raise $550! I think I can do it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am super excited that this race will be my first full marathon because it runs through all ofย Washington, D.C. and it’s really highly recommended in the running world. Apparently, the crowd support is amazing…but it has to be if there are Marines along the course cheering the runners on! It’s lovingly called “The People’s Marathon” and it was rated one of the 15 best fall marathons. All good things!

IMG_8928

In the meantime, Kristen and I are headed into week two of our marathon training. I am following Hal Higdon’s Novice Plan which actually calls for 18 weeks of training, but since I just started training last week, I made this plan work for me and modified the first few weeks a bit so that I train for a total of 16 weeks. In case you are interested in the crazy, here is what my schedule looks like this week:

Rest 3 m run 4 m run 3 m run Rest 9 m Cross

If you have ever listened to me talk about running before, you know I am a runner whoย needs days off. My body just cannot run six days a week. I love that this plan includes two rest days and cross training and I plan on using those days to my advantage by incorporating stretching, strength training, and yes, actual rest. Not moving an inch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

On my first “real” training run, I talked on the phone for the first 3 miles so that definitely tested me! Ha! And then I came across this random, heart shaped leaf. I am going to take it as a sign and a good omen!

IMG_8973

Besides listening to my training plan, I need to do a few things:

1. Get new shoes.
2. Eat healthy food and eatย enoughย food!
Training makes you hungry, but you have to fight that hunger with the most nutritious foods. ๐Ÿ˜‰
3. Hydrate!
I have been pretty bad at this one lately. My favorite Contigo 32 oz. water bottles have been letting me down and leaking everywhere! What’s your favorite kind of bottle?!
4. Get enough sleep.
I’m good at this one!

Last week was full of healthy, nutritious foods to fuel my runs…

IMG_8936

IMG_8957

Lots of stretching, even if that meant putting my legs up on Kristen’s living room wall…

IMG_8966

And my favorite ab/core video ever. You must do it. TODAY! My abs hurt and I only did it twice last week. ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course the holiday weekend called for a long run…but it also called for lots of desserts. So I’m waking up today with my head in the game because in three short months I have to run lots and lots of miles. I tend to doubt myself, but anything that’s worth doing comes with a little fear, I think!

Happy Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

– What’s the last big risk you took?

–ย Have you ever run a marathon?

***

If you feel compelled, please help me reach my fundraising goal by donating on this website. Thank you for your support!!!

20 thoughts on “Marathon Monday [Week 2]

  1. Yes to all of those things! I also loved your running survey post! (I too have no idea what the gatorade flavor names are!) and I loved the food you were eating- Yum! You go girl on signing up for that marathon! I don’t know if I could ever do one of those!!

  2. I’m so excited for you that you signed up for your first full marathon! And what a great cause to run for. You go girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also used Hal’s training program and it worked great. You seem really disciplined already but just make sure you stick to the schedule and you should have no problems with the marathon!

    Let me know if you have any questions! I ran my first full this past December and am doing another full in October.

    And the scenery of DC will be gorgeous! I wish I ran races while I was living there. Guess I’ll just have to go back and do some ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Your healthy meals look delicious! Kudos to you for doing a marathon! For me a half would be a crazy number of miles hahaha. I need to stick with 5K’s for a while.

  4. Pingback: Training Tuesday | kyliemcgraw

  5. Pingback: 2015: A Year In Review | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

