Pancake Party

My love for pancakes and waffles knows no bounds. When I was younger, friends who slept over would always get so excited for breakfast because my mom was known for doing something like this:

pancake name

Pancakes are a fun breakfast to begin with…but when they spell your name?! The best!

The love for any breakfast dish with syrup (pronounced seer-up;)) continued in college where, freshman year, I was the queen of Belgium waffles on Sunday mornings. After struggling with my weight and an “I-can’t-eat-that” attitude, I brought the pancakes and waffles back into my breakfast rotation…but not without some healthy modifications first. 😉 That’s not to say I don’t enjoy sugar-filled pancakes or waffles if I’m out at a restaurant, but when I cook for myself, I try to make as many healthy modifications as possible!

Today, I have four pancake options to share with you. Two that you can buy at the store and simply add water, and two that require a little more work. All four are worth it. 🙂

IMG_9164

If you wear this when you eat pancakes, it makes it all better. 🙂

Store Bought Options

IMG_9192

The first is P28 Pancake Mix. I purchased mine at Wegmans, but I will probably order my next container from Amazon or the P28 website. You have your choice of buttermilk buckwheat or white chocolate. Can you guess which flavor I purchased?! I am a fan of this brand because it is high in protein and low in sugar. Protein is good for you and it makes you feel “full”, which I need because I am not afraid to ask for seconds or thirds. Ha! It is a little pricier than your average pancake mix, but I think it is worth it because it is not something I cook every day and I am only cooking for one. All you have to do is add water to this mix and you have the perfect pancake batter. How easy is that?!

IMG_8780

The second is Kodiak Cakes Flapjack and Waffle Mix. I found it at Target and not only is the price point much better, but you get more of the powdered mix! Nutritionally, this brand doesn’t have as much protein as P28, so if that’s what you are thinking about when you purchase, I would go with P28. Flavor choices: whole wheat oat and honey or buttermilk and honey, which is the one I chose! Combine mix with water and you are good to go. These were also delicious!

IMG_9176

Now, it’s time for some recipes! One I have made before and it is so good, but the second was brand new to me and a little unique. You’ll see what I mean!

Egg White Oatmeal Protein Pancake
*Original recipe here.

Ingredients

1 c liquid egg whites
1/3 c oats
1 packet sweetener of choice (I used Truvia)
Cinnamon (to taste)

IMG_9317

Directions

1. Grease and heat pan (I used coconut oil).
2. Combine egg whites, oats, sweetener, and cinnamon in a bowl. Mix well.
*I have found the oats tend to “sink” and the cinnamon tends to “rise” or stay on the surface of your mixture. As long as you combine the ingredients and stir, I think it works well!
3. Pour mixture into frying pan.
IMG_9319
4. Cook until slightly browned on both sides!
*I use a utensil to even spread the oats around once the mixture is in the pan.IMG_9322

IMG_9323

Enjoy with fruit preserves or syrup! I first saw this recipe on Julie’s blog, Peanut Butter Fingers, and I have made it several times in the past few years. It’s always a good one! It’s the perfect balance of protein and carbs…but Julie once made this pancake and included spinach to get some veggies in with her breakfast. I’ve tried it this way too…it makes your pancake green, but I promise if you can look past the color, you can’t taste it! 🙂

Now for the unique pancake recipe…this was an interesting one to make! On Pinterest (follow me here), there are a ton of “healthy” pancake recipes using just a banana and eggs. I have made this recipe before, and I have to be honest, while it was tasty, it did nothing to fill me up. I hoped that swapping a banana for a sweet potato would do the trick and keep the hunger pains away!

Easy Sweet Potato Pancakes
*Original recipe here.

Ingredients

2 eggs
1 medium sweet potato
Cinnamon (to taste)
Honey (to taste)

IMG_9091

Directions

1. Make a baked potato. I poked holes in my sweet potato and put it in the microwave for 4 minutes. Time may vary for you, and you might have another preference about how to cook the potato.

IMG_9092

2. Slice your baked sweet potato and use a fork to scrape out the mashed potato into a bowl.

IMG_9127

3. Add 1 egg at a time and start to mix your “batter”. Once the sweet potato and eggs are combined, add cinnamon and honey to your liking. This adds some sweetness to the savory flavor!

IMG_9130

4. Grease and heat a frying pan and pour batter, just as you would with regular pancakes!

 IMG_9133

5. Add your toppings of choice. I chose syrup!

IMG_9134

The sweet potato pancakes are not as sweet as say, my white chocolate P28 pancakes, but they have a great flavor and I didn’t feel like I was eating a sweet potato! Give them a try. 🙂

– Are you a breakfast person?

– Pancakes or waffles?

13 thoughts on “Pancake Party

  1. I could eat breakfast foods for every meal of the day…. And I’m more of a pancakes AND waffles kinda girl. Making this sweet potato recipe tonight! : )

  2. I want ALL of these. White chocolate pancake mix?! That’s crazy. It sounds amazing, and I want it right now! The sweet potato one is intriguing because my fiance recently stopped eating gluten so he could actually eat those! I’m definitely a pancake girl. Annd I used to say seee-rup and my entire family made fun of me hahaha.

Leave a Reply

