A Week In Review: Friday Favorites

My favorite thing that happened this week was on Monday afternoon when my mom showed up in Maryland. πŸ™‚ I knew she was coming, but it was still fun to anticipate her arrival!

IMG_9450

We got right down to business taking selfies and going out to lunch.

My second favorite thing that happened this week was when a friend of a friend found me on Buzzfeed. #famous

IMG_9454

My Instagram picture was featured in an article called “19 Kitchen Disasters That Will Actually Impress You.” Take a moment of silence and then bust out laughing, because that’s what I did. πŸ™‚ Here’s the story: my best friend from childhood, Stef, came to DC to visit me in February. One morning, I started making oatmeal for breakfast, and then we decided to have omelettes instead. I guess I forgot that I started microwaving oatmeal, because the next morning when I went to warm up my coffee, I found my bowl of oatmeal…and it was stuck together in a perfect circle shape just like the bowl it had cooked in! It looked and felt just like a rice cake. Stef, of course, had to have photographic evidence of this epic kitchen fail. I posted it on Instagram and never thought anything of it! Until Buzzfeed found me this week. Hahaha

Speaking of food, I’ve had a lot of my favorites this week. Except that means I’m kind of sick of eating out and I haven’t even left for vacation yet. Ah!

IMG_9453

On MondayΒ night, my mom and I ate at Fuego, a Mexican restaurant in Arlington right near my new apartment. We got chicken enchiladas and a chicken skillet (which is basically fajitas) to share because we both like/wanted to try these dishes. Except…too many chips and salsa and queso. Isn’t that always the way? I also enjoyed red wine sangria and my mom got a little silly with a hibiscus margarita. The name of her margarita sounds weird because I think “flower” when I hear the word hibiscus, but I tried that drink last week, and it’s actually really good!

On Tuesday night, we went to Ted’s Bulletin in Merrifield, VA. I was super excited to spot this restaurant out the window of Target because there are several locations in DC that are always PACKED because it’s such a good place to go! I have never been because I am not patient;) so it was exciting to find the restaurant a little bit out into the suburbs! My mom and I were shopping on our way back from my new elementary school and wasting time until we could go move into my new apartment, but one can only shop for so long before hunger pains strike. Enter: Ted’s Bulletin.

IMG_9468

The menus were set up like a newspaper which we LOVED!

IMG_9470

We also loved the decor and looking at this movie screen from our table. πŸ™‚

IMG_9469

Of course, Ted’s is known for their breakfast, which is served all day, and yet my mom and I both ordered non-breakfast dishes. My veggie wrap with turkey was delicious, though. πŸ˜‰

IMG_9471IMG_9472

Of course we had to try some desserts. My roommate was so nicely letting me move some of my belongings in before my lease even starts…we HAD to be kind and take her dessert. Isn’t that the only option!? We tried the apple poptart, the salted caramel poptart, and the layered carrot cake. But remember, it’s acceptable to buy that many desserts when 1) you plan to share and 2) you plan to taste…not eat the whole thing. Ahhhh. Dessert is my favorite.

IMG_9459

I’m pretty sure when my roommate said I could move some of my stuff in, she wasn’t expecting boxes from window to window and ceiling to ceiling in both my mom’s SUV and my SUV. In any case, I only have a few more boxes to move and then I just have to wait to get my furniture delivered. #win

IMG_9482

Can you even? Because I can’t even. I have a walk in closet at my mom’s house and I never ever thought I would have another amazing closet until I built my own house some time in the future, but guys…this closet is my favorite.

IMG_9475

And a view like this doesn’t hurt, either. πŸ™‚ My Dad thinks he is so funny. I was texting him pictures while we were unpacking and when I sent this picture of the view and the pool, he said, “Oh you have a pond! How quaint! Lol”

IMG_9461

I was super excited to show my mom the school that I will be working at and the classroom I will be teaching in. The teacher who is moving out of this classroom is going up to fifth grade, so I will inherit some of his materials. But right now, he is still teaching summer school, so some of his furniture and shelves are still in the room and I can’t quite imagine how I want to rearrange it or what decorations I want…because believe me, I want a lot. πŸ˜‰ My favorite part of ANYTHING is the whole getting ready process, because I love to plan and organize, so getting my classroom ready isΒ kind of right up my alley. But the whole discussion started giving me anxiety because I can’t actually get in there and officially move or rearrange things yet, so I told my mom we had to leave. Hahaha

Fast forward two days, and we were checking out my mom’s new classroom. She has been teaching for 28 years, but two of the elementary schools in my town are combining into one brand new building (that is actually still under construction). Even though it’s not totally done yet, it is so nice!Β IMG_9513

Look how happy the woman is. And her room has boxes that need unpacked all over it. I need to calm down and follow her example haha!

IMG_9516

My classroom worries were forgotten when my mom, my brother’s girlfriend, and I went to get manicures and pedicures. We’re just trying to get beach ready over here! My favorite part of getting my nails done is how perfect they look. I can assure you my nails don’t look like that when I paint them myself…

IMG_9512

One of my favorite pictures from this week is this one of my brothers. I was downtown getting my long run in before vacation and my brothers and Taylor (Alex’s girlfriend) were busy playing tourist in their own city on Mt. Washington.Β They just look so happy and we can’t even see their faces. πŸ™‚ While they took pictures of Pittsburgh from theΒ sky,Β I took pictures of Pittsburgh from the ground.

IMG_9496Β IMG_9499

10 miles later it was time for family dinner on the patio at my mom’s house. Grilled burgers, vegetables, and a sweet potato because if there’s a food I love more than oatmeal, it’s my sweet potatoes. πŸ™‚

IMG_9533Β IMG_9535

You know what’s not a good idea? Listening to a scary podcast while you walk your dogs around your neighborhood alone. I am being very dramatic because I live in the world’s quietest town, but I still jumped every time I heard a stick crack or a bird chirp while we walked! And then eventually I turned this podcast off and started listening to The Chalene Show instead because POSITIVITY HAPPINESS SOMEONE TELL ME SOMETHING GOOD! It was starting to get dark and my nerves couldn’t handle it anymore. Have you listened to Serial or Undisclosed?? What are your thoughts??

Happy Friday, friends! Have the best weekend! πŸ™‚

***

fridayfavoritesΒ Friday-Favorite-Link-Up-Botton-Life-In-LeggingsΒ Friday Favorites

Link up with us:
Momfessionals
Life In Leggings
Meet @ The Barre
Running 4 Cupcakes
Fitting It All In

20 thoughts on “A Week In Review: Friday Favorites

  1. I get to hang out and shop with my mama this weekend and I’m so excited about it! Mom time is the best. Your closet! *heart eyes emoji* So exciting that you got to check out your classroom with your mom! Your white manicure looks awesome and those pictures you took of Pittsburgh are gorgeous!

  2. I love Fuego! Two other must-tries in Arlington are Four Sisters Grill and Northside Social. Four Sisters is Vietnamese on Clarendon Blvd. and their Bahn Mi is THE. BEST. Northside Social, which is just south(ish) of the Clarendon Metro stop, is a great little coffee shop that office has a pretty great menu and bakery. Its a quick walk from my office building and I probably shouldn’t admit how often I go!

    • I’ll have to try Four Sisters! I don’t know if I’ve ever had Vietnamese food! I’ve heard of Northside a lot so you shouldn’t be ashamed of how much you go because it must be good! And your office is so close to me! I’m one metro stop away!

      • Courthouse? Virginia Square? So I don’t know if this is weird LOL… but would you be interested in getting coffee or a meal together sometime? I still consider myself to be pretty new to the city, so I am open to any opportunities to meet new people.

Leave a Reply

