Friday Favorites: New Apartment Edition

Perhaps my very favorite moment of this week was when this truck rolled up to my new apartment building. Never mind the fact that I was on the phone with the IT Department of my new job and using my friend’s laptop AT HER APARTMENT when the delivery man called to tell me he was here.Β The very best moment.

IMG_9945

After being away for a week and then sleeping on an air mattress on the floor for three nights while I waited for this delivery, climbing into my “own” bed on Wednesday night felt AMAZING.

IMG_9948

Now I just need some throw pillows. The color theme seems to be yellow here…the family room is different shades of yellow in vertical stripes and then this brighter color is in my room.Β I’m thinking I can do a lot “decoration wise” because I chose a white comforter. Throw pillow color suggestions, please! Send them my way! I have a gift card to Pier One from my aunt burning a hole in my pocket. πŸ˜‰

IMG_9877

It’s also been my favorite to sit on the balcony and just enjoy being outside! Of course there have been outdoor areas in my previous two apartments, but it is SO nice to have my own outdoor space.

IMG_9936

And since I am just figuring out where I am, it’s been my favorite to send my friend Kristen creepy Snapchat pictures of the sliver of her building that I can see from my balcony. πŸ™‚ The road (and therefore the city blocks) turn slightly and her building is much taller than mine, so I can see her but she can’t see me! I saw the shadows of her and her roommate jumping on their windowsill to look for me, but they didn’t see me and my lime green shirt waving at them haha! I wonder who did see me…

IMG_9967

My new bed has six drawers underneath it so I don’t need a dresser because I also have a very large closet. My very favorite drawer is the one filled with workout clothes. πŸ™‚ But each of the drawers has a special place in my heart because they are all full…which means I am unpacked. Finally. It only took four days! Now I just need to decorate. My roommate moved in at the beginning of July so the rest of the apartment is looking pretty put together!

IMG_9897

It was not my favorite to run up this hill in the middle of my run, but the popsicles at the end made it all worth it! Free workout, new friends, running, popsicles…life doesn’t get much better.

11222523_10208142552219490_428250161860628378_n

Photo credit: lululemon athletica Clarendon Run Club

IMG_9955

Free hot yoga class, free juice, and free time to hang out with my friends.Β Can you tell working out is like social hour for me? πŸ˜‰

IMG_9916

My youngest brother’s favorite activity is building things. I am certain he needs to major in engineering in college. Anyways, I do not enjoy assembling furniture because I always do it wrong and it’s wobbly and #aintnobodygottimeforthat. Unfortunately, I did have to build this table on my balcony…8 nuts, 8 bolts, 8 legs, plus that little center piece. Screwdiver included. It wobbles in case you were wondering. Hahaha

IMG_9960

Which is why I paid Office Max an extra $60 to send someone to my apartment to build my desk. It was worth every penny. πŸ™‚

IMG_9971

How cool is this?! In the common game room downstairs, there are bookshelves on two of the walls filled with books. You pick your book, sign your name on the clip board, and go on your merry way. I love that we have a little mini library! Reading is my favorite and apparently a lot of my neighbors agree. πŸ™‚

bookwormwednesday1

Speaking of which, one of my favorite blog friends, Molly, is hosting a monthly link up about books on the first Wednesday of every month! The next one will be on September 2. Thanks to my new library, I don’t have to go very far to find new books to read. Get to reading so we can all share book recommendations next month! πŸ™‚

IMG_9974

And the most important moment of the week…my hair fit in my favorite messy bun with the help of only ONE bobby pin. I love my short haircut but I miss my messy bun! This made my night…but I’m easy to please. Ha!

Happy Friday, friends! Have the best weekend!Β πŸ™‚

***

fridayfavoritesΒ Friday-Favorite-Link-Up-Botton-Life-In-LeggingsΒ Friday Favorites

Link up with us:
Momfessionals
Life In Leggings
Meet @ The Barre
Running 4 Cupcakes
Fitting It All In

20 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: New Apartment Edition

  1. Love your comforter & your view looks great! We have a platform bed, too. But small closets. We also have a triple dresser, a chest of drawers, a small armoire, a small closet, and then I have a whole other room that’s basically my closet too. Yes, I have a slight clothes addiction. Workout & regular.

    My husband does get a few drawers & some closet space . . . .

    • Hahaha I’m glad your clothing situation sounds similar to mine! If I had to share this room with a husband, he would have nowhere to put anything! I could MAYBE spare one drawer and part of my bench haha

  2. Yay for being all unpacked in just a few days – I’m impressed! I wish we were in the same city we could go to run club and yoga together!

    That’s so funny you can see your friend’s building!

    And I love that you have a library in your building how cool!

    Have a good weekend Kylie!

  3. I would say cool colors for pillows, like greens, blues, teals. Maybe a dark purple (which you can combine with the greens and blues too!). A bed with drawers underneath would be amazing. We have too man dressers! Yay for your hair fitting in a messy bun with only one bobby pin!!!

    • I stay away from purple and gold (yellow) because my hometown is called Plum and in school our mascot was a mustang, so those were our colors…but my very favorite blanket is a deep purple so maybe that’s the way to go!! Then when I leave the blanket on my bed it will match!

  4. Pingback: Hour By Hour Weekend II | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

