Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Rice Krispy Treats

When I make dessert, I like to give it to friends and family.

You might be thinking, Oh, that’s so sweet of her!

But truthfully, it’s for my own good. If I didn’t give it away, I would likely eat all of it myself. And I only have one other roommate, so I’m not exactly baking for an army at any given time. πŸ˜‰

One of my favorite desserts and/or snacks is a Rice Krispy treat. When I was in elementary school, the brand actually made snack size peanut butter Rice Krispy treats with a layer of chocolate on the bottom. I am proud to say that was my breakfast many mornings before school. Ha! I haven’t seen that flavor in stores for years, so naturally when I sawΒ Mix and Match Mama post this recipe for Peanut Butter Rice Krispies, I was excited and intrigued! I knew this would be the next dessert I whipped up.

IMG_0007

It all started with this jar of peanut butter last weekend. If I was already going to add peanut butter to my recipe, why not make it an even more delicious peanut butter?! I don’t know about you, but I LOVE peanut butter and salted caramel speaks to me. Have you ever had Starbucks Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate? Go get one, then come back and finish reading this post. πŸ™‚

Ingredients

Note: I followed the Original Rice Krispies Recipe found here.

IMG_0074

6 cups Rice Krispies
10 oz marshmallows
3 T butter
1 cup peanut butter of choice

Directions
1. Melt 3 T of butter in a large pot.
2. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
3. Remove from heat and add Rice Krispies. Stir until well coated.
4. Add 1 cup peanut butter. Stir until mixture is smooth.

Note: I recommendΒ adding the peanut butter to the marshmallow mixture and THEN adding the Rice Krispies last. That is what I will do next time I bake these treats!

IMG_0075

I was on the phone with my aunt while I was making these treats so I’m just going to go ahead and tell you that yours will look different because a) I never removed the mixture from the heat and b) I added Rice Krispies before I added marshmallows. I WILL tell you that regardless of the mistakes you make while baking, your treats will be absolutely delicious. πŸ™‚

IMG_0077

Press your mix into a 9×13 baking pan…or if you are me, press your mix into a large Tupperware container and a smaller square container. My friend recently moved to the area so these treats were her and her roommate’s housewarming gift. I didn’t tell her the mistakes I made in baking and she LOVED them!
image

And I would like to take a moment of silence for the Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Rice Krispy treats that still exist in my kitchen. I haven’t demolished them and it’s been five whole days. Willpower, I tell ya. πŸ˜‰

Happy baking!

Are you a peanut butter lover like myself?

What did you eat for breakfast as a kid?

15 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Rice Krispy Treats

  1. Yes to peanut butter! Holla! We were definitely a breakfast family so we ate well when we had the time but do you remember “cereal bars?” They tried to pawn them off as a healthy breakfast to go but no, I recently found that you can sometimes still find them in gas stations and almost couldn’t finish a lucky charms one because it was too sweet!

  2. Hey yo, I posted a recipe for these things with chocolate on top….just think about it. And then once you finish your batch of salted caramel (if I liked caramel i’d try them 😦 ) then make them with chocolate!!! You won’t regret it πŸ˜‰

  3. When I was in elementary school my mother made hot chocolate from Hershey’s cocoa , then she would make toast with butter , and you would dip the toast in the hot chocolate ! Wash it all down with white milk , at the time I thought it was the best.

  4. My friend used to always have those peanut butter with chocolate Rice Krispy Treats and I was always so excited when I got to have one at her house or when she wanted to trade with me at lunch because my mom didn’t buy them! Ha! Salted caramel peanut butter sounds sooo good, and so do these treats! I’ve been craving hot cocoa lately and I forgot about the salted caramel one! I might need to go get one. Now. πŸ™‚

    • Uh oh! I don’t know whether to be ashamed that our mom’s fed us junk food or happy that we got to indulge;) Haha! And we can get salted caramel hot chocolate and pretend it’s Christmas!

  5. Pingback: MCM Training [Week 7] | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

