Tag! I’m It!

Happy Thursday! I am currently at the Jeep dealership getting my car fixed for the second time this week. Car maintenance is so fun #saidnooneever. But what IS fun is getting tagged in blog surveys! Time for some thinking out loud. ๐Ÿ™‚

These questions were sent to me by one of my blogging besties, Molly,ย from Colors of Life. I’m changing the rules a little bit…choose one of these questions/statements and answer it in your comment so I can learn a little bit more about you!

Tell me something most people donโ€™t know about you.

I get the hiccups every night before I go to bed. I have a sixth sense that allows me to escape any and every room approximately ten seconds before someone throws up (Lord help me when I start teaching). I take epilepsy medication even though I don’t have epilepsy. I get migraines that make me pass out. The neurologist likes to call them seizures. I like to call them passing out because that is actually what happens.ย No movement,ย eyes shut = pass out. I really really really hate the word seizure. The triggers are too much time on the computer and not enough sleep, but I can fix this problem by taking medicine and getting eight hours of sleep.ย If I have to do two things in life that make me “normal”, taking a pill and getting enough sleep are fine by me.

Who is one blogger you have to read everyday? (Letโ€™s figure out who weโ€™re missing out on!)

I read WAY too many blogs…it’s starting to get hard to keep up. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have been readingย Hungry Runner Girl andย Peanut Butter Fingers for years, and I just recently found and love to read Morgan’s blog –> The True Life of KMK!

Whatโ€™s the best concert youโ€™ve ever been to?

IMG_2808

I loved Blake Shelton’s concert in Pittsburgh in 2013! My friend Johna and I bought the Country Megaticket that summer, so we had lawn seats at an outdoor amphitheater to see a ton of country artists all summer, from Tim McGraw to Toby Keith to Rascal Flatts. Tim was a great concert but Blake was theย bestย because it was the first concert where he was the headliner. Before, he had always opened for someone else, and now he had people opening for him, and it was HIS show! He was so humbled by it all and he just told great stories while he was up there! Plus I love his music and I went to this concert with Johna, my mom, and my youngest brother. We had a ball. ๐Ÿ™‚

How many kids do you want?

I have two brothers and I think I like the number 3! Or maybe 4 because both of my parents are from families with four siblings (they are both the babies of the family!) and with four, there is technically no middle child. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was just thinking today how weird it would be if all of my children were girls. Not that I don’t know what to do with girls…I love little kids in general so I could certainly hang with a little princess…but with two brothers and lots of male cousins, I definitely want to have a boy!

What/who inspired you to start your blog?

A girl I went to high school with inspired me, actually! Allie would always share her posts to Facebook and I would click over and just read about her life. I wanted to do something like that, but I never really seriously thought about it. Once I started reading running/healthy living blogs in college, then I wanted to take the leap. I definitely didn’t think I could “keep up” with the bigger blogs that I loved to read, but I was still reading Allie’s blog and she seemed “normal” like me so I thought if she can do it, so can I! It’s funny when people ask me when I started blogging because technically I started in May of 2012. And then I started in May of 2013. And then I started in January of 2014. And then I started in January of 2015 and kept going! In the past, days and weeks would go by without a post and then I would feel like I “wasn’t allowed”ย to pick back up again! Which is just plain crazy because it’s my blog so I can do whatever I want. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Planning a semi-consistent posting schedule has made itย so much easier.

Sidenote: My blog is going under construction soon and I need your creative help! If you have an idea for my blog name (besides Kylie McGraw), please send me an email. ๐Ÿ™‚

What are you most proud of?

IMG_2561

I’m most proud of moving to a new place all by myself (like I literally knew zero people) and making a new life. I LOVE my family and I LOVE Pittsburgh, but I have never been away because I went to college downtown. When I graduated from college (which is also a proud accomplishment), I went straight into grad school, so I figured if I was going to do that, I would go somewhere different. I have done so many things in the last year that have changed me in all the best ways and most of them wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t taken a leap of faith and moved. Washington, D.C. is the perfect distance from home because it’s far enough to feel like you’re in a totally different place but close enough that I can go home essentially whenever I want. The plan was to do grad school here and then go home…and then I got a teaching job. So now the plan is when I get married and have kids, I will move back to Pittsburgh. But who really knows! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whatโ€™s your favorite holiday?

IMG_6854

We really like Christmas around here. And I’m not talking just me, I mean my whole family. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_2157ย IMG_2510

We make gingerbread houses…and the icing that holds the house together is thebomb.com. I’ll have to get my mom to share the recipe!!!

IMG_2239ย IMG_2243

We have two trees…one upstairs in the family room and one downstairs in the game room. Both are artificial (though we have had real trees before too) and the tree in the family room is 8 feet tall and sits on a rotating base. Yep, that’s right…we have to decorate every side of that tree because it spins. ๐Ÿ™‚ The tree downstairs is just for fun and has a lot of homemade ornaments on it! I love having a December birthday because my birthday presents are under the tree. ๐Ÿ™‚

get-attachment.aspxย get-attachment.aspx (1)

We bake some of the same recipes every year…and then we always try something new. Candy cane cookies are one of our traditions, but reindeer Nutter Butter cookies with M&M eyes and pretzel antlers were Pinterest’s idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0527

We all hide in our rooms and act like little elves on Christmas Eve Eve to get all of our wrapping done! Even Colby knows he’s supposed to be in on the madness!

IMG_3912ย IMG_0621

And we wear really fashionable clothing, like vests and turtlenecks. Hahaha

IMG_0653

We spend Christmas Eve at my uncle’s (my mom’s brother) house and our parents make us take a picture in order of height with our hand on the person’s shoulder in front of us. This worked really well when we were younger because we were in order by height AND age! I have no idea what happened this year because our heights and ages are all over the place and I looked awkwardly short so my cousin CJ picked me up. Hahaha

If you had to give me one piece of advice what would it be?

It sounds selfish…but the only person that you really need to make happy is yourself. Society and social media and sometimes even our own friends lead us to believe that we should be or need to be doing certain things, and that just isn’t true. You have to live with yourself your whole life, so you better be doing things that make your own self happy!

Also, no one in the real world knows what they’re doing. You know how you think once you finally have that degree or that job you’ve always dreamed of, THEN you will finally have your life figured out? Those things don’t hurt…but adults are honestly like little children in grown up bodies running around trying to make it look like they have their lives together. ๐Ÿ™‚

11033100_10152912579966739_4948569457998577321_n

If you could live off of one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Chips and salsa. Which is what I ate while I laid in my bed and wrote this post. #glamorous

Link to your favorite blog post that youโ€™ve written.

This post is very important to me. In college, I hopped on the crazy calorie counting train. I was the person that sat at the dinner table Google-ing the online menu, because usually that menu would give you a calorie count of each dish. I self-identified as orthorexic because I was absolutely obsessed with only eating the healthiest foods. And it also didn’t help that I worked out a lot and burned off almost everything I ate. I weigh almost 15 pounds more now than I did when I was at my lightest, and though every BMI chart would tell you my lightest weight was considered “healthy”, it certainly wasn’t. I had no muscle, I lost my period, I was always tired, and I craved sugar all the time. I still struggle some days but I am much more balanced now!

21 thoughts on “Tag! I’m It!

  1. I love that advice…I feel like I’m often talking in circles with certain people on that topic and they just never seem to get it. Also chips and salsa!! (insert hallelujah emoji here.) I’d probably say that moving away on my own is my proudest accomplishment too. I’ve done it twice now, and though I was terrified both times I am glad I did.

  2. Best advice ever. I have to say, moving to Baltimore and staying in Baltimore post-grad was a tough decision because I’m not near my family but I’m pretty proud of myself for giving it a shot and staying longer than i planned. I completely relate to what you mean. Love these surveys where you really get a chance to learn about the person behind the screen ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love your bit of advice Kylie! I too feel like I’m convincing others that I’m a ‘real adult’ ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so nice to hear that not everyone has it all figured out, because I certainly don’t!

    I know I always say this but I LOVE DC (funnily enough those are my boyfriend’s initials too!) but it really is such a great town and I feel like it’s small enough to meet nice people but still offers so many things to do!

    • Haha is it bad I sometimes make my mom be me on the phone still?! And I’m sure I’ll sound like you if I ever leave…it really is such a great place! I can’t wait to read all about your new adventures in Seattle, though!

  4. I bought the rotating basis for the tree at an after Christmas sale. We thought it would be fun if the tree Spun. I took it home make sure it worked and then promtly stored itfor next Christmas. It wasn’t until the following Christmas as we began to decorate the tree that your mother said Omg ! We have to decorate the entire tree ! No more backside hiding in the corner for us ! fortunately for us we had plenty of ornaments to do the whole tree ! it turned out great and has every year since !

  5. I think the post you chose as your favorite is the first post of yours I ever read! And I stuck around because you were so honest and real. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lately I’ve had random moments where I get that Christmas feeling and get way too excited. It’s August. My favorite seasons hasn’t even come yet! Ha! I want to make those Nutter Butter reindeer!

    Now, my answer to how many kids I want… I’m one of three biological/four total and Michael is one of three. I was left out during family functions when cousins and stuff came over because I’m so much younger (but then I got to basically be an only child when everyone went off to college), he was left out because he was the only boy. We both want two and Michael says if we have three we have to have another to make it four. NO WAY! I’d be fine with three, even if both of us felt left out. We’d just try to make sure that didn’t happen!

    • Aw really?! And thank you! That means so much to me! There were Christmas songs on in an antique store I was in the other day…my initial thought was “too soon” and then I found myself enjoying it. ๐Ÿ™‚ And your family dynamic sounds like my Dad’s! He was an only child for most of his childhood too because everyone was older! Tell Michael if he’s trying to even the score with babies, he has to carry the fourth one. Hahaha

  6. Lol, that meme is TOTALLY me! Like really. I guess it’s nice to know I’m not the only one! ๐Ÿ˜› So many blogs to check out in one day… You are like the third person today to link to multiple blogs that I haven’t heard of before! I need to check them out! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing them with us! And this was fun getting to know you a bit better!

  7. So many thoughts: moving to a new city is a huge accomplishment. It’s sticking your neck out there like crazy. You’ve seemed to really make the best of it! Also, we’re Christmas loving twins! Love all your Christmas snacks! Finally, love how you shared your struggle with dieting. Really impressed by your ability to be vulnerable. Love these kinds of posts!

    • Thank you!! I just really think it’s important to “own” yourself, even the parts that you aren’t proud of or struggled with. And yay!! Come Christmas we can drive everyone crazy with our posts:)

  8. I love that you and your family are so big on Christmas! Is it too early to be counting down the days? ๐Ÿ˜› And I couldn’t agree more about being the only person you need to be happy. I honestly don’t think happiness is a destination at all, but the mindset that you have on the journey. Hope you’re having a wonderful Thursday!

  9. totally agree with you on the throwing up sixth sense and fear. that is the number one thing I’m afraid of going into teaching haha. and also loved your piece of advice. I think that’s something a lot of people forget (myself included), and I needed to read that tonight. love your blog!

    • Thank you!! That means so much to me! And literally as soon as I hear a child say the words “my stomach”, I say “go to the nurse NOW.” Haha! When I was student teaching, only one student got sick and bless her heart she made it to the trash can. Fingers crossed! We can do it! Lol

  10. There IS so much I don’t know about you. So happy you did this post! I’m proud of you for moving to a new place too. You rock and you’re good at what you do. Plus, you’re still pretty close to home. Win, win!

Leave a Reply

