Banana Oat Cake [Amigo’s 2nd Birthday]

I like to talk food around here on Wednesdays, do I not? Well, today I’m sharing a very different kind of recipe. The kind of recipe you will want to share with your favorite four-legged friend.

IMG_0459

The recipe only includes ingredients that are considered “people food”, so I suppose you could try a taste, too. πŸ˜‰ Our family has a Golden Retriever and my brother, Alex, has a Staffordshire Pitbull Terrier named Amigo. Yesterday, he turned 2! My mom and I looked to our friend Pinterest for dog cake inspiration. We have had lots of success with dog treats and dog cakes in the past…on my Timehop yesterday, there was a picture of Amigo celebrating his 1st birthday.

IMG_0470

If you’ve never baked a cake for your pup, you should give it a try! I guarantee you have all of the ingredients you need in your kitchen already.

Find the original recipe here.

Ingredients

Cake

2 bananas,Β mashed
4 tbsp honey
1 egg
1 cup water
3 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup peanut butter
1 can chicken broth

Toppings

Dog treats of choice
Peanut butter (for icing)

*Note: your dog cannot eat this in one sitting. The original recipe says it serves 24, and I don’t know about your dog, but mine doesn’t have 24 friends. πŸ™‚

Β Directions

Cook time = 1 hour @ 350*F.

IMG_0441

Preheat your oven to 350*F. Mash bananas and add to oats and honey mixture.

IMG_0443

Add peanut butter and flour to the mix and continue combining the ingredients.

IMG_0449

It should look something like this! Where the original recipe called for 2 cups of water, my mom decided we should add 1 cup of water and 1 can of chicken broth…for flavor. I was all for taste testing this cake until we added chicken broth. I’m sure the dogs loved the extra “flavor”…but I don’t know what I think about banana peanut butter oatmeal with chicken broth. πŸ™‚

IMG_0451

Grease baking pans of your choice. You could choose one deeper dish or two smaller ones, as we did. We just had to use the hearts. πŸ™‚

IMG_0455

Bake until your cake passes the toothpick test! When the toothpick comes out clean, your cake has baked all the way through. Transfer to a cooling rack and use peanut butter as your icing.

IMG_0456Β  IMG_0460

We lined the edge with peanut butter and mini Milk Bones and then layered the two cakes!

IMG_0462

Then of course, you can choose to write your dog’s name on the cake and add candles. We did both. πŸ™‚

IMG_0417

You should probably also sing “Happy Birthday” (and yes, Amigo is sitting on a chair)…

IMG_0463

…and let your dog have the first piece of cake, as is birthday custom.

IMG_0464

Then, he can share with his friends. πŸ™‚ And he or she better have a lot of dog friends because you will have LOTS of leftover cake!

Obviously, we like birthdays around here. Jake (my youngest brother) joked that his birthday cake wasn’t even this nice. He was joking…and in my mom’s defense, he requested chocolate chip cookie cake, so it’s hard to make that fancy haha! Besides Amigo’s fancy fancy cake, he was spoiled with peanut butter toast for breakfast, lots of tennis ball throwing in the backyard, and presents that included a squeaky toy, which comes in second on his list of favorite toys (tennis balls take first).

IMG_0405

This was actually funny. The second piece of toast was for Colby and I was taking a video when we had the dogs come over to eat their breakfast. Amigo must have breathed at just the right moment because he looks like he is blowing out the candle in the video! Haha

IMG_0468

And here was our evening game of tennis balls. The dogs got a tennis ball gun for Christmas one year and it was the best present ever…for everyone in the family. The neon green object that I am holding is the gun. You point it at the ground and just grab the tennis ball in the very end of the gun, then pull back on the trigger and it shoots across the yard. Those tennis balls get some serious air and the dogs get so much exercise! Amigo actually really loves chasing the ball and bringing it back to you. Colby really likes getting the ball just so that Amigo can’t have it and then he never brings it back. Worst Golden Retriever ever. Hahaha

IMG_0469

It was getting dark, but here’s an action shot of them chasing the ball I just shot! The orange orb in the middle of this picture is the tennis ball. πŸ˜‰

IMG_3850

Amigo turned 2, but his presents make him look like he turned 72, because he got Hip & Joint treats along with a bone and a squeaky toy. Reason: he sitsΒ like a frog 100% of the time.

IMG_0404Β IMG_4447

Usually, Amigo looks like this…dropping tennis balls on your lap and giving you puppy eyes so you play with him. But last night after we played in the backyard, he looked like this!Β We could not stop laughing at his face. He NEVER looks like this! He needed water and a nap ASAP.Β πŸ™‚ Also, check out his frog legs. Haha!

IMG_5706Β IMG_5705

He has grown so much!

IMG_5843

Happy Birthday, Baby Migo. πŸ™‚ We love you!!!

***

So now that you’ve seen me be a crazy dog aunt, tell me…are you a crazy dogΒ person, too?!

26 thoughts on “Banana Oat Cake [Amigo’s 2nd Birthday]

  1. OMG this is adorable! I probably am not quite a crazy dog person but my family has two back home in Oregon that I usually let in the house more often than I’m supposed too πŸ™‚

  2. I love the picture of Amigo on the chair licking his cake! And him sitting like a frog with his tongue hanging out! AND the picture of him as a tiny puppy in play bow pose…so so cute! It also cracks me up that Colby likes to get the tennis balls just so Amigo can’t have them hahaha. Sounds like something my dogs would do.

  3. We always have been a crazy dog family! Although when I married your mom one of the first things she wanted to know was? What are you going to do with your dog? I was sort of shocked because she had bought me the dog as a christmas present! Well as you know after two weeks of making him sleep in the basement they became best friends and I lost my dog to her! LOL!.She has been dog crazy ever since! I remember the first cake she made for the that dog! It was not dog friendly!!!! I made her clean up the MESS!!!! Although in the dogs defense he did try and make it outside.Anyway,Great pics I just wish you could post the video of Migo blowing out the candle! What are the odds Migo would exhale just then? Good Boy!

  4. Yes, I am a crazy crazy dog person, although I’ve never actually made a cake for them. We have given them special treats, though, like pb in their bowls or getting them a special chew thing. We used to get my sister’s dog presents every year, but as she got older, she stopped playing with toys, and we kind of stopped. Now each birthday is different, although we only really celebrate my dog’s birthday since my sister’s dog’s birthday is the day before a human birthday in the family, so we are pretty focused on that. Plus pretty much all she does is eat and sleep, and her digestive system is very sensitive, so she can’t have much more than just her regular food. I’m trying to convince my sister to get her one of those – gosh I can’t remember their name – the whipped cream in a cup things you can get for dogs at DQ or Starbucks. But my sister is afraid that it will mess up her (the dog’s) digestion. So that is probably way more than you wanted to know about our family dog habits and concerns! πŸ˜€

  5. I’m obsessed with this! We make homemade yogurt treats for my dog in the summer to keep him cool during the super hot days. I think he will be receiving this for his birthday this fall πŸ™‚

  6. So sweet! Chester will be 10 in a couple of weeks. I’ve done dog treats, but since my guys are little (long haired chis), baking a cake is kind of overkill. Maybe we’ll take him for ice cream. πŸ™‚

  7. So stinking cute! My dog got a little vanilla ice cream on his birthday! I’m convinced he has a peanut butter allergy and it’s often hard to find recipes for dogs that don’t involve pb.

  8. Pingback: What’s Up?! [August] | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

