Weekend Recap

This past weekend was full of fun plans, which was perfect for the weekend before I started new teacher training. My weekend started on Friday morning in my Mom’s kitchen with her impressive number of K-Cups. So many flavors. So much yum. My favorite was Dunkin Donuts French Vanilla. πŸ™‚ With a little splash of vanilla almond milk, it was even more perfect!IMG_0558

Then, I started my drive back to DC in my new favorite shirt. The drive to and from Pittsburgh is essentially a straight shot which makes it kind of boring, especially when you are driving aloneΒ asΒ I do most of the time. I was entertained on this trip by 90s and 00s rap music and the podcast Undisclosed. πŸ™‚

IMG_0563

My Dad bought me a bunch of supplies for my classroom and he threw this bag of candy corn in the box. I opened the bag on Friday afternoon and it was gone on Monday night. I don’t know whether I love or hate my Dad for this purchase haha! I didn’t develop an addiction to candy corn until my 21st year of life. I don’t know why I love it so much! My favorite Spanish teacher in high school just posted a picture on Facebook about how candy corn tastes like wax…how sad that she thinks that. πŸ˜‰

Β IMG_0576

On Friday night, I drove up to Baltimore to celebrate my friend Shannon’s birthday with her and some of her other friends! Shannon and I met at church in DC but lots of her friends that came out with us are her coworkers at Anthropologie. I lovingly became known as “the friend from DC” because everyone kept asking if I worked at Anthro. Just for the discount, I wish!!! Haha

IMG_0594

On the drive up, I got stuck in some bumper to bumper traffic, but I caught views like this…

IMG_0578

…and the sunset only got better. πŸ™‚

IMG_0585

We met Shannon’s friends at Max’s Taphouse in Fells Point. There were 112 beers on the menu and Shannon raved about the strawberry flavor! I love fruity drinks, and I have loved pineapple beer when I’ve tasted it in the past, but of course they didn’t have it at this place. I tried a raspberry wheat beer and another called “Son of a Peach”. They were both so sweet I had to sip water in between sips of beer. Next time, I’ll stick to something I know!

IMG_0588

Shannon just got back from a two week mission trip in Zambia with our church so it was great to spend her birthday with her!

IMG_0610Β IMG_0611Β IMG_0612

She got me a bracelet that kind of reminds me of a Vera Bradley pattern, but obviously much fancier because it’s from Africa! πŸ™‚

IMG_0593

I slept at Shannon’s house on Friday night because even though we weren’t out very late, the drive back to DC was seeming very long and dark. πŸ™‚ On Saturday morning, I woke up and headed back home. While I was getting ready to go down to the gym to work out, I got this text…

Β IMG_0595

…at least I know one person reads my blog on the daily. πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, my mom was sending me pictures of my dogs, who are her babies. The proof is seen in these photos. She let them go “swimming” in our hot tub. Lucky dogs!

IMG_0608

IMG_0609

On Saturday afternoon, I felt like Bob the Builder. I spent the afternoon hanging pictures on the walls in my room. My pictures aren’t so great because I was just snapping photos as I went so I could text my parents, so I’ll have to take better ones to share with you! You know, ones where the pillows aren’t tipped overΒ and the toolbox isn’t wide open on my bed. Ha!

Β Β  Β  Β IMG_0616

Shannon was coming to DC on Saturday night to go to dinner with me, Sarah, and two of Sarah’s friends. I was texting Randi 74 different outfit choices because I consider her my most fashionable friend;) From 5:45 to 7:10, I was honestly picking out clothes, getting dressed, looking in the mirror, and then ripping those same clothes back off. I need to do a serious closet clean-out so that I only have my favorite pieces to choose from. Then the getting dressed process will seem much easier! Side note: I did not wear this outfit. πŸ™‚

IMG_0620

We ate dinner at Paolo’s in Georgetown and I ordered eggplant parmesan. It was TINY, which I should have expected because it was an appetizer, but the waitress claimed I would be full. Obviously she has never met me. Luckily, Sarah shared her pizza!

FullSizeRender

We went back to Sarah’s apartment to hang out before we went to another local place for drinks. Sarah went to college on a full scholarship for playing the harp and she has a beautiful harp in her living room! We forced her to play for us. πŸ™‚ I was so impressed! It sounds like “piano music” but it’s obviously much different. I played the piano and violin when I was younger, but it was just for a few years, so it was really cool to see someone so talented play their instrument!

Β  IMG_0630Β IMG_0635

We went to a place called Whitlow’s and it had a rooftop bar, which was so fun on a warm summer night! We asked Tim and Alex to take a picture of us and while they DID take about five pictures of us in a row, they also snuck in a selfie of themselves. πŸ˜‰

Β Β IMG_0644

Sunday morning, Sarah and Shannon picked me up and we headed to church. First we made a stop at District Doughnut for coffee and/or doughnuts and then we headed to the service. I was so excited to go to church this week because our lead pastor was on sabbatical this summer. He hasn’t taken a vacation in the 19 years since he started National Community Church! So this summer, he took three months off with his family and friends. NCC has seven locations and there is a different campus pastor at each one, so we do occasionally hear another pastor speak, but it was different not to hear from Pastor Mark for three whole months! He told us stories of his time off and talked about taking action in your life. I love hearing him speak! You can listen to the sermon hereΒ or search ‘National Community Church’ in the Podcast app on your phone. πŸ™‚

IMG_0650

My family has season tickets to the Steelers, so on Sunday, my Dad and my brothers went to the Steelers vs. Packers game in Pittsburgh. Heinz Field used to be shaped like a U, and recently they added seats in the open end of the end zone. It looks so different now!

IMG_0649

In my Steelers shirt, I was disappointed to find I didn’t get the channel that the game was on. #outofstateproblems Lucky for me and my shirt, a fellow Steelers fan worked at Target and gave me $10 off my transaction because he knew I was a fan, too. As if I didn’t love Target already!

IMG_0646

One more weekend find to share with you: these chocolate crunchy chickpeas. They remind me of granola and are so good with yogurt!Β A random Marshall’s find. Yum!

Happy Tuesday!

16 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Marshalls turned me on to Good Bean, too. They’re great! They make bars, too, which are very good.

    I know some people who use candy corn for fuel during runs. I tried it once — it’s really just too surgary for me now, and I have a wicked sweet tooth.

    Remember how I told you my parents do watch what I eat? Even though I’m 53? Yeah, my father commented that I was eating a lot of Friday nigh. 2 drumsticks, veggies & roast potatoes. No ice cream afterwards. A full plate. Yes, I ran 8 miles that morning. And then drove 90 minutes down to help them. And he still watches what I eat. And he’s the one who is heavy! Sigh.

    I was so glad I brought my own breakfasts & lunches or else I would have been starving. Bagels & deli sandwiches really don’t do it for me. I need my veggies!

    • Aw! He is just looking out for you! But after 8 miles and a hard working day you need to refuel:) I think candy corn on a run would be way to sugary for me too! And now I want to find the Good Bean bars!

  2. Candy corn…that should have gone on my list of things I hate, I’m surprised my old roommates didn’t call me out on that one. Looks like you had a very full, fun weekend! Love that bracelet!

  3. Gorgeous sunset! I love beautiful sunsets. πŸ˜€ Have you ever had peanuts and candy corn together? I’m not a huge fan of candy corn plain, but with peanuts it is SO good. It’s sweet and salty goodness in a bowl (or whatever). Lol, in your first two pictures of your bracelet, I was looking at your nails! They are so pretty (both the bracelet and your nails)!

    • YES! One of my favorite bloggers wrote about peanuts and candy corn a few years ago and it was the best thing I ever read hahaha

      And thank you! I was nervous to pick a dark color for my nails but I like it now!

  4. What a fun weekend!! Ummm the best candy (which a lot of people tend to disagree with but they’re crazy) is by far are the pumpkins in the mixed bag of candy corn. I just don’t like the chocolate flavor. But pure sugar is the absolute best. Impressed the bag made it until Monday… it would have had a lifespan of 24 hours in my apartment πŸ™‚

  5. I didn’t realize you could get a scholarship for playing the harp! I mean it makes sense, I just never thought about it. Those chocolate chickpeas sound delicious! Michael is a die hard Packers fan. They’re doomed now that Jordy Nelson is out.

  6. Pingback: 2015: A Year In Review | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

