What’s Up?! [August]

I love to reflect on what I’m doing and I love hearing about what is going on in other people’s lives, so this link up is one of my favorites! 🙂 Join Mel, Shay, and Sheaffer on the last Wednesday of every month to share what’s up with YOU!

whatsupwed1

What I’m eating this week:

IMG_0660

“Back to school, back to school, to prove to Dad I’m not a fool…” #youknowyousangalong

I’m not QUITE back to school yet, but I am at teacher training all day long so I prepared salads and snacks for the week on Sunday night. There is spinach and broccoli slaw in each salad container, and then the night before, I add my salad toppings: chicken, turkey, cheese, nuts, etc. Whatever I am feeling! I also put dressing in a separate mini container  AND I put paper towels in all containers/bags that have vegetables in them to soak up the moisture so they stay fresh. 🙂

What I’m reminiscing about:

get-attachment.aspx

I’m doing a lot of thinking about how to welcome my kiddos to second grade…but wasn’t I just a little person myself?! When did I gain all of this responsibility?!

get-attachment.aspx (1)

It’s equal parts exciting and terrifying. 🙂 P.S. Don’t mind my super short hair cut…I don’t know what 4th grade me was thinking. Hahaha

What I’m loving: 

IMG_0301

Sitting on my balcony and reading or blogging or just watching the sun go down. Last night, I read until I couldn’t see. 🙂

What I’ve been up to:

I’ve been learning how to wake up early, put on real clothes, and be a first year teacher.

IMG_0673 IMG_0705

What I’m dreading:

On Sunday, I get to try running again. I hope it doesn’t hurt. The stationary bike is so dang boring!

What I’m working on:

Mentally organizing my classroom (I can get in on Friday!) and trying to make time to read for fun every day.

What I’m excited about:

The first day of school!

What I’m watching/reading:

I’m always a fan of anything Bachelor related and Extreme Weight Loss. The Bachelor is just mindless and entertaining, but Extreme Weight Loss is so inspiring. I love working out and eating healthy so watching other people discover their love for that makes me happy! I’m reading Bookends by Jane Green, Innocent In Las Vegas by A.R. Winters, and The First Six Weeks of School by Paula Denton & Roxanne Kriete. I’m sure you don’t want to read that one, but I’m just keepin’ it real over here. 😉

What I’m listening to:

This is on Pandora right now!

What I’m wearing:

IMG_0706

These fun pants from Gap (I got them last year!) and new flats from Old Navy. Old Navy is having a HUGE sale right now for back to school and I was so excited to find these flats for $12. I was also excited that they fit because I wear a size 10 or 11 in shoes…it depends on who makes them. I can get away with Old Navy flip flops but their shoes don’t typically fit me. Did my feet shrink!? We will never know…but I love these. 🙂

What I’m doing this weekend:

I have no big plans yet! There is a free workout at the new Chelsea Collective store at the mall that I want to go to and then I’ll go to church on Sunday with my friends. Other than that, I’ll relax and/or make plans as I go!

What I’m looking forward to next month:

IMG_5065_2

My Dad’s birthday is September 1 and my brother Alex turns 21 on September 14! You know how much I love to celebrate birthdays, so even though I won’t see them for their birthdays, I’m excited to celebrate long distance and send them gifts!

What else is new:

IMG_0313

I reclaimed my car when I took all of these boxes to my classroom two weeks ago…and then somehow, I filled my car back up again. With more things that my classroom “needs”. I can’t wait to reclaim my car AGAIN. And take pictures of my newly organized room. Stuff, be gone!

Bonus Question: What’s your favorite back-to-school tradition?

 IMG_3464

We always take first day of school pictures! This is from 2013 so I was a senior in college, Jake was a freshman in high school, and my mom was going to her twenty-something year of kindergarten. 😉 The first day of school picture is extra fun because we always get a new outfit!

IMG_6737

And of course, we get new shoes. Jake was just asking my mom about his “school shoes” when I was home visiting last week. When we were younger, we always got a pair of tennis shoes, which we actually probably needed because we were growing. Now it’s just fun to get new shoes! Last year for my first year of grad school, I bought Toms wedges. 🙂

I currently have no idea what I’m wearing on the first day of school and my Old Navy flats don’t count as my new school shoes because they were an impulse purchase haha! I need to get to shopping. 🙂

WUWquestions

Happy Wednesday! What’s up with you!?

15 thoughts on “What’s Up?! [August]

  1. I love all of the excitement in this post. You are going to be one amazing teacher… for so many reasons! You’re hard working, smart, kind, I can tell you love what you do, and you’ve had a great example in your mom while growing up. I cannot wait to hear about your first day and how YOUR class is!!! Love the throwback Kylie pictures! You were so precious!

  2. You must look up mason jar salads! They are the bomb – all in one container, make ahead, no sogginess.

    Oh, and my Dad & the food comments? Not looking out for me. Flaming controlling narcissist. Ask my husband.

  3. I always loved back to school shopping – now it’s just boring “ugh I need this for work” shopping haha. The next few weeks will be so exciting… very happy for you! Hope you have a fabulous Wednesday!!

  4. Love that song, hadn’t heard it yet! And looking forward to hearing about your experience at a first year teacher! Two of my best friends teach music and health, and they always have the best stories! Good luck!

  5. Those pants are super fun! I love them! And your Toms booties. I need a pair eventually. And OH MY GOSH I wear size 11!!!!! So glad I’m not alone. Except I wish I could wear 10 sometimes. So many shoes aren’t made in 11 and it makes me sad!

Leave a Reply

