Friday Favorites

Ya know, there’s just nothing better than the Friday before a long weekend. My favorite day of the week is actually Thursday, but Friday miiiiight be taking its place this week. Thursday was quite the long (but accomplished) day! I attempted to eat dinner on my patio after being inside all day but it was SO hot. Somehow I ended up in bed. At 6:30. With my dinner. So there’s that.

You should know I did get up to go running at 8 PM. It was either that or fall into a dead sleep and I ate way too much candy corn yesterday for that to happen. πŸ˜‰ In other news, my leg is feeling better, so I’m a happy girl!

Let’s talk fall food. I know you are thinking that I am going to mention something healthy, but alas, I am not. My favorite fall-inspired eats this week were:

IMG_0881

Pumpkin spice creamer AND…

IMG_0963

…peanut butter cup candy corn. So wrong. So very wrong. But so right. πŸ˜‰ Sometimes a girl just needs a little sugar rush on the drive home from work, am I right?!

Life is all about balance, so I balanced out those sugar rushes with my version of a Cobb salad.

IMG_0888

I packed spinach and shredded carrots in five containers on Sunday night. I wrapped cucumbers in plastic wrap and threw those in each of the five containers, too. In the morning, I would put turkey breast, shredded cheese, and a hard boiled egg on top. A delicious lunch this week. πŸ™‚ Although it did make an appearance for dinner one night. My school has been great about providing lunch for us during in-service and clerical days! On Monday, the PTA ordered food from a local Italian restaurant and on Thursday, a local church that we partner with brought ALL homemade food. Chicken breast, salad, pesto pasta, cut up fruit, and desserts GALORE. Costco kale salad made an appearance on the table, but we can just forget that one wasn’t made at home. πŸ˜‰ This was my very favorite lunch. The pastor was a master chef as he grilled all the chicken and made two cheesecakes! I can speak to the fact that his chicken was delicious, but I did not try his cheesecake. I tried a bourbon brownie and a toffee bar. #allthedesserts #yesplease

IMG_0867

Besides the delicious salads I’ve made for myself and the lunches provided for me at work, I ate my favorite easy meal…turkey, spinach, and cheese wraps with cut up peppers and JalapeΓ±o Greek Yogurt Dip. Listen, these wraps are from Trader Joe’s and they are SO good. But Trader Joe’s knows what they are doing because the JalapeΓ±o dip is also amazing! I wanted to buy something other than hummus and this seemed to fit the bill. It reminds me of queso, but it is obviously a thinner consistency. It is so good! You must try it!

IMG_0868

On a completely unrelated note, this Snapchat made me laugh out loud. It’s kind of hard to see, but I tried to make the picture bigger! Anyways, the sign says, “Jess Homecoming?” The “Prom-posals” and fancy Homecoming requests became popularΒ after I left high school because I was asked to the majority of dances via text message. Hahaha! Senior year, three of my guy friends asked me and two of my girlfriends to Homecoming with sparklers which was so fun! But nothing to the extent of our names on a sign. I hope this girl said yes!

Things that made me really happy this week:

IMG_0942

The moon was RED on Monday night and I was working out in DC so I got to see it up close and personal! Sort of. As we were leaving the Lincoln Memorial, we looked down the Mall and I mentioned that I thought I saw fireworks. After walking a little closer and trying to figure out what we were looking at, we heard a Segway tour guide tell his tourists that they would have plenty of time to take pictures of the red moon later that night. Then I had to Google “red moon”. Then I took lots of pictures. πŸ™‚

IMG_0967

My mom sent me this adorable picture of Colby “telling” Amigo a secret! Amigo is having surgery this morning to have a spot removed on his chest. I’m praying for an easy surgery and good news about the results of the tests. The vet wants to test to make sure it’s not cancer. My mom said he has been acting pretty normal, so we are hoping for the best!

IMG_0886

The staff all received this gift bag full of “treats” as our welcome back to school. There was a notebook, a pen, sunglasses, colored index cards, a coil bracelet, a slinky, and a bottle of water, all representing different things that will inspire us this year. Think colored notecards = diversity, coil bracelet = never ending learning, etc. πŸ™‚IMG_0887

Β I was sitting with the first grade team and my second grade teammates and we were quite the handful. The slinky representing flexibility became a toy mid-afternoon when our attention was wavering (yes, we were those people!), but I just thought it was so thoughtful for the principal and assistant principal to do this for all of us!

IMG_1001

IΒ won this vase at lunch the other day. I never win anything. πŸ˜‰ There were center pieces at each table made with various school supplies. Some had crayons, some had pencils, and some were painted mason jars with pencils as the flowers. They had flower toppers on the pencils so it really looked like a bouquet! Anyways, we were all handed a ticket when we got to the cafeteria and they called numbers after we ate lunch. It was kind of first come, first serve. When your number was called, you could choose from any of the centerpieces that were left. I really wanted this crayon vase and my number was called pretty early, but I still jumped up like a fool and screamed, “Oh! Me! Me! I need the crayons!” Ha!

IMG_0998

My aunt made my 5 Minute Pumpkin Oatmeal recipe! She is a faithful blog reader and usually sends me a text after she reads my post in the morning, so I was super excited to see that she not only read my post, but also decided I had a good idea! Haha

IMG_1012

This group text is me and my friends from college. Me, Johna, Lindsey, Niko, and John. I left them all in Pittsburgh when I moved to DC, but Lindsey just moved here for a teaching job too so now I have one of my friends back. πŸ˜‰ I have no idea how this shoe picture tradition started, but one day, when someone was bored at work, they sent a picture of the shoes they were wearing and asked what we were wearing that day. Now, we will randomly still do this once every few days! Niko was wearing awesome shoes the other day. I mean, look at that pattern!
IMG_1011

John was in his comfy shoes and I was wearing sandals from Marshalls that I swear got compliments from at least four other teachers! They are just simple brown and black sandals that were probably $19.99 and everyone wanted to know where they were from! The best purchases are always like that. πŸ™‚

IMG_1009

Finally, running at night. Running itself is exciting for me right now. Luckily,Β I never feel alone or scared because there are a ton of people eating at outdoor restaurants, walking home from work, or ALSO out running when I run at this time. My favorite.

***

Bloggers, looking for a link-up? Click over to any one of these amazing blogs to join us for Friday Favorites!

fridayfavoritesfriday-favorite-link-up-botton-life-in-leggingsvalentineohheyfriday_zps0d5af58211Friday Favorites

14 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Wait, peanut butter cup candy corn?! That’s amazing! Such a great invention, haha. Of course, I want to try that coffee creamer, too! I think I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow, so I’ll have to put it on my list! (I always feel like Santa when I say that…makin’ a list.. checking it twice… okay, I’m done!). I love how organized you are with your lunches. I need to get on that boat. I am always rushing before work, like okay… are there leftovers? Random freezer meals? LOL at the Eat n’ Park sign! Kids these days!

    Also, that red moon. Amazing. God = good! I hope Amigo’s surgery goes well! Him acting normal is definitely a good sign! Love that picture of him and Colby, too :).

  2. That moon is incredible. And especially with the monument …. awesome! Definitely a pretty cool environment to work out in πŸ™‚ And I totally love the crayon vase… so adorable πŸ™‚ Hope you have a fabulous long weekend!!! Enjoy that candy corn (now I have to go get some…)

  3. Sounds like you had a great week!

    PB cups & candy corn just don’t sound good to me. I really liked candy corn when I was young, but now it’s just a bit too sweet for me & I have quite the sweet tooth!

    That’s great that you can run at night & feel safe.

  4. So glad your leg is feeling better! Wait, when I was in high school I got asked to dances in a bunch of fun ways!! One guy put it at the end of his slideshow FOR CLASS. OMG I was mortified. I was sooo shy in high school and I was like a freshman or sophomore and he was two years older and THE WHOLE CLASS. Hahaha. I was stoked because I had a crush on him, but still. πŸ˜‰ And I went bowling with a group of friends and one guy put it on the screen that shows scores. One guy let me wear his extra jersey for our homecoming game so he dropped it off at my house and left, but when I opened it there was a note taped to it asking me. And finally, somehow one guy got my best friend to get my car keys from me (without me being suspicious) and left roses and tickets to the dance in my car!

Leave a Reply

