September Blog Challenge [Late To The Party]

Today is a wonderful day in the life of me. 😉 I woke up and went for a run, there is no where that I absolutely have to be, I’m lounging around making spur of the moment plans, and it’s a 3 day weekend. What could be better!?
.
I was really excited to sort of come up with a “schedule” for my blog this summer. I have had this blog since 2012 and I could never keep up with it until January of this year! I always struggled with what to write about and I feared posting after NOT posting for so long. I don’t know how I got over either of those things, but now writing on this blog is one of my favorite things to do. Since starting my new job, I feel like I haven’t found a great balance in writing this blog and reading/commenting on other blogs. I want to step up my commenting game because I love reading and connecting with those writers!
.
As I was catching up with blogs today, I was reading one of my favorites and I saw that she is participating in a September challenge. I absolutely LOVE this idea, so I am jumping on the bandwagon even though it’s been happening for a few days already. You should join in, too!
.
blogtemberbutton
.
Here are the prompts if you are interested or curious about what will be coming in the next few weeks. 🙂 Read more about this challenge over on Bailey Jean’s blog!
.
The Blog-tember Daily Prompts:

Tuesday, Sept. 1: Introduce yourself however you like! Pics, vlog, collage, your choice 🙂
Wednesday, Sept. 2: Describe your ideal day. Where would you go and what would you do?
Thursday, Sept. 3: Create a collage or inspiration/mood board that describes your blog.
Friday, Sept. 4: What are you passionate about?
Saturday, Sept. 5: Put your iTunes/music player on shuffle and share the first 10 songs that play.
Sunday, Sept. 6: Share your style. What fashion trends do you love, frequent, or avoid?
Monday, Sept. 7: Tell us about your blog name. Where did it come from?
Tuesday, Sept. 8: Tell us about your favorite season. Why is it your favorite and what does it say about you?
Wednesday, Sept. 9: Write a letter to sixteen-year-old you. Any advice or funny stories?
Thursday, Sept. 10: 10 items off your bucket list. If you haven’t made one, now’s a good time to start!
Friday, Sept. 11: It’s a Friday night and you decide to stay in. What do you do?
Saturday, Sept. 12: What are you up to currently? I have examples here and here.
Sunday, Sept. 13: Create a collage or inspiration/mood board for this season in your life.
Monday, Sept. 14: The 5 books that have impacted your life the most.
Tuesday, Sept. 15: What’s in your bag? Pick up your purse and peruse its contents, then share with us!
Wednesday, Sept. 16: The real you vs. the online you. Are they the same or different?
Thursday, Sept. 17: Just for fun, your latest obsession. What can you not get enough of these days?
Friday, Sept. 18: Record a VLOG! It can be about anything you’d like!
Saturday, Sept. 19: Tell us about one of the best days of your life.
Sunday, Sept. 20: It’s guilty pleasure time! Shows, books, songs, foods, whatever it may be.
Monday, Sept. 21: A favorite quote/expression and how it has impacted you.
Tuesday, Sept. 22: Get creative! Sketch, paint, dance, play music, whatever then give us a glimpse.
Wednesday, Sept. 23: Grab a guest post. Recruit a friend or fellow blogger to share on your space for the day.
Thursday, Sept. 24: Shout out five of your favorite bloggers. Who are your regular reads?
Friday, Sept. 25: Three songs you are connecting with right now.
Saturday, Sept. 26: What’s on your to-reading list, and what have you recently read? 
Sunday, Sept. 27: What’s on your wish list? Be sure to include links so we can shop too 😉
Monday, Sept. 28: A day in the life. Take us through it with you.
Tuesday, Sept. 29: Write your own list of 10 blog topics to inspire us next month.
Wednesday, Sept. 30: A farewell coffee date. Take some time to breath, sip a warm drink, and share with your new blogging buddies. If you’d like a prompt: how did the Blog-tember Challenge go for you? Any surprises? What was your favorite prompt, or what would you like to see included next time?

***

I’m going to start with a quick introduction since I’m late to the party!

IMG_8294

I’m Kylie and I love Jesus, my little brothers (Alex and Jake), running, coffee, food (eating and baking), and my dogs.

10606353_10204766336376204_6707568915100211709_n IMG_6567

IMG_9306 (1)

My family has an almost three year old Golden Retriever named Colby. He has quite the personality and since he is the baby of the family, he can be a bit spoiled. 😉 He is so lovable and playful and he LOVES sitting as close to you as humanly possible. No personal space with Colby!

IMG_9074

My brother, Alex, has a Staffordshire Pitbull Terrier named Amigo. He just turned two and he is the smartest dog ever! We really think that he would talk to us if he could. 😉 He literally turns his head sideways to listen to us when we are talking and he LOVES tennis balls, as seen above.

A few other things about me: I’m happiest at the beach. I love to read. I live in right outside of DC and I am about to start my first year of teaching in a second grade classroom! I’m also finishing grad school at UMD and attempting to have a social life while I do so;) so I feel like this blog gives me time to relax and be creative. 🙂

NOW for Saturday’s post!

***

Saturday, Sept. 5: Put your iTunes/music player on shuffle and share the first 10 songs that play.

This is going to be fun. I have a very random taste in music. When I say “I like it all”, I am being totally serious. Let’s see what shuffle comes up with!

Insomnia – Audien feat. Parson James

I’m not a huge fan of EDM (even though I said I love everything), but I love songs that sing a little bit and then break down a little bit. Is that the right terminology for what happens in this song?! Haha! I have never heard of these artists before but the singer’s voice is very familiar to me. I can’t figure out who it reminds me of!

Sorry 4 The Wait – Lil Wayne

This song is a very bad representation of me *insert monkey with hands over his eyes emoji* Sometimes, I am just in the mood to listen to rap…but I can’t remember the last time I listened to this song and as it played this morning, I couldn’t help but notice how often I heard swear words! I’m ashamed of my younger self haha!

The Girl’s A Straight Up Hustler – All Time Low

This band reminds me of freshman and sophomore year of high school. My friends and I loved listening to bands that “no one” else listened to. I may have even rocked some shirts from Hot Topic (the only store that sold shirts with these artists on them) and that is about as far away from my fashion sense as we can get! I don’t claim to be a fashionista, but I’m definitely more preppy. One of my best friends in high school loved this song and I don’t remember it being one of my favorites, but I have the whole album in iTunes, so thanks for the memories, shuffle. 🙂

I’ll Be There – Mac Miller feat. Phonte

I’m from Pittsburgh, so of course I have some “hometown” artists in my music library like Wiz Khalifa and Mac Miller;) These songs are always agreed upon in the car with my brothers. They like rap music that I can’t even begin to understand or decipher, but we can all agree on and appreciate some Mac Miller or Wiz. And to be honest, I really like both of those artists myself! They are a little less vulgar than the Lil Wayne song mentioned above. 🙂

Every Other Time – LFO

Omg. I had a CD called “Totally Hits 2001” and that’s how this song ended up in my library. VIVID memories of singing this song and rearranging the furniture in my room when I was 10 or 11 years old. I associate songs with the weirdest memories!

1994 – Jason Aldean

During the summers of 2013 and 2014, I bought the Country Megaticket in Pittsburgh. This meant I had lawn seats to see 8 different country concerts all summer long. It was so much fun! The summer of 2014, Jason Aldean actually played at PNC Park instead of the outdoor amphitheater where the other concerts were. Our seats were way up in the heavens because we had cheap tickets from the Megaticket, but this concert was way too much fun. It was me, my cousin CJ, and two of my best friends. We ate tailgated, met up with a bunch of different groups of friends who were also having tailgates, got rained on during the concert, and went out for pizza after the concert. It was the best! Julianne and I still joke about who the heck”Joe Diffie” is. We have obviously Google-ed him, but that’s the name Jason Aldean mentions in this song several times and we find it so funny!

Let Her Go – Passenger

Courtesy of the chill station on Pandora I reserve for the hours of 8-10 PM before I go to bed. 🙂

Just Can’t Get Enough – Black Eyed Peas

Just fun. 🙂

Knee Deep – Zac Brown Band

This reminds me of summer and my mom! She loves this song!

Feel So Close Remix – Calvin Harris feat. Benny Benassi

I’m a certified Spinning instructor so I like popular songs that are a little bit longer than radio edits because they work better during transitions and such in class! “Feel So Close” was my JAM in college!

10 thoughts on “September Blog Challenge [Late To The Party]

Leave a Reply

