Style Sunday [Blog-tember Challenge Day 6]

Happy Sunday!

September 6: Share your style. What fashion trends do you love, frequent, or avoid?

blogtemberbutton

This prompt initially stumped me a little bit because although I love to shop, I don’t necessarily feel like I have one particular style that I stick to…or any style for that matter. 😉 I went shopping today with my friend Kristen and I realized that I like to shop for pieces that catch my attention. If it’s just a “regular” old shirt or pair of pants, I probably will not be drawn to it. This has its positives and negatives. Positives: I wear bold patterns. Negatives: not much of my closet matches and I find myself saying ‘I have nothing to wear’ way too often!

bc78db1495137bea81e149ff92e8b31e

This pin (follow me on Pinterest here!) is a perfect example of a trend that I love and frequent. I have four or five chambray/jean shirts in my closet. All of them are necessary because they are all a little bit different. 🙂 And these shorts are comfy, have pockets, and make the outfit look put together. It’s ironic that I pinned this recently because I wore an outfit very similar to this pin to a country concert a few years ago!

IMG_3219

I would love if it were socially acceptable to wear running clothes in every circumstance of life. I have a huge wardrobe when it comes to workout clothes, but I truly do wear all of those pieces, so that is how I justify my problem! Ha!

IMG_6453

 This need to be comfy while working out translates to my “real life” clothes as well.

IMG_0844

I love patterned dresses that I can just throw on for an instant outfit.

IMG_9119

I love shorts that have a little bit of personality to them so my top half doesn’t have to be as dressed up. My stack of shorts is 90% patterned! These white shorts have hints of a silver pattern all over them, so they are super easy to wear with a plain top.

IMG_0705

Patterned pants are (also) where it’s at.

IMG_8250

I love “blouse-y” tops that can be dressed up or dressed down depending on the occasion. In recent years, I have refrained from buying certain pieces unless I know I can wear them in multiple situations. For example, I have some crop tops that I love and have worn all summer, but they are not appropriate in my life a second grade teacher, so any other crop tops I see in stores will have to stay on the rack. 🙂

IMG_8852

And of course I love leggings. Love.

e417afe1e662b81a832220165ebaa66e

I recently pinned the above image for inspiration to figure out just HOW my closet does in fact match! Hopefully I will be able to mix and match some pieces to create outfits I haven’t thought of myself yet. And if I can’t do that, then more shopping must be in order, right?! 🙂

One trend that I find myself avoiding is turtlenecks, whether mock or real, or anything collared. I wore too many turtlenecks as a kid to be ready for their comeback just yet! And as for the collars, I just don’t feel like I can pull them off. A trend that I LOVE but sometimes find myself avoiding is harem pants.

  e66c169edd637bde7c80b165d87d0cff

They are so comfortable and I love the look, but depending on the store, they don’t always look right on me. I’m 5’9″ and the cropped style of harem pants sometimes looks a little TOO cropped on my long legs! I currently have one pair, but I’m on the lookout for more!

So tell me…what is your style like? Are you a pattern person like me, or is your closet full of more solid colors? We might have to swap pieces if that is the case! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Style Sunday [Blog-tember Challenge Day 6]

  1. Well, I would probably only be able to fit one leg in, not to mention I’m only 5’1″ so I guess no swapping.

    For many years I was very heavy and of course wore a lot of black. Then I lost a fair amount of weight and now I love bright colors – emerald green, fuschia, teal & purple are favorites.

    I’m really, really, really good at matching up stuff. I can buy something a decade ago and match it to what I just bought yesterday.

    But I live in upstate NY so turtlenecks are a must most of the winter!

  2. Blouse-y tops are my fave! I always pick crazy patterns, too, and then I’m like so…. do I have anything to match this?! I love dresses, too. They’re so comfy and easy! And of course, workout clothes are the bomb!!

  3. Pingback: Online Me Vs. Real Me [Day 16] | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

