Seasons of Love [Blog-tember Challenge Day 8]

Tuesday, September 8: Tell us about your favorite season. Why is it your favorite and what does it say about you?

Linking up here.

It’s hard for me to say that one season is better than another. For me, I think there is something awesome that happens during every season…whether we are talking about a season defined by weather or a season of life.

Spring is literally a breath of fresh air after the long winter. In Pittsburgh, we don’t start seeing warm days until late April or early May. This makes you so appreciative of blooming flowers, sunshine, and wearing a light jacket instead of your bulky winter coat!

IMG_2793

Lots of moments in my life are defined with my running shoes.

IMG_2642

I love the traditions that come along with holidays in the Spring, like Easter. Egg dying and uplifting songs at church are my favorite!

Moving from Spring to Summer is almost effortless in Pittsburgh. Spring doesn’t actually really exist…we go from cold to hot with little to no transition! The weather in DC is a bit more typical of four seasons, but weather aside, summer comes with such excitement. My mom is a teacher so she was always home with my brothers and I in the summer and that was so special for us.

IMG_1896

We always looked forward to trips to amusement parks…and hey, we still do!

IMG_2131

You can do simple, yet fun things like go to carnivals, visit farmer’s markets, take long walks, and pick berries.

IMG_0618

And of course, I could spend the entire summer in Wildwood if it was possible. One of these days that dream will be a reality for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ The ocean is just soothing. You cannot help but feel relaxed when you are on the beach! As you make it halfway through the year, it feels good to recharge with sun, sand, family, and friends.

IMG_4082

Then, there is the beloved fall. Fall is the beginning of the year for me. My brain works like a school calendar, which is beneficial because I am a teacher. ๐Ÿ™‚ August and September are the months that I am winding down from summer and setting new goals for myself for the coming year.

IMG_4540

Just as I was so excited in summer to do #allthethings, come Fall, I am ready to make another bucket list. I want to go to apple festivals, visit the pumpkin patch, celebrate Halloween, and bake with seasonal flavors! I am also always ready for a change in wardrobe. Shorts and tank tops are comfortable, but I could live my life in pajamas, so I love the coziness factor that comes with scarves and boots and sweaters!

IMG_2066

And of course, I love the weather. I mentioned that in Pittsburgh, the weather tends to skip right over Spring and go right from cold to hot. DC makes no mistake about letting you know that it is summer. #hellohumidity The crisp fall air is REAL and it makes running so much more fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2157

Is there anything happier than the holiday season? Whether you celebrate Christmas or not, the Thanksgiving to New Years time of year is just the happiest time of year. Everyone is a little kinder, a little happier, and a little more excited about life. I love the traditions that come along with this season, too: the music, the snowstorms, the gingerbread house making, the family visits, the present wrapping…and of course, winter holds a special place in my heart because thisย is when I celebrate my birthday. ๐Ÿ™‚

1546297_1614330815464192_4510953184271365998_n

Snow is fresh and clean and just magical. I get just as excited for the 10th snowfall as I do for the first. Although come March or April, I am moving on from snow and it does not always feel the same way;)

IMG_2653

I think the fact that I cannot choose one season as my favorite says a lot about me. I am thoughtful in my choices, though some may call me indecisive. The verdict here is that I like transitions. I like moving from one season to the next. I appreciate the season for what it is while I have it, and then I am ready and excited for what is to come. I would call myself an ambitious person, so I think this thought of moving forward appeals to me because as they say, “the best is yet to come”.

8 thoughts on “Seasons of Love [Blog-tember Challenge Day 8]

  1. Haha I love that you can’t just chose one! It’s so true, each season has it own’s pro’s and con’s! Being down South, we literally have 2 seasons year round ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Maybe I should move to DC!!?

  2. Spring. Definitely spring. The days are getting longer, there’s hope that the winter will eventually end, flowers are so pretty (even if it’s almost June before they appear).

    Fall is nice, but it means winter is coming.

  3. The way you feel about Wildwood is how I feel about Jamestown. It’s just so relaxing and feels right. No other place can come close. I’m a big fan of all the seasons which is why I love New England. Maryland just doesn’t have those clear fall and spring season that I’m used to. Fall is without a doubt my favorite weather-wise, though.

  4. I can find something I love in all seasons too! But I’m with you, fall feels like a new beginning to me…plus it’s my favorite anyway! And it leads into the Christmas season which I LOVE. I get kind of depressed right after Christmas though. All that build-up of the season and then it’s over.

  5. Isn’t it amazing that we got to grow up experiencing all of the seasons? It blows my mind when people in California tell me it’s 80* there for Christmas, and that the leaves don’t change colors. So weird! Of course I’m jealous in mid-February, but experience all four seasons is just priceless ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

