Online Me Vs. Real Me [Day 16]

Wednesday, September 16: The real you vs. the online you. Are they the same or different?

cfad1c343491c27b6e4cdb21ea817936

I want to be a person that others want to be around. But we all have good days and bad days…and on those bad days, we just hope people can still see the good in us. We give out to others what we feel, so it’s really important to work on ourselves first. That’s what I have gathered in the past few years, anyways. If you only know me via the Internet, your perception of me is likely what I am like in real life. What I say on this blog and what I comment on your blog are all things that I would say out loud in real life. ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, looking at some pictures, I did noticeย some things about “online” me and “real” me.

IMG_0844
ย IMG_0862

Online, I show my friends and family the cute outfits I wear. In real life, I wear workout clothes as much as I can.

IMG_0792ย IMG_6137

Online, I post selfies when my hair is perfect, my makeup looks good, and I have a nice smile. In real life (and on Snapchat), I take selfies of myself 24/7 and I really don’t care what I look like. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0787ย IMG_1132

IMG_0572ย IMG_0369

Online, I share all the healthy choices I make during my day. Because I really do make many healthy choices! But in real life, I indulge a little bit every day, too. I love kettle corn and sweet potato fries and candy corn. So sue me.

10606353_10204766336376204_6707568915100211709_nย IMG_9411

Online, I share how much I love to run. Because I do love to run. But sometimes I get in my car, my face is as red as my friend’s shirt on the left, it feels like I live in the Sahara, and I wonder why the hell I just did what I did. Hahahasohogirl-1-5_2ย IMG_9428

Online, I share my favorite trends. In real life, I put on boyfriend jeans and I look ridiculous.
Sidenote:ย Do you HAVE boyfriend jeans? Where in the world do you buy them? The ones at Gap are either super tight or super big on me! Help a sister out! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_9733ย IMG_9731 IMG_9732

Online, I share a perfectly filtered image of [insert activity here]. Here, it was me eating dinner on the beach. In real life, I take multiple pictures before I decide one is good enough.

ย IMG_0111

Online, I share how much I love my church and the time I spend reading my Bible. In real life, I have been to church lately, but I haven’t readย anything in the past few weeks. Life is busy. And that’s not an excuse. But you know. These things happen.

539d9734f06ccdd46c35035db62e3e9e

Keeps other’s feelings in mind
Yearns to feel fulfilled and fill the cups of others
Loves to laugh
Invites new experiences
Expects the best from myself and others

What kind of person are you?

16 thoughts on “Online Me Vs. Real Me [Day 16]

  1. I love your transparency! All of what you said is so true. We definitely put our best selves on our blog but I think that’s ok! I don’t want to look back at my memories and be like, “Dang Lauren you look ROUGH” hahah!

    • Hahaha I can just look at my iPhoto for that;) I seriously have the FUNNIEST picture of myself after I just woke up and I’m wrapped in a blanket. Apparently I took a selfie or a Snapchat because it was saved to my phone and is now on iPhoto. Now, months later, I really want to know who saw it. Hahaha

  2. The internet makes it so easy to present a perfect version of us. Although many of my runfies are not at all flattering but I post them anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I buy my jeans at Old Navy, but I’m a curvy girl & it doesn’t look to me like you really are. Jeans are hard — you gotta try on a bunch & then make sure to buy multiples of the ones that are right!

  3. I think we all have a tendency to do this. We’re still us online, but we’re presenting a more put together version of us. For me, I tend to show the more indulgent foods I eat but that’s not my reality 5 days of the week. Most of the time, I eat more fruits and veggies than anything else, which are boring for me to post about so I show my crazy desserts and things.

    I’m still looking for a brand of jeans that’s loose enough on my legs and not way too big on my waist #runnerprobs

  4. I love Snap Chat for the very reason. Only if we are Snap Chat friends do you get to see the real, hot mess Stephanie. I don’t want to pretend to be someone I’m not so I don’t but I will say some of those images I’ve snapped are something else! I should be ashamed.

  5. Pingback: Scarf Swap – Little Loud Life

Leave a Reply

