Monday Musings

Monday, September 21: A favorite quote/expression and how it has impacted you.

Well, friends, I guess I failed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did not blog on Saturday or Sunday, but the break was much appreciated! I had a relaxing yet productive weekend and it felt good to take a few days off from posting. Even though I didn’t write the past two days, I do feel like I have learned a lot from participating in this challenge. I have learned that I DO enjoy writing on the weekends and I AM able to break out of my “schedule” for posting and write about some other topics. I’ve written some similar posts to what I might do on my own, and then I have written some posts that are totally out of my comfort zone, like my vlog on Friday! Thank you for all of your sweet comments on that one, by the way. They are much appreciated!

I struggle to identify “favorites” or “bests” in my own life. I can tell you foods that I amย currently obsessed with, TV shows that I amย currentlyย all into, movies that I have always enjoyed…but when someone asks me what the best or my most favorite thing is, I really struggle to come up with an answer. That is probably why today, when I read the prompt that suggested I had to choose one meaningful quote, I immediately panicked. I suppose that some people do have certain quotes or Bible verses memorized that they call upon in times of happiness or sadness, but that has just not been something that I have ever done. That is not to say that I do not enjoy quotes and their meaning…I certainly do! My “Penny For Your Thoughts” and “Put A Smile On Your Face” Pinterest boards are two of my favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚ Back in the days of Xanga, I would read pages and pages of different quotes and sentiments and keep a document on my computer with a running list of all my favorites! But like I said, there is not one that sticks out to me that I always remember in a certain situation. With that in mind, here are a few of the quotes that have been most meaningful to me lately.

1a4058d9e604b63e6653804a5b90afd4

I am a dreamer. I am a do-er. And because I define myself as both of those things, that means I am always thinking of the next big thing. The next assignment, the next event, the next big accomplishment. What am I working towards? I chose this phrase as one of the things that I wanted to focus on in 2015 because I have so many blessings in my life that I feel like it is easy for me to take those things for granted. Looking ahead is obviously beneficial in helping you set goals and stay motivated in whatever you are doing, but looking ahead can also create a sense of anxiety because you don’t know exactly what is going to happen AND you are not fully appreciating what is happening now because you are wishing or waiting for that next thing. I wonder if I was finally exactly where I wanted to be if THEN I would stop looking forward…I hope so. But I’m not sure. Which is why I need to work on being present and in the moment!

afdea305380fc32ddcec6fbbc5470b96

Here is another expression that has been on my mind lately. How do you balance what you need to do with what you want to do? And can what you want to do ultimately end up being your career?

c8cc3e0749573ea4b84c915075364530

This just resonates with me. I’m a talker. I am not someone who keeps their feelings to themselves, no matter what is going on. There might be one person who is better for me to talk to than another depending on the circumstance, but I am always talking to someone about how I feel. Aren’t my friends and family so lucky?! But honestly, because I am such a talker, I should turn that talk into action and give it to God. I can wish for and do many, many things, but He is the one who will guide me where I am supposed to ultimately be, so my worries (and dreams) need to be given right to Him.

Are you good with favorites? Or do you usually pick a few, like me?!

11 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. I heard a similar quote to the pray/talked on recently that read “Have you prayed about it as much as you’ve texted about it” and I really liked it! I love the “Be Here Now” it’s so simple but sometimes I get caught up in the what comes next and what could go wrong and I miss the now.

  2. I’m so with you. I love too many things to just pick ONE favorite! Or maybe I’ll have one favorite for a time period, and then it will change to something else later. I LOVE the “Be here now” quote because that’s something I need to remember too!

  3. I started following your blog a couple weeks ago and really like it!! I have a question. I like your layout and am trying to get an email sign up and wondered what you used. A plug in?? Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

