Friday Favorites [Back At It]

Friday morning…e54a3d8c6f3345c5890607e5e772059a

…versus Friday afternoon. Hahaha

pumpgirl

We all know my favorite day of the week is Thursday, but here we are again on a Friday and I’m finally linking up with some of my favorite blogs again after a few weeks without a favorites post!

– ONE –

IMG_1547 IMG_1604

I’ve been waking up to the most ridiculous sunrises! I wake up around 6:30 AM on most weekdays and I am still amazed every time I look out the window. 🙂 The newswoman on Good Day DC even mentioned it yesterday morning when she was reporting! The picture on the left is from Monday morning and the picture on the right is from Thursday morning. My roommate and I had to bring our porch furniture in because all of the balconies at our building are being refinished and repainted, so I have been missing the sunsets because I’m all cozied up on the couch by then!

Speaking of my roommate, she has put me in charge of watering her orchid for the next little while here while she is travelling.

IMG_1611

One of her best friends from childhood gave her this orchid when we moved in to our apartment this summer. She is so proud of herself for keeping it alive for this long because apparently she can never keep plants haha! Her mom even made a comment when she was here visiting recently. This thing CANNOT die on my watch! I even set a reminder on my phone so I don’t forget to water the orchid daily!

– TWO –

I don’t know if you’ve heard, but Pope Francis is in the U.S. I think it is so cool how excited everyone is and how it seems to be bringing so many people together! DC is hard to navigate on a random, quiet Sunday afternoon, so to have someone so special in town was a big deal! I was selfishly kind of nervous about the Pope’s arrival because I have class in Maryland on Tuesday afternoon and I thought the commute was going to be horrendous. There was actually less traffic than there is on a normal day because everyone was trying to stay off the roads. I was driving and noticed that there didn’t seem to be many drivers on the other side of the highway…because several police cars had parked sideways to block the cars from entering! I sent a silent prayer of thanks that I was driving in the opposite direction!

IMG_1572

Lots of people in DC were off on one or both days that the Pope was in town because of the number of people who were supposed to be here and the road closures and such. I was not one of those lucky few because I teach right across the state line in Virginia…but the DC Snapchat story and lots of news coverage made me feel like I was at the parade on Wednesday! As you can see above, I was having fun with the Snapchat filter. 🙂

– THREE –

You know that I would live in workout clothes if I could, and while I do dress professionally for work, there are lots of “spirit” days that let me dress down, which I love! Let’s start with Wednesdays: they are affectionately known as “workout Wednesday”. The teachers wear their workout clothes in an effort to be more motivated to either stay after school and workout together or go to the gym right after school.

IMG_1275

This was my face (and outfit) for the first workout Wednesday. It was literally the second day of school and this is how I showed up! Don’t worry, everyone was dressed in a similar fashion. 😉 Wednesday is literally the perfect day of the week to have something like this because usually you are OVER IT (whatever “it” is) by midweek and you could use a day like this to keep your spirits up. This week, I added a scarf to my workout Wednesday outfit and I just felt so COZY! Nothing could mess with me! Then, every Friday is the real spirit day. Everyone wears jeans and a school shirt or just a plain red shirt (our school color). So every week, I really only have to plan 3 cute and put together outfits because the other days I get to be comfy! This week was extra special because on Thursday, everyone wore their favorite sports jersey to school. Food Services has a campaign about eating breakfast every day, and I have no idea what that has to do with wearing a jersey, but I happily obliged!

IMG_1608

Of course, I was looking in my closet last night wondering what dress pants best matched my Steelers jersey, and then I showed up today and everyone was in jeans. Sigh. I will learn. 😉

– FOUR –

IMG_1601

I’ve had some really great runs recently with the cooler temperatures we have had! Remember that marathon I was training for? I will tell you more about that next week! In the meantime, I have been keeping my distances moderate and I have been getting a little bit of speed back, which is exciting. I am running a 10K on Saturday morning and I am trying not to overdo it with running this week, which leaves me feeling like I have no idea what to do when it’s time to workout. Enter: Beachbody OnDemand. I am actually a Beachbody coach, so that is how I learned about this program, but basically all you have to do is sign up for a free TeamBeachbody account and then quarterly, you are billed $38. What you get? A huge variety of workout videos that you can do anywhere you have wifi or an Internet connection. I have done both 21 Day Fix and 21 Day Fix Extreme, so I own those workout DVDs, but OnDemand lets me try other workouts like Insanity or P90X that I don’t own, which I love! My coach lives in Pittsburgh and she is a Master Trainer, which means she trains others who are getting certified to teach live classes. She actually trained me to teach PiYo! Anyways, the Master Trainers sometimes get invited to record workouts that are OnDemand, so I did her P90X workout last night. It was so fun to feel like I was working out “with” her! When I was half-assing the bicycle crunches and she said, “Pretend like I’m on your living room floor with you!”, it was EXTRA motivating because I pictured myself at the gym with her yelling at me through her microphone! Haha!

– FIVE –

The little things that make me happy:

IMG_1553

On the first day of school, this student brought me an apple from her trip to the apple farm, and this week, she brought me flowers she had planted in her yard! Hahaha

IMG_1536

My best friend from childhood, Stefanie, sent me this picture on Snapchat last weekend. She is wearing a velvet dress, I have Dalmatians on my sweater, and we are hanging out with Chuck E. Cheese. Good Lord!

IMG_1497

I feel like the inside of my cupholders always get so dirty, so when I found these patterned cup holder thingies (yes, I just said that), I decided they were perfect because I could just take that out to wash instead of scrubbing the whole cup holder! Then, as I snapped this picture, I realized how dirty the entire middle console of my car is. My apologies. Haha!

IMG_1555

This is not me attempting to start a political conversation AT ALL…this is just funny. I love Ellen Degeneres’ Instagram! The caption says, “Look! It’s a tiny Trump.” 😉 #crazyhairdontcare

FullSizeRender

    YES YES YES YES YES YES YES. Go to Wegmans or another big grocery store, because I haven’t seen these flavors at Target or any smaller grocery stores yet…but YES! SO GOOD! Taste review: I had candy corn last year and obviously I loved it. Pumpkin spice is only good when you get the kernels dripped in white chocolate, and not all of them are!

Have the best weekend, friends! Thanks for reading. 🙂 I’ll be back next week with a full week of blogging. Yay!

***

Bloggers, looking for a link-up? Click over to any one of these amazing blogs to join us for Friday Favorites!

fridayfavorites
friday-favorite-link-up-botton-life-in-leggingsvalentineohheyfriday_zps0d5af58211Friday Favorites

12 thoughts on “Friday Favorites [Back At It]

  1. Ahhh I wish I had workout Wednesdays!! I love the Pope geotag on snapchat…somewhat jealous! Also, that cracks me up you’re terrified to kill the orchid! It is really beautiful though. Have a great weekend!

  2. So jealous you only have to pick put together outfits 3 days a week. I have my internship or work study everyday this semester so there is no room for comfy clothes. I look forward to 5:30 everyday when I can throw on gym clothes! Happy weekend 🙂

  3. That dalmatian sweater and velvet dress are so on point! Haha I love looking back at the weird stuff I wore as a child. Also, my new life goal is to find both of those popcorn flavors. I love all the fun dressing days you get at your school!

Leave a Reply

