My Favorite Weekend

Hello there. πŸ™‚

IMG_2126

I love weekends, but I especially love weekends when my family and friends come to spend time in my new town! Originally, my family was planning a trip to DC to see me run the Marine Corps Marathon, but life had other plans, and instead of prepping for the race and running, I simply got to hang out with everyone which was definitely just as wonderful. πŸ™‚ My mom and my brothers arrived in town on Thursday night so they could have a longer day on Friday! I woke up and went to work because I am a great hostess, but they were able to meet up with my aunt and my cousins for brunch and some sightseeing, so they had a good day without me!

IMG_2121

I invited my mom to be a guest reader in my classroom so she could see it now that it is all put together and meet my students! I have been the guest reader and helper in her classroom many times over the years, so it was fun to have her come into my space to do the same thing! Alex and Jake surprised me by coming to say hi, too! They took a quick tour of the school, scared my students because they are both 6’5″, and then went to Target while my mom and I did teacher stuff. πŸ™‚

IMG_2129

I left work and headed straight into DC with them. We checked into our hotel and immediately turned around to go meet our other relatives for dinner at a family style Italian restaurant called Carmine’s. My friends and I tried to eat at this restaurant a few months ago, but as we arrived, so did a tour bus. Guess who got to sit down first that night?! On this night, we had a reservation, and everyone got to enjoy lots and lots and LOTS of Italian food! The waiter will tell you that each dish serves three people, but I would safely say that each dish serves 4 people! We ordered the Carmine’s salad, eggplant parmesan, and shrimp with pasta in garlic and oil to share. My aunt and cousins ordered salad, steak, and chicken marsala. Needless to say, the eight of us had tons of leftovers…none of which we took with us! It was such a nice, cool night out that of course we had to sightsee a bit. Carmine’s is located in the Chinatown neighborhood of DC and my youngest cousin really wanted to go to the Spy Museum, which was nearby. It was closed on Friday night, but we peeked in anyways and made plans to go back later during the weekend! Alex and I moved my mom’s car closer to the National Mall while the rest of our family walked over, so we got to the Washington Monument first. One of my favorite ways to see the monuments is to lay on the ground and look up. πŸ™‚ I know it’s weird, but it’s a fun perspective!

IMG_2130

Once we all caught up to each other, we took a family photo. πŸ™‚ My mom was behind the camera on this one, but she was in attendance! My dad’s sister is the one in the pink jacket. She raised her family in Indianapolis, so that is where her kids and their kids live now. We have visited them many times over the years and it is always fun to get together, no matter what we do!

IMG_2132

On Saturday, we woke up and I made myself a delicious hotel breakfast! Jake and I were determined to get a made-to-order omelette. Alex and my mom were having none of the line, so they just got scrambled eggs instead. An omelette always wins in my book! Of course, I had a pancake on the side because I love something sweet with every meal. πŸ™‚

IMG_2133

It was kind of chilly on Saturday but it wasn’t raining, so we decided to do one of my favorite things EVER! We rented bikes and rode around the city. My family and I love to ride bikes when we are at home or on vacation. It’s just a fun way to move around, plus it’s easier and faster than walking. πŸ˜‰ We went to Big Wheel Bikes in Georgetown and were given four of the most random bikes ever! My mom had a cruiser, I had a road bike, and Alex and Jake had cross bikes…whatever that means!

IMG_2144

I took them along the river in Georgetown until we hit the National Mall. Then, we crossed the 14th Street Bridge to get to the Mt. Vernon Trail. I was determined to get us to Gravelly Point Park, which is the closest you can get to Reagan National Airport. I LOVE watching the planes land and take off. It is the coolest spot ever!

IMG_2137

We rode all the way back to Georgetown on the Mt. Vernon Trail, which is my one of my favorite places to run. It was perfect to bike on because it is made for runners and bikers! On the other side of the river, we kept running into the road and needing to cross at somewhat inconvenient times. It was nice to ride with no interruptions from other cars! We rode mostly a flat circle, except for the final climb to the Key Bridge…then we really had to use our legs to pedal up the hill. πŸ˜‰ That was at the end of the ride, so no one could get too mad at me. Ha!

IMG_2141

I made them take this picture because the cobblestone street in Georgetown was just too picturesque. Can you tell they loved this?

IMG_2145

We headed to Pentagon City after our bike ride to get lunch and do a little shopping. I have had my eye on a $130 pair of fringe booties from Nordstrom, but while I was at Nordstrom Rack, I found these beauties…for the low, low price of $138! I was very sad. Rack is supposed to help me out, not make me feel worse! Ha! Lucky for me, I found a $39 blardigan. If you read Sheaffer’s blog, then you know what a great find this was! πŸ™‚ I may have put it on my body as soon as I left the store and kept it on for the next 24 hours.Β Maybe I did, maybe I didn’t…

IMG_2147

I’m wearing it here!Β Seeeee the beauty of the $39 blardigan!

Our hotel had a free happy hour for guests, so I went to have wine and snacks with my mom and this guy decided to tag along…he’s 21 and big stuff now. πŸ˜‰ Cheers to happy hour!

IMG_2156

Once again, we met up with our family for dinner. We ate at Old Glory in Georgetown, which seemed to be known for it’s barbecue style food! I ordered a chicken wedge salad, so don’t ask me how the barbecue was, because I have no idea. The cornbread muffins and corn butter were delicious, though!

IMG_2150

We walked M Street after dinner and I finally stopped in Dean & Deluca. There were so many different kinds of food available in that store! Different varieties of candy, baking supplies, hot foods, cold foods…they seemed to have it all. I had to try their coffee. It did not disappoint!

IMG_2152

We bought the most typical thing you could buy in that store: two huge cookies! For all the variety we saw, it came down to the classics when we had to make a choice. Chocolate chip or oatmeal raisin? What is your favorite? I LOVE oatmeal raisin. πŸ™‚

Other highlights from the weekend include:

IMG_2166

–> Alex stuffing his bed full of pillows to scare the maid when she came to clean our room!

IMG_2120

–> Jake trying to make me help him with 11th grade Pre-Calc/Trig. I think he forgot that I was recently hired to teach second grade…

IMG_2119

–> A present from my Dad. He makes fun of my selfies, so now I make them even weirder than they need to be! He sent me pumpkin butter. What a nice guy. πŸ™‚ It is delicious and so sweet!

IMG_2117

–> This fountain. It kind of looks like a black staircase in this picture!Β I slept on the fold out couch this weekend because I am a good person (ha!) and IΒ could hear the water falling from our room. So soothing!

IMG_2162

–> And a really good workout on Sunday morning. I have not been doing anything too serious in the workout department recently. Whatever I feel like, I do. I wanted to run on Sunday, but the two treadmills that worked were taken so I hopped on the elliptical for 20 minutes and then lifted for another 20 minutes. It ended up being a really hard workout and I was happy about it!

How have you been lately?!

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Weekend

  1. AHHHH I’m so happy to be back in the US and be able to read your posts! Eventually I’ll read all your posts I missed. But it looks like you had a great weekend with your family! I love the picture of your brothers visiting your classroom!!

  2. Aww I’m so glad that you had a great weekend with your family!!!! It’s a fun city and I’m really enjoying touring a lot of those areas you guys went to on the weekends while I’m down there.

  3. I love the cobblestone street picture, LOL! Your brothers were super excited looking ;). I think it’s so cute that your mom was your guest reader–how sweet! It must have been so cool to have your brothers see your school, too!

    I totally had to look up/check out what a blardigan is…. aaaand now I want one! And cornbread muffins with corn butter. Good choice on the Dean and Deluca cookies… I am a oatmeal raisin gal, too! I will take an O.R. cookie over a chocolate chip cookie any day!

    I LOL’d at Alex stuffin the bed with pillows hahah. That would definitely scare me! The hotel you stayed at looks so cool! I love the fountain. That would totally soothe me, too πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: 2015: A Year In Review | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

