A Decadent Mini Dessert

One of my favorite holiday traditions is all the baking that occurs! In the past, I have been pretty disordered in my thinking about food, and to this day, I still don’t like everything to revolve around food, because we are not meant to live to eat. However, the holidays bring you a little bit of grace  because there is so much yummy food to be had!

Today I am sharing a recipe that I recently saw posted on Astleigh’s blog because it is so delicious and it is so easy! Previous food posts on this blog will have you knowing that I’m a five ingredients or less kind of recipe gal, and this one certainly fits the bill. Even though you don’t have to do much, your guests or family or friends (or whoever you are feeding!) will think you slaved away in the kitchen for hours.

Behold: Mini Gingerbread Cheesecake Bites.

IMG_2646

Original recipe found on Hill Collection Blog!

Directions

Take the cream cheese out of the fridge to soften.
Preheat the oven to 350*F.
Store the cheesecake bites in the refrigerator.

Recipe List

Crust:
Gingerbread cookie dough

Filling:
1 block cream cheese
1/2 c powdered sugar
1 t vanilla extract

IMG_2640

First, you will take your prepackaged cookie dough and round the pieces to the size of your mini muffin pan. In my case, there were 12 pre-cut cookies. I broke those 12 pieces in half and rolled all 24 of them to fill my pan!

IMG_2641

You will bake these mini crusts for 10 minutes at 350*F.

IMG_2642

While that is baking, you can soften your cream cheese and mix it with 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and 1 t of vanilla extract. I knew that I was making cheesecake bites, but I still expected this “icing” to taste very sugary and I was kind of disappointed when I licked my finger. ๐Ÿ˜‰ That feeling quickly passed!

IMG_2643

When the crusts are done baking, use a cookie dough scooper to create a half circle indent in them to make room for the cheesecake filling. Now for the part that scared me most: creating my piping bag with a Ziploc bag! All I did was scoop my filling into the Ziploc, seal it tight, and cut off a tiny corner of the bag. I almost wish I would have cut the corner a little bit wider so the filling would’ve spread differently!

IMG_2644

In any case, you will squeeze cheesecake filling into each of the 24 mini crusts…and then you will probably have some filling left over, so you will have to go back and make each of your bites even! All that’s left to do is arrange them on a pretty plate, take them to Friendsgiving, and explain the recipe to every guest who takes a bite. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At least, that’s what happened to me!

IMG_2671.jpg

Then, if you are anything like me, you will pawn the leftover cheesecake bites on the rest of the guests at the party and bring only a measly three bites home for yourself…but as you can see, I needed just a little bite before I put them in the fridge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So tell me…what will you be baking this Thanksgiving?!

***

Linking up with Andrea for Recipe Club!

  

7 thoughts on “A Decadent Mini Dessert

  1. I don’t actually like gingerbread (okay, let’s be real…I haven’t tried it for a few years so maybe I would like it now) but these still LOOK really good. Haha! I think I need to try gingerbread again because if I like it now I would be all over these!!!

Leave a Reply

