All the Christmas Things

How are you feeling this marvelous Monday morning?!

IMG_2973

Hopefully you are the complete opposite of Amigo. 😉 My brother’s dog is THE definition of “not a morning person”. My mom sent me this gem on Saturday morning and I could not stop laughing!

IMG_3081

My Monday is brought to you by lots of happiness from Christmas adventures this past weekend. My roommate and her boyfriend bought our tree on Saturday and it is the cutest. Now all we need are a tree topper and a skirt! I am most excited to have a real Christmas tree because I haven’t had one in years. We also added a wreath to our front door, some greens to our mantle, and two poinsettias on the fireplace. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas up in here!

Friday evening was spent doing a ridiculously hard workout courtesy of Blonde Ponytail. It looked a little something like this:

20 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible) with 25# dumbbells
10 squat hang cleans
10 push press
10 walking lunges

…except I modified the workout so that I could use 15 pound dumbbells because I’m not that strong yet and it still kicked my ass! I invited my friend over to watch Christmas movies and we had a ball laying on the couch and watching The Grinch and Elf. Christmas movies are the best!

IMG_2995

On Saturday, I took myself on an adventure to The National Harbor in Fort Washington, MD. I have never been and I have always wanted to go, plus I know that there are Christmas events going on this month, so it didn’t matter who was going with me…I was going! There are many restaurants and boutiques along the waterfront, but my first stop was at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center.

The lobby was all decked out with Christmas trees so I knew the rest of the place would be just as amazing! I also took a picture of that tree four times and each time, it was just as crooked. #bloggerfail

The child behind me on the escalator told his mom that he felt like he was in the tropical rain forest and I couldn’t help but agree! The interior of that place would be amazing even if it wasn’t Christmas. Added to the usual surroundings were a train, breakfast and dinner with Santa, pictures with Santa (of course), The Village of the North Pole, and ICE featuring Santa Claus Is Coming To Town. ICE is definitely the main event and I really wanted to see what it was all about, but I couldn’t justify a $38 ticket if I was by myself ha!

IMG_2986

Luckily, The Village of the North Pole was free and there was still a lot going on! There was a carousel, a gingerbread house making station, and lots of Christmas decorations and candy for sale! I bought bells to hang from the doorknob to my laundry room. So exciting, right?!

IMG_2997

I left the Gaylord and went to do the other “normal” National Harbor things such as shopping in all of the boutiques, but the best thing that I came across was The Grinch playing on the big screen! It was 53 degrees on Saturday so people had jackets on, but there were so many eating ice cream from the nearby shops while they watched the movie. It was so funny!

IMG_3004

I’m a child and moved to a place where no one was in front of me so that I could see better. I am sure that people thought I was very strange. The Grinch is just my favorite movie ever! Fun fact: Sarah (from Picky Runner) and I go to a lot of the same places at a lot of the same times and yet our paths still have never crossed. I posted the above picture on Instagram and she commented that she was just there. Of course! Haha:)

IMG_3037

Me, my puffy eyes, no makeup, and a Christmas tree. #bestselfieever #not My eyes have been bothering me lately (besides the fact that I scratched my cornea — that is all healed now) so the doctor put me on “contact vacation”. I am not a fan. My glasses are in the hand that’s not holding my iPhone here. 🙂

IMG_3051

Last night, I went to a Christmas party at the Hill Center. It’s an old Naval hospital which is kind of cool, but now it hosts meetings and events for various groups. My church has unofficially planned this Christmas party for the last 7 years. National Community Church doesn’t sponsor the party, but alot of NCC’ers go and proceeds always benefit a mission at our church. Last night, we were raising money for an orphanage in Zambia. I was super excited for this party because it was cocktail attire and who doesn’t love to get a little fancy sometimes?! I have to admit, I had on a sparkly navy cocktail dress and I changed into a sweater dress with tights and booties because my arms and legs were cold. #im107yearsold #iknow

IMG_3052

My friend Shannon is one of the people who travelled to Zambia this past summer to work at the orphanage, so this event was super special to her! She also created all the promotional things there, from posters to little info cards, and I was so impressed! We graduated from college the same year but she is a graphic designer and I am always amazed at how creative she is!

IMG_3060

There were probably five or six rooms on each floor of the Hill Center and each room was something different. One had a photo booth, another had live music, and several had food and drinks. Many people in attendance provided the food and drinks that were available to us all which I think is awesome! My favorite part of the party was gathering together at one point to sing Christmas carols and waiting in anticipation to see if I would win any of the prizes from the raffle. There were really good prizes! I was hoping for the $50 Anthropologie gift card or the month of free Spin and barre classes at a new studio, but no such luck. 🙂

IMG_3067

The best room was the one where we had room to dance…and we danced for a while! At 11:30, our feet were DONE and we crashed on a few open chairs. Even so, it was such a fun way to kick off the holiday season!

IMG_3069

I was up bright and early on Sunday morning to serve in the nursery at church during the 9 AM service. Somehow, I always seem to hold the baby who is teething or really tired. I do love it, though! The little girl I was holding yesterday would start to fall asleep on my shoulder and then turn around and look at the other babies playing in the room and start screaming and crying. She was not pleased to be at church haha! I haven’t been in the nursery much lately, so it was really nice to get back and see the other volunteers and of course, the little ones who are always there! Two of the babies that I have seen the most since I started volunteering this spring are about to turn 2 and move on into the toddler room. So sad!

IMG_2974

If you need a little marvelous in your Monday today, I suggest going to your local grocery store and finding these Peanut Butter Crunch Pretzel Crisps. I found them at the grocery store when I went to pick up my prescriptions the other day and they are SO GOOD. I may or may not have had too much sugar this weekend. You decide. 🙂

Happy Monday!

***

MIMM

hello-monday-linkup-3_zps66uagtqummm

monday1

monday-funday-button-original-size

 

7 thoughts on “All the Christmas Things

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! It’s nice to be able to wander by yourself, sometimes. I did it a lot when I lived in MD; back then I just had 1 cat & wasn’t tied to home like I am now!

    Those pretzels would get me into trouble quickly. Too quickly!

  2. Haha I still can’t believe we were in the same place! I had an hour to kill by myself Saturday before I met my friend which is how I ended up at National Harbor. We go out to eat there a lot and the restaurants are SO good, but I also just love the big screen. One day I’ll go on the ferris wheel… one day. Sounds like a solid weekend 🙂

  3. THOSE PRETZELS have everything!!!!!!!!!! I still love that you got to sit outside and watch the Grinch…I mean, that’s so darn fun! All your pictures are so cute. And why do we not have a title today friend? 😉

  4. I eat the original version of those pretzel chips every single day for lunch with humus. But PEANUT BUTTER ONES?!? How did I not know about those?? Those may be dangerous for me!

  5. Ahhh so much Christmas cheer! I want to watch the Grinch on a big screen! I definitely need those peanut butter pretzel thins. Except I don’t because I would eat waaaay too many I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

