Christmas Cheer

This weekend, I continued my theme of trying to do all the Christmas things. Last year, I remember watching Christmas movies when I went home after finals and I felt like I was trying to squeeze everything in because I hadn’t properly celebrated the holiday season all December! I cannot say the same is true this year. πŸ™‚

IMG_3177

I have heard a lot about the Christmas lights at the National Zoo, mostly because a few of the running groups that I like to run with have planned runs through the zoo at this time of year. The National Zoo is free, so why not make it part of your running route one evening?! Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to either of those planned runs this season so I made my own plans on Friday night to go take in the lights!

IMG_3180

The parking situation was not ideal, but that is probably because the zoo isn’t located near a metro stop. This means that everyone drives to the zoo and that means parking is a nightmare. #cityproblems One of the parking guys had orange cones set up in the entrance of the parking lot and after a lot of circling around the neighborhood, I finally just pulled up to the orange cones and stopped until he walked over to my car. He said he “wasn’t sure” if there were any spots left. How are you not sure if that is your job?! Ha! $22 later we finally had a spot and we could go in and see all the pretty lights!

IMG_3184

We ordered spiked cider and/or hot chocolate and made our way through the zoo. It was such a nice night to walk around. The weather has been amazing lately. Most animals were inside, so we really were just there for the lights! After a terrible experience in the monkey house, we were scarred for the rest of the evening. It smelled terrible OUTSIDE of the building and you really had to hold your breath inside, too. It was that bad lol!

IMG_3186

My mother loves palm trees and anything beachy. She appreciated this photo!

On Saturday, I ran errands like a maniac. I was in and out of a bunch of different stores and my Christmas shopping is still not complete! My roommate and I hosted a Christmas party that evening so I was on the hunt for an ugly Christmas sweater and other party supplies…like food. Of course, this Christmas party was totally also a birthday party for me. The life of a December baby. πŸ˜‰

So the Christmas light sweater dress…definitely ugly. Like I didn’t even like it enough to buy it. Ha! I actually didn’t buy either of these outfits, but how CUTE are those elf pajamas?! My coworkers and I bought matching pajamas for our Pajama Day on Friday and I am so mad that we didn’t buy the elf ones! In case you are curious, Target has those elf pajamas for both men and women, adults and children, and even pets. I think Colby, Amigo, and I will be matching this Christmas because I am 100% certain Alex and Jake will never put those PJs on their body.

Β I added some Christmas decorations, pictures, and bedding to my room and bathroom! I just replaced two pictures that are usually hanging with those canvases. I actually moved them and rearranged them once I took these pictures. πŸ™‚ I also realized post-pictures that my tree doesn’t have any lights! It is staying sad and unlit. #toobadsosad

My roommate and I decorated both indoors and out because it was so nice out that we were able to use our balcony during the party! I cannot take credit for anything except the poinsettia by the fireplace…but then again, I decorated everything for fall, so I guess I was just letting her have a turn. πŸ˜‰ I did, however, buy a star for the top of the tree!

Friends from church, friends from college, friends from blogging…they were all in attendance. πŸ™‚

IMG_3230

On Sunday, it was off to church. My friend Sarah has played the harp for years and she played for the first time at church this past weekend! The band usually consists of guitars, drums, and singers, but this day was a “Creative Sunday” where other instruments like violin, standing bass, piano, and harp were included! They have never done this before and all of the instruments sounded so pretty playing Christmas hymns. Sarah did amazing! She even had a little solo at the beginning of Silent Night! Our pastor called her out when he said, “You know it’s going to be a good Sunday when there’s a harpist on stage!” and she told us after that she didn’t even hear him because her ear buds were in. Ha!

IMG_3235

I was in charge of helping her unload the harp from her car and safely take it back up to her apartment after church. I do NOT know how she lugs that thing around without help!

IMG_3236

To celebrate her harp playing, we ate a quick brunch at Bayou Bakery right near her house. I had a sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit and she had biscuits and gravy. Because every day deserves a little sugar, we shared beignets. I’m pretty sure this was my first time trying this dessert, but you can’t go wrong with dough and powdered sugar!

How was your weekend?!

6 thoughts on “Christmas Cheer

  1. Sounds like a wonderful weekend. And running through lights at the zoo would be so fun!

    But did they move it? Because back when I lived in MD, in the stone age, I do remember going with a friend & I know I took metro. Of course it was daylight, so maybe the walk is just too long or not a good neighborhood for night?

  2. Love all the Christmas stuff! I still want to make it to the zoo but sadly I don’t think it’s going to work out because I’m home in a week and don’t have plans to be in DC before then. I wish we decorated the apartment. It doesn’t feel like Christmas because I just haven’t done anything remotely christmasy!

  3. I just got really sad because apparently the Zoo Lights here in Portland are amazing and I’ve never been and it’s so close to where we live…but Michael leaves on Saturday through Christmas so there’s no time to go before Christmas! Wah! Those pajamas are too good. I love all the decor and it looks like such a fun party! I HAVE NEVER HAD BEIGNETS. I have been dying to try them forever and it has just never happened!

  4. I’m so glad you’ve had the chance to celebrate the Christmas season all month! Isn’t that the best feeling?! The Zoo Lights sounds like an absolute blast… except for the monkey situation hahah. I love the PJs! I want to see which PJs you and your co-workers ended up buying together. I’m sure they’re fun!! Also, the bedding you got is so awesome. I have wanted to buy themed sheets before and Jimmy is always like “you’re wacko.” haha.

    Duuude I don’t know how your friend could lug a harp around either, but that’s totally amazing! LOL at her having her ear buds in when the pastor made that comment. That’s too funny. I bet it was so neat to hear everyone playing music.

    I’m so jealous you got to try a beignet! It’s my dream to have one at Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans–I hear they make some of the best!

Leave a Reply

