My Year In Running: 2015

Everyone is in reflection mode this holiday season. We’re thinking about the happy times that this time of year brings, but we’re also reflecting on what has happened this year and what might change in the new year. “New year, new me” and all of that jazz. Today, I’m talking about me + running in 2015!

  • Best race experience: 2015 has been the first year in a few years that I haven’t had a ton of races on my calendar. I ran a 10-miler, a half marathon, a 10k, and then you’ll remember I tried to start training for a marathon too. “Tried” being the operative word there. 😉 I really loved running the Cherry Blossom 10-miler even though the course was cut a little short this year. My friends came to town to run with me, the weather was beautiful, and it was my first big race running through my new city!
  • Best run: Running through Central Park was definitely my favorite run this year! I have always wanted to do that. I’ve been to NYC a few times in the last few years, and I always run on the treadmill at our hotel before the day gets started. To run through the park, especially the day of the TCS NYC Marathon, was oh so very fun!

My favorite weekend runs have been on the Mt. Vernon Trail. But as I looked through pictures to try to recall a “best” run I was forgetting about, I saw a lot of pictures that made me realize this was kind of a mediocre year of running for me. I love to run, so any run is fun for me, but there have been lots of runs that were harder than they should have been. I’m feeling like this might be a reason why I got hurt during marathon training. Maybe I didn’t have the proper base to start training?

IMG_2049

  • Best new piece of running gear: I would LOVE the Garmin Forerunner 220 so maybe Santa will deliver. 😉 I didn’t invest in anything too out of the ordinary this year…just several different colored pairs of my favorite Asics Gel Kayano shoes. The gel makes ALL the difference. I’ve run in Brooks and Mizuno before and loved them both! I was going to switch brands this summer and when I tried another shoe on, I could just tell there wasn’t gel and I love that cushion-y feeling!
  • Best running advice you’ve received this year: “Listen to your body.” Your brain (or maybe just mine) is stupid and will tell you that you can and should run even when you know you should take it easy. I’ve had a pretty laid back year so I’m hoping that will set me up for success headed into the new year!
  • Most inspirational runner: I’m inspired by so many of the blogging runners that I met at a DC brunch this summer! Courtney, Sue, and Colleen are a few of my favorites to follow along with on social media. 🙂 These ladies balance full time jobs with some serious training and motivate me to get out the door some days!
  • Favorite picture from a run or race this year: 

IMG_0940.jpg

Running the Lincoln steps was so fun! Inspired by November Project DC, of course. Now to just make it to one of the real Wednesday stair workouts…

  • Race experience you would repeat in a heartbeat: I would do the Pittsburgh Half again! I went into that race this year on a whim with very little official training under my belt and it was just a fun run.
  • If you could sum up your year in a couple of words what would they be? Low key. Lots of cross training. I’m excited for a bigger and better running year in 2016! #pressureson

***

Linking up with Courtney for Year in Running 2015!

Year-in-Running-2015-3.png

11 thoughts on “My Year In Running: 2015

  1. The pictures of your runs are always so pretty! You make me want to go back to DC so badly. I went on a middle school field trip but was too young to appreciate it. And I’ve never been to NYC so seeing Central Park is a bucket list item for sure!

    • Aw thanks! I came here in 6th grade with school too but it’s funny how my memories of that trip don’t match up with what this place is really like ha! Please come back and I’ll show you around 🙂

  2. love this! thanks for joining – it was so fun to meet you this year. we will be doing it again in 2016! 🙂 base training can be really important when getting into marathon training. are you gonna tackle it again?

    • Yes! I absolutely loved getting to know other DC bloggers! I would love to tackle marathon training again but I feel like I have nagging injuries leftover that will get in my way. I also don’t know if those are phantom pains or real pains…we will see what 2016 brings 🙂 You are certainly part of my inspiration to do it and do it well! You train smart and I’m still working on that ha! Thanks for hosting this link up!

Leave a Reply

