Christmas Vacation: Part II

We did lots of classic “New York” things while we were in the city, but we also indulged in some tourist spots like Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum and Ripley’s Believe It Or Not Museum. Today I’m going to share two classic New York things you must do if you ever visit!

Brooklyn Bridge

 I mentioned yesterday that we shopped in Chinatown and dined in Little Italy, but then I convinced everyone that we should go see the Brooklyn Bridge. Well, really, I put everyone on the subway in that direction. 😉 My mom wanted to go too, but my brothers were getting tired at this point!

IMG_3718

We walked up the stairs of the subway and saw this cute little park area. This is one of the reasons I love being in a city…tall, historic buildings with some hidden peaceful greens in the middle.

There were SO many people headed across the bridge. One lane for pedestrians, one lane for bikers…and everyone going across and back. There were also little stands of NYC souvenirs, but the funniest item for sale were selfie sticks. Everyone needs one, apparently!

IMG_3747

We made good use of ours…

…and the views were spectacular! Check out that light post with all the locks on it. Just like the Lock Bridge in Europe! #kinda

IMG_3736

If you ever visit the Brooklyn Bridge, I definitely recommend just going for it and really walking all the way across into Brooklyn! There’s a subway stop not too far away from the other end, plus when you get towards the middle, the crowds thin and you can really appreciate the bridge and the scenery. I know it sounds crazy to appreciate a bridge, but if my brothers found enjoyment in this, you definitely will too. 🙂

Bryant Park

Okay, so I’ve been to the city at least once a year for the past few years, but I have never made it to Bryant Park! With its close proximity to Times Square, I just don’t know how that is possible, but when you are riding the subway and being driven around in taxis, it’s possible to miss some hidden gems. 🙂

IMG_3908

My favorite part of Bryant Park were all of the holiday shops! Each one was so unique, selling a variety of items from handmade jewelry to makeup bags to kids games to chocolate. In the above picture, you can see the green and white awning that tops the carousel. My mom and I just had to go watch the little ones riding around. Such fun!

IMG_3901

See…my favorite view. Little shops, a little bit of nature, and the beautiful tall buildings in the background.

IMG_3899

Perhaps the most fun thing I saw were the ping pong tables, all occupied with excited players! Apparently, there is also putting, chess, pétanque (a French ball game I believe is similar to the Italian game Bocce), and an art cart. You simply cannot get bored on this little stretch of land in Midtown. 🙂

IMG_3903

Visiting right after the holidays allows you to see all the beautiful decorations. How awesome is that Christmas tree?! The ornaments were as big as my head…truly.

IMG_3906

And if I could’ve convinced my brothers (and Jake would’ve been an easy sell), we would’ve stood in the lengthy line to ice skate. It was only $15 and the line really wasn’t too bad! At this point, the boys had taken our shopping bags and headed back to the hotel with visions of comfy hotel beds dancing in their heads. Ha! Listen, we walked A LOT on this trip.  Plus our hotel served a complimentary dinner and happy hour each evening, so you can’t really blame them. And don’t worry, my mom and I made it back to relax and have dinner, too!

***

Linking up with Stephanie!

11 thoughts on “Christmas Vacation: Part II

  1. The light post with all the locks on it is so cool! I just love seeing things like that! Also, Ithink it’s so cool that you guys used the selfie stick! I have yet to use one, but I think they’re so neat haha. All of your pictures are amazing. I haven’t been to NYC in years and now you’re making me want to go back. Also, love your new sunglasses in the pictures!

  2. The first time I’ve ever really seen selfie sticks in use was in Singapore this last weekend for our family trip! I was kind of surprised about how common they were there, and yes, they were also being sold at all the little kiosks for tourists. This looks like such a cool trip! I’ve never yet had a chance to see NYC!

    • Haha I live in DC so unfortunately I see tourists using them all the time BUT I thought they were ridiculous. My brother kind of bought it for my mom as a joke because she always tries to take pictures of us on her iPad…so which is less embarrassing? Haha but we ended up having such a fun time using it! And I’ve never been to Singapore, so that’s amazing!! Let’s trade vacations! Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tourist Tuesday | kyliemcgraw

Leave a Reply

