Behind the Scenes [Week 2]

Sometime soon, I hope to buy a domain name for my blog. I’m currently having commitment issues with an official name, so that’s the first issue. I’m also a perfectionist, so I fear thinking of the *perfect* name only to dislike it a few weeks later, which I’m sure would never happen, but you never know…

…I digress. The “behind the scenes” of my blog isn’t all that exciting, because I don’t take myself too seriously. My blog is meant to be fun and light-hearted, and that’s what it’s like when I’m taking pictures and putting posts together, too! Although, I will admit that there is a touch of anxiety as I read and reread each sentence to make sure everything sounds perfect. It’s the former writing tutor in me. 😉

IMG_4058

I can usually be found with my laptop, big purple blanket, and a cup of coffee on my bed. Yep, all of this creative thought comes from the coziness of my room. Ha!

IMG_3408

Of course, if I’m at my mom’s house, the scenery changes just a bit as one or both dogs curl up at my feet. They love to blog, too. 🙂

I don’t have an official “white photo box” that are behind so many Instagram and blog pictures. Doesn’t that solid white background make everything look so pretty?! Well, I usually just go for a plain background and pay little to no attention to the lighting. This is something I’m working on. I occasionally also choose to photograph things that taste delicious, but look quite weird, such as the cheese-filled peppers above. I can guarantee that after taking those three photos plus a few more, that recipe never made it to the blog. Its presentation in the photos killed any chance it had of being written about. Oh well! This is where “not taking myself too seriously” comes in. If it doesn’t make it to the blog, that’s okay with me!

Something else you might find me doing behind the scenes is taking a million of the same photo, and again posting zero of them. 😉 I did end up posting a photo of this outfit, but it was from a completely different angle. And again, you can see how the lighting needs some help. A lot of work goes into the perfect outfit pic!

Though I am putting my life and my words out there for all to read, at the end of the day, this blog is like a virtual scrapbook for me. I love meeting fellow friends and bloggers along the way, but as soon as I start to feel any kind of pressure about “keeping up” in the blog world, I take a step back. I love to write and I love to share my life with my family and friends, so I’ll continue trying to keep this space as fun and light hearted as possible. 🙂

BCMG

Linking up with Sarah and Ashley!

3 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes [Week 2]

  1. I definitely take pictures trying to make them pretty and ‘blog-worthy’ and they end up not looking pretty enough for me so I don’t post them. And I agree with pictures of outfits…I take like a million pictures. And I probably only post like half of the outfits I photograph! I’m with you though, it’s a scrapbook of my life, so it can’t all be perfect lighting and white backgrounds!

  2. I know exactly what you mean about your blog being a virtual scrapbook! I feel the same way and also try not to take myself/blog too seriously (aside from the grammar, which we both care about haha). I always love your outfit pictures! I had no idea so much work went into them! You’re so stylish. Every time I see your outfits, I always get ideas! You just know how to put things together really well 🙂

    • Aw thanks! I attempt to put outfits together but I’m definitely not as put together as real fashion bloggers, nor do I try to be ha! Grammar is always the #1 concern behind writing for fun!

Leave a Reply

