MIMM: Art Edition

It’s still the weekend if I’m not at work, right? Thanks to MLK Jr. Day, I’m spending my Monday doing marvelous things at my leisure. And tomorrow I’m headed back to work for a teacher work day, so this week is off to a great start. πŸ™‚

Linking up with Katie for MIMM.

My Friday evening began with a reunion with friends in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of DC! A friend from my small group was back in town for a quick visit, so we all gathered together to eat, drink, and catch up with her! I was most excited to be served a Moscow Mule in a Moscow Mule mug. Just so you know, The Cheesecake Factory will serve you your Moscow Mule in a regular glass and you will be disappointed. πŸ˜‰ This drink and the company did not disappoint!

I was up at the crack of dawn on Saturday to take my car to the shop to be repaired. My youngest brother kiiiiiind of cracked the driver’s side mirror backing out of the garage, so I’ve been driving around with clear tape holding it together. #superclassy While it was broken, I noticed I had to lean down a bit to see in the mirror and IΒ always had to check my blind spot, but it didn’t seem too difficult to use. Now that it is repaired, I feel like it is such a luxury to see what is around me! Ha!

IMG_4293

I didn’t even mind waking up super early because I wore the new crazy Nike pants that the same wreckless brother bought me for Christmas AND I got to hang out at Starbucks and read while it was being repaired! I am reading “The Residence” by Kate Andersen Brower right now and it is SO good! It is all about The White House, which I obviously find fascinating since it is right down the street. πŸ™‚

IMG_4357

Kristen and I decided to do start checking things off our DC to-do list on Saturday and so we visited Renwick Gallery right near The White House. There are currently nine fairly new exhibits in the gallery and we didn’t realize quite how long the line would be…it went from the street corner all the way BACK to the front of The White House which is about 0.3 miles! That is really not far to walk at all, but when you are waiting in a line, it certainly seems lengthy! Thank goodness for the Starbucks coffees in our hands. πŸ™‚

IMG_4317

The current exhibit is called “Wonder” and it features nine contemporary artists’ work. This means that we weren’t exactly looking at paintings…we were really seeing creative pieces!

The above piece is made from pieces (or as I like to call them, sticks) of Alaskan bush. The artist literally had himself dropped out of a plane and collected what he found when he landed. Other people’s professions (such as an artist)Β fascinate me!

Next, we walked towards a piece made from tons of strands of colorful thread. Doesn’t it look light the color comes from a light?! It’s really pieces of thread!

My favorite! Mountains of snow! Because DC has seen none yet this season. πŸ˜‰ Really, this piece was made from a bunch of index cards. Crazy, right?!

Walking into this room, I immediately smelled leather. Then Kristen commented that it smelled like an auto body shop. Well, she was correct, because this piece was made from tires!

We headed upstairs and saw the most beautiful chandelier. It is made up of 320 diamond-like pieces and the colors fade and get brighter as you stand there and watch. It is all run by repeating patterns of LED lights. This isn’t part of Renwick Gallery, it is one of the pieces being featured with the Wonder exhibit!

IMG_4340

While we waited to see the last few pieces upstairs, we waited in line in a huge “salon” room with this colored net on the ceiling. It also changed colors! The green and blue hues were my favorite.

Upstairs, everyone was waiting to see this first piece that looks like a tree turned on its side and hollowed out. It’s made of 500,000 pieces of reclaimed cedar.Β It’s an imitation of a real tree in the Cascade Mountains. YEAH. Are you amazed?! I was!

IMG_4351

Green marbles to imitate the tides of the Chesapeake Bay and a pink room decorated with geometric designs…made of insects.

IMG_4363

With these odd drawers in the center, also full of bugs. Ah!

We went back to the Grand Salon before leaving to see the colored net.

IMG_4341

Β I was amazed at its beauty, but I was also amazed at its simplicity. Net, hanging from all different angles on the ceiling, with a variety of lights fading in and out on it. And that’s art. And I thought it was cool. The real question is: did the artist think her idea was going to be a success or did someone have to TELL her it was going to be cool? It’s just so simple!

Sunday included serving in the nursery at church, attending church, drinking the most delicious Roasted Almond Tea from Capital Teas, a workout, and Steeler game watching. You can have your win, Broncos, the Patriots are going to kill you next week. πŸ˜‰ Sidenote: while I was watching the game at a restaurant in Georgetown, I saw a wedding proposal out the window! There is an ice skating rink on the Georgetown Waterfront and after the Zamboni cleared the ice, a guy set up a bunch of red lights in a heart shape and his fiancee-to-be walked out on the ice (in high heels, I might add!) to hear his proposal. It was so sweet!

How was your weekend?! Are you still weekending today?! Happy Monday!

11 thoughts on “MIMM: Art Edition

  1. I used to live in DuPont! On 17th and T. Your blog always makes me nostalgic for DC so thanks for sharing your around town adventures!

    The museums are the best! I loved going to them. There are so many!

    Glad you had such a fun weekend!

  2. That proposal is so cute! What a perfect place for it, too.

    I *almost* went to the Renwick Gallery this weekend. Tim wanted to go but then he had to work. I dropped my friend off there Saturday afternoon though so she could meet her friend. Ha I swear one of these days we’re going to bump into each other without realizing it!

    • Stop it we were probably there at the same time haha! The proposal was seriously so sweet but he talked to her for a LONG time before he got down on one knee. I was watching out the window and yelling to my friends, “What is taking him so long!?” Ha!

  3. That art is beautiful! I like cool contemporary art like that. Looking at old paintings can get kind of boring. I can’t believe what people used to make their pieces!

    Moscow Mules totally taste a million times better out of the mugs. I had one in a glass once and it was just not the same.

    Also walking on ice in high heels? PASS. I’d be like, “Sorry, can you propose elsewhere?” Hahahaha. BUT it’s still super cute. She’s just braver than me!!

    • She went out step by step by step! I couldn’t blame her haha but I also probably would’ve asked for ice skates! I was just surprised at how cool the art was even though it was made from the most random things! I’m glad you agree that Moscow Mules in a glass are just wrong πŸ™‚ I knew I wasn’t crazy!

Leave a Reply

