Let’s Talk [January]

Andrea and Erika always plan such fun link-ups for us bloggers, and today we are starting the first of many “Let’s Talk” posts. On this Monday, it’s all about resolutions, goals, and what I’m looking forward to in 2016. 🙂 Link up with us here!

For the year of 2015, I chose one word to focus on and I wrote a list of eight resolutions, which I prefer to call goals because it makes them seem more do-able. I wanted to be more present in 2015 (my one word) and my resolutions (or goals) were related to all aspects of my life. Looking back, I only truly accomplished one of my resolutions from 2015. I wanted it to be a “yes” year and I needed it to be a “yes” year because I was brand new to my school, my city, my church, and so on. I can say with almost complete certainty that every time an opportunity to hang out with friends or try something new was presented to me, I accepted the offer. I even ventured out on my own a few times because I wanted to try new things and I didn’t care if I had to do them alone! I found community, made so many new friends, got more involved with my church, and accepted my first full-time teaching position in 2015, all because I decided I was going to say yes. So it was a good year. 🙂

I can hardly believe the first month of 2016 has already passed us by, but here we are. And I still don’t have a concrete list of things to accomplish this year. Now, that doesn’t mean I don’t have goals. I’m a list maker and a task do-er. I enjoy a challenge and I need to feel like I am constantly working towards something. But the list in my head feels more abstract this year, probably because there are many little things that I want to change as part of my daily routine that I think will improve my life overall. #woah #thatwasdeep

Here’s what I’ll be up to in 2016:

Untitled (1).jpg

  1. Read. Every day. There is zero reason not to do this, and absolutely every reason TO do it. It’s calming and I’m learning at the same time. I’ve become a huge fan of audio books, specifically of the personal development or motivational kind. Listening to those on the way to and from work really sets a great tone for the day! And reading before bed is just a good idea. I can actually tell when I get tired, as opposed to staring at my laptop and having the light of the screen make me think I’m not tired at all. 😉
  2. Pray. Every morning when I wake up. It’s idealistic of me to say that I will wake up every morning and have time to read my devotional and Bible before work. I could make it happen, but more often than not, I simply do not make the time. It’s terrible yet true. However, I DO have time to wake up and pray every day. How often do you wake up and immediately start thinking of the 2343329 things you have to do that day? I have started waking up, turning off my alarm, and immediately starting to pray. It works for me and I like to turn my thoughts to God as I start the day.
  3. Disconnect. Not from people, but from social media. If you’ve ever texted me, you may realize that I am terrible at responding. I often read the message, respond in my head, and then totally forget to type a real response. This drives my Dad absolutely crazy as most of our communication takes place over text (we have totally opposite schedules). BUT, I have also noticed that I turn to social media every time I feel like I have down time. Realistically, I typically only check social media on my lunch break and at night when I’m not as busy, but still, I am clicking on every app every time I pick up my phone, and that’s too much. I love the connections that can be made via social media but it is so easy to get sucked into a comparison trap. I, for one, like my mindset much better when I’m only checking into social media once a day. Though I do find myself thinking, “Wow! Look what I missed!”, I also feel calmer about everything that’s happening in my real life when I tune out social media.
  4. Think. This could mean a lot of things, but I really want to continue thinking positively in the areas of fitness and nutrition. I love teaching fitness classes and I love running, but it is so easy to pressure yourself to workout as hard as someone else. The same goes for what you are eating. Again, social media can be as helpful as it is detrimental. It is not helpful (for me) to compare what I eat and how I work out to someone else. Comparing makes me feel bad about my choices, and I don’t make enough bad choices to spend all of my time feeling bad about myself. I am unintentionally moving towards the mindset of not really being affected by what workout I do or what I ate that day, and as scary as it is to me to “not care” in a way, I also love it. And I want more. So I want to focus on thinking more positively about the choices I make so that I gain more confidence in this area.
  5. Run. Running is my workout of choice. My body, on the other hand, doesn’t always agree with me. Ha! I have spent the first month of this year solely focusing on strength training with a few random runs thrown in there and I really hope to see some positive changes in my running due to this extra strength I am building! I want to sign up and run at least one new-to-me race this year. No time goals over here, just smart, injury-free training and racing.
  6. Involve. I want to build the relationships in my life, with both family and friends. When someone wants to make plans, I want to be available instead of being “too busy”. I want to throw myself into my job and be more involved at my school. I want to step up at church and be more involved in the nursery. I want to be in the moment more. As I mentioned, I am a planner and a do-er, and it is all too easy for me to just “sort of” involve myself in my current life and spend far too much time day dreaming of what’s to come. 😉

As far as what I’m looking forward to? Well, I honestly don’t have that many concrete plans in 2016 yet. The highlight will certainly be graduating with my Master’s degree in Reading Education, but other than that, I want to seek as many new adventures as possible.

Bring it on, 2016!

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk [January]

  1. I hear you on resolutions vs. goals (isn’t it so much better when they are goals and not resolutions?) Congrats on soon having your masters degree!! I bet you are so pumped! Yes. reading. Yes. give me all the books and all the time to do all the things I need to do each day and also get tons of reading in 🙂

  2. I love all of these goals! These are all things I need to improve on in my life also! I’m with you on making them goals instead of resolution, makes them seem more attainable.

  3. Love this post, Kylie! I think your goals are awesome, and I really love the whole praying right when you wake up idea! I often wake up and feel so anxious right away because I think about everything I have to do, or whatever I was worried about the day before. Praying first thing is such a wonderful idea!!

    Also, glad you’re loving audiobooks! They’re awesome. And your “think” goal is great, too. Comparison is tough with social media! I wish I could just have to good aspects of social media, and none of the negative feelings. But like you said, it’s all in how we use it (not too much, and for positive things) that counts!

    • Thanks! I’m trying not to be too hard on myself because sometimes I wake up and forget and as I’m walking to the kitchen or something I’m like OH WAIT! Social media is a double edged sword. I think if we are aware of its detriments, we’ll be okay!

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday [January] | kylie mcgraw

Leave a Reply

