Awkward and Awesome [1/29/16]

Happy Friday! I’m back with another round of “Awesome and Awkward” moments from the week. πŸ™‚ Giving all the credit for this idea toΒ MorganΒ at The True Life of MKH. It’s fun to read about these random moments in her life, and it’s just as fun to compile my own list.Β Of course, some of these random moments have also turned into some of my favorite things, because it’s all about the little things in life, right?

-Awkward-

-Getting really mad at the nurse at the gyno for weighing me and recording a ridiculous number…then coming home and realizing that number matches the one on the scale here, too. #eyeroll I like how I look, so I don’t care about the number. But I do. But I don’t. #itsamindgame
-Going out for mimosas and brunch with friends and being the first one to leave…this was mid-blizzard and we were at the only open restaurant one block from my apartment. I just really wanted to watch Netflix and lay in my bed. Hahaha
-Telling Amanda I would adventure with her and her friend to see Iwo Jima in the snow and backing out after three blocks. Hahaha! I really sound like the life of the party, don’t I? I didn’t want to get stuck far away in the snow with no way to get home! πŸ˜‰
-Cohabitating with my roommate’s boyfriend…he was at our apartment all weekend during the blizzard and then come Sunday evening, he couldn’t get home. So while my roommate went to work all week and I had 234937 snow days, he and I bonded. Or something.
-When I raise my eyebrows, I get really attractive forehead rolls…

IMG_4773

Don’t mind Jake, he was busy trying to find a video from the local news on Facebook.

-Awesome-

-My friends and I were shopping on Tuesday and we met up with some friends of a friend while we were out. We all went to Duquesne together, so we had that in common, too. I recognized both girls, but I don’t think I had ever actually talked to them before. Upon meeting, they said, “Hey, didn’t you used to teach a Spin class in college? We used to come all the time!” Hey! Yes! That’s me! I’m the Spin teacher! πŸ™‚

IMG_4725

-I left some gloves and other winter gear at my mom’s house in Pittsburgh, so she sent me a little care package with those things plus some of my mail. And of course chocolate covered Sarris pretzels! A $20 bill also dropped out of the box, but my favorite part was the quickly written note from my little brother. πŸ™‚ #thelittlethings

IMG_4735

-The same cute baby brother who wrote me a note let me drive his new car when I got home on Wednesday night! My friends and I used to drive around aimlessly for hours in high school so it was fun to do the same thing with Jake πŸ™‚ Most of my family members drive SUV’sΒ so it feels weird to zoom around in a little car!

-While driving back to Pittsburgh, Kristen and I talked about (and Google-d) how spaceships land, how spaceships are driven, the U.S. mint, inflation, and how the world’s marketplaces figure out how much things should cost. We also recently discussed how the Metro definitely goes up hill while we are riding it, but it always feels like it’s moving in a straight line. I tell you these random thoughts to point out that we aren’t the kind of friends who are always staring at our phones…we are pondering real important things about life. πŸ˜‰ Haha!

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 11.22.10 PM (1)

-You have my full permission to judge me for this one. I LOVE THIS REMIX. Actually, I love all song remixes. Regardless, I don’t even like the regular version of this Fetty Wap song (because really? Your name is Fetty Wap?) but when the beat drops at 1:03, it makes my Spin teaching self so happy. Listen here; I know you want to. πŸ˜‰

Around the Internet:

“Reserving” Your Street Parking Spot in the Days After JonasΒ #sassy
Short video about your BFF’s ex-significant other πŸ˜‰Β #stilllaughing
On Taking Charge of Your CareerΒ #justdoit
Why We Should Stop Saying #GirlBossΒ –> never thought about it this way until I read this but I totally agree.
Etsy PlannersΒ –> These remind me SO much of Erin Condren (design, layout, and customizing features) but are priced much lower!

***

Bloggers, looking for a link-up? Click over to any one of these amazing blogs to join us for Friday Favorites!

 

14 thoughts on “Awkward and Awesome [1/29/16]

  1. Oh I hate the scale at the doctor’s office. They probably hate me but I stop to take off my shoes because I typically weigh myself without them at home and so I can’t stand the higher number. Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. This is such a fun list idea! Having a snow day from work sounds awesome! I miss that.

    I had a long day at work this week and while I was waiting for my bus home I thought I just want to be home watching the Mindy project. Lol so i totally understand you wanting to be home in bed watching shows esp in a DC blizzard!!

    Also care packages are the best! ❀

  3. Your brother IS the cutest. How sweet of him. Mine would never do something like that. Also, let’s talk about the scale at the doctor. It literally gives me SO MUCH ANXIETY! I just end up getting really mad about it and then being grumpy the rest of the day. And yes, I sadly do care about the number on the scale. Sigh..

Leave a Reply

