Book Talk [February]

My favorite thing to do is cuddle up with my big purple blanket, a cup of coffee, and a book. I have found that the Internet…and Netflix…and apps on my phone…well, they make this very simple task of curling up with a book seem like a challenge. But, I am always much happier and more relaxed when I make time to read. 🙂

Here’s what I checked out from the library this month:

The Residence by Kate Andersen Brower

47613914.cached

This nonfiction book is all about life inside the White House. The author gathered these stories from White House domestic staff like the butlers, maids, gardeners, maintenance men…you know, those people who work there for years and years and see more than one Presidential family come through. It was SO interesting to read how they prepare for a new family and what kinds of things they are expected to do. Plus, most of the people who have these jobs have them because someone in their family worked at The White House, too, so they REALLY know a lot about the people who have lived there! When I visited Renwick Gallery a few weeks ago, I waited in a long line outside the museum, which happens to be right by The White House, and I talked my friend’s ear off with all the new facts and stories I learned.

A few fun ones:

Lyndon B. Johnson was obsessed with having a very intricate shower built in his bathroom. Ha!

The Clintons were the loudest, most argumentative First Couple.

One of the butlers joked that he had never heard Mary J. Blige played in The White House until the first night the Obamas were there. 🙂

The First Families pay for all their own food! –> I thought this one was so interesting because there are so many luxuries that they have just by living in that house, so it was a surprise to read they still have that same normal expense as the rest of us!

Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner

51Dv9RUSOJL._SX305_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Perhaps my FAVORITE book. I started it on a Saturday night and finished it on Sunday morning, thanks to Blizzard Jonas. This historical fiction book is about two sisters living in London during WWII. As the war moved closer to England, children were sent to the country, with the thought that they would be safer there should anything happen to the city. The first chapter starts out in present day and HOOKS you right from the start. I couldn’t wait to see what happened, and I couldn’t predict it, either! I was so sad when this story ended because I wanted to keep reading about the characters. It was the perfect ending. This is my favorite time period to read about, which I always feel weird saying, because there was obviously a war taking place, but it is just fascinating to read about everything that went on at that time.

The Trump Card by Ivanka Trump

51zAlqRwMUL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

You are more than welcome to judge me for this read, but I got this book from the library in audio book form and I really enjoyed listening to it on the way to and from work. This book is essentially written for someone who is just beginning their career, and I loved the perspective and motivation she provided for someone (like me) in that stage of life. Though she did relate many of her explanations to the business world, I still felt myself relating and engaged. She only talks of her father as a father in this book, and that was enough. 😉 #savethepolitics

I stole 2 of these 3 book recommendations from Allie’s recent book post, so now I need some more help! What should I read next?

bookwormwednesday12

9 thoughts on “Book Talk [February]

  1. For some reason it really doesn’t surprise me that the Clintons fought the most! Hahaha. That book sounds so interesting. I saw the movie The Butler and loved it sooo I think I need to read that!

    I’m reading Before I Go To Sleep and it’s suspenseful (not scary, at least it hasn’t been yet) and I never want to put it down! I get sad every time i have to stop reading because I want to keep going! So anyway, there’s a recommendation for you!

  2. Wait that first book is freaking awesome. And why don’t any of those things surprise me at all 😉 Except for the paying for their meals. That surprises me!! I didn’t even know there was such a book but now you have me hooked. Thanks for always linking up with us!

  3. These all sound great! I’m especially interested in the residence. I’m fascinated by the White House and the first families. So many interesting stories!

    I’ve read so many celeb biographies so absolutely no judgment from me! 🙂

  4. Yay! I am so glad you liked the two recommendations! Wasn’t the info about Lyndon B. Johnson so weird?! He was crazy!! Also, I never knew about the first families having to pay for their own food until I read the book, either. So interesting. And Secrets of a Charmed Life made me so sad when it was over, too! I was like nooo don’t end, haha. But you’re right, I couldn’t figure out where the story would go either. It was just amazing. I am going to have to pick up the Ivanka Trump book at the library some time! It sounds good!

  5. Well, you have given me some new books to read. The first two sound right up my alley of the kind of books I enjoy the most!
    Glad I found you too through Bookworm Wed.

Leave a Reply

