DIY Makeup Remover

I can’t figure out a label for my clothing style (Comfy chic? Workout ready?), I don’t have a favorite makeup product (actually, yes I do…it’s whichever one my aunt buys for me), and it takes me 30 minutes or less to get ready for wherever I am going (including showering and drying my hair). I guess you could say I am a very low maintenance person in the beauty department, though I am attempting to put in a little more effort as I get older. For example, my aunt was horrified that I don’t use a daily moisturizer (I do wash my face…apparently that’s not enough), so we picked one out last week at the store. However, after my long weekend in Pittsburgh, I arrived back in DC to a text message from my mom letting me know I left my makeup bag in her bathroom. Ah! I have been surviving this week on a combination of whatever I have in my bathroom here, but I need to go out and get mascara PRONTO.

One beauty tip that I have tried lately is using coconut oil to as eye makeup remover. Let me tell you, you don’t need that much oil and it works like a charm! I typically use Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes and I make the same towel last for a few days, using a different corner each time I remove my makeup. Though they are only about $6-$7, using a product that I already have at home, like coconut oil, is a great alternative! After a slew of eye issues that included a sinus infection, a scratched cornea, and forgetting to open a new set of contacts, my eyes were all red and I was in my glasses for a few weeks. I blamed the coconut oil for my eye issues, but I’m not so sure it was the culprit. I’m putting that theory to the test with this new makeup remover that my mom and I made! So far, so good. πŸ™‚

IMG_4767

What You’ll Need

3 T coconut oil (melted)
1 T baby bath wash
2 cups water
1/4 t tea tree oil
1 pack cotton rounds
1 Mason jar

IMG_4761

We doubled our ingredients to make two Mason jars worth of makeup remover.

What You’ll Do

1. In a glass dish, melt coconut oil by microwave.
We did not melt our coconut oil and it was difficult to make it separate and mix with our other liquid ingredients.

IMG_4765


2. Combine coconut oil, baby bath wash, and water in glass dish. Stir.
3. Add tea tree oil. Stir.
This optional ingredient makes the makeup remover have a fresh smell!

IMG_4766

4. Put enough cotton rounds in your Mason jar to fill it about halfway. Add some of your liquid mixture to the Mason jar. Push down on the cotton rounds to help them soak up some of the liquid.
5. Continue adding cotton rounds and liquid, pushing down on the rounds each time, until the jar is full.

IMG_4767

What You Should Know

We found all of our ingredients at Target, even the random tea tree oil. As I mentioned, we did not melt our coconut oil and the consistency of our remover is much different than it should be! It does the trick, but I already want to make it again the right way. πŸ™‚ Also, we doubled our ingredients so that we could both have a Mason jar, so your liquid will be much less should you put this together for yourself!

Original inspiration found here.

3 thoughts on “DIY Makeup Remover

  1. Makeup remover is expensive! This is super tempting to try. I’m also pretty low maintenance and not super into makeup. I want to switch foundations to a drugstore one so it’s cheaper but I have absolutely no idea how to choose one and even less idea how to match it to my skin tone without a beauty counter person to do it for me!!

  2. Okay, well you know I’m a huge beauty junkie so this is right up my ally! I also use waterproof mascara (GASP) so makeup remover is crucial to me! I swear my Pond’s Cold Cream especially because it isn’t outrageous but this might be even better! I will have to try this out! Thanks, friend πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Show ‘N Tell: Favorite Pins | kylie mcgraw

Leave a Reply

