Show ‘N Tell: Favorite Pins

Pinterest and I go through waves of love for one another, but I do have to say, if I find something on the Internet, I “save” it by putting the URL into Pinterest and creating a pin. It’s the easiest way to find something again (besides our trusty friend Google)! I save so many quotes, organization ideas, and recipes.ย My most recent Pinterest creation actually came from a Facebook video, but of course I copied the link and saved it right to my Pinterest boards. Read about the DIY Makeup Remover here!

Show and Tell - IG Graphic

Link up with to share your favorite pins here!

ย My mom and I usually go Pin-crazy during the holidays. After we’ve (okay let’s be honest…she…) planned the menu, we start cooking…and then we brainstorm about what ELSE we just need to make. Ha! Usually, that’s where Pinterest comes in handy. We’ve made some pretty festive creations in the last few years!

Holiday Inspired Treats

IMG_6567.jpg

Easter 2015: We made fruit pizza in the shape of an Easter egg. ๐Ÿ™‚ This recipeย was our inspiration, but we ended up using crescent roll for the crust, a mixture of cool whip and jello mix for the “icing”, and then our choice of fruit for the toppings.

IMG_4500.jpg

Thanksgiving 2014: Cheese platter in the shape of a turkey! Inspiration found here.

0404101617.jpg

Easter 2010: Major throwback! Veggies & crackers with cheese spread! I imagine we used something similar to this recipe, but I can’t be certain. My mom is the kind of person who makes up recipes as we cook together. ๐Ÿ™‚

A few other successful food pins:

sesame street.jpg

Sesame Street Fruit & Vegetable Trays

watermelon.jpg

Watermelon Basket

My mom made both of these for luncheons at her school. She’s a teacher and her coworkers love to do festive get-togethers in the teacher’s lounge! I helped with the Sesame Street trays, but I cannot take any credit for the watermelon basket. Check out the circle pieces of watermelon inside the basket…she used the cookie dough scoop to make those pieces! My best advice in making any kind of platter or design with your food is to Google the picture and then just make it your own. That’s how we have had the best luck!

As a student teacher, I also put together these snack bags during our Read Across America! week at school.

It was perfect because it included so many kid-friendly snacks and they each related to a different Dr. Seuss book!

IMG_1721

These treat bags might be making a comeback this March when we celebrate Read Across America! week again. Who doesn’t love popcorn, animal crackers, Cheerio’s, Goldfish, and M&M’s… #crowdpleaser

Dessert

Cassie blogs over at Hi Sugarplum! and she posts the best recipe for “Christmas Crack” every year. Its official name is Salted Caramel Pretzel Toffee. I first made this in 2014 and it’s one of those treats that you have to hold yourself back from eating. The salty/sweet combination is so good!

IMG_0610

Shay Shull’s Neiman Marcus bars are also perfectly sweet and salty!

Epic Fail

And then there are those pins that you just try and try and TRY to recreate, and they never quite work.

Takeย Christmas 2013, for example. We tried to make Christmas trees out of vegetables. Our inspiration picture was perfect!

Veggie Tree.jpeg

All photo credit here to Google Images. I’m pretty sure we didn’t take a picture of our trees on purpose. Hahaha

In reality…our trees did not turn out like this. My uncle could not stop laughing because they looked like green bushes on a platter. And that was BEFORE anyone started eating from them! That’s the thing with these festive platters…how life-like (or tree-like) can they look once people start eating them?!

I was also obsessed with making this R-shape made of crayons for my cooperating teacher when I was a student teacher. I tried every night for a week to make it look like the inspiration picture, and it was just not happening.ย I tried on the carpet, I tried on a cutting board, I tried on the kitchen table…nope. I am also a perfectionist, so if it wasn’t going to look like the original, I was not going to be happy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I could’ve ordered this on Etsy for like $50, but I was determined to do it myself! In the end, I think my cooperating teacher ended up with a handwritten note from me and a gift card. #sooriginal #oops

And then there was the 3 (or 4?) ingredient fudge that my mom and I saw in a video on Facebook. We’ve made a more complicated fudge recipe in the past, so we know what it is supposed to look and taste like…this recipe was just not working.

Doesn’t it look so appetizing?! I think it had something to do with the condensed milk that we used. We will never know. It just tasted so strange and never became the right consistency!

It has now become apparent that I only love pins involving food. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I accept my flaws. Ha! What are some of your Pinterest successes and failures?

Follow me on Pinterest!

 

9 thoughts on “Show ‘N Tell: Favorite Pins

  1. Okay you and your mom made some of the cutest things from Pinterest! I’m super impressed with that Easter egg fruit pizza…it looks just like the inspiration picture! I still haven’t made Shay’s Neiman Marcus bars (in any flavor) and I really want to! Pinterest fails crack me up. There was a blog called Pin Tester or something and she posted all her fails and it’s the best. I wonder if she still blogs…I’m gonna try and find it now! Haha.

  2. Oh, my gosh I am inspired to recreate the Sesame Street platters for my daughter–too cute! My most hilarious pinterest fail was a meatloaf cake frosted with whipped poatatos I made for my dog’s birthday. It was a hot mess! But I guess the beauty of ‘baking’ for your dog is that the appearance is not at all important. (She was too busy snarfing up meatloaf to notice how messy the birthday greeting I’d piped on the cake in ketchsup was) familyoffoley.wordpress.com

  3. Boy, I never get that creative! I’m just usually on the hunt for something that sounds like it’ll taste good, not so much look good.

    When I first looked at Pinterest a few years ago I just didn’t get it.

    This year I fell and I fell hard!

  4. I love using Pinterest for Holiday treats too! If only I could get mine to turn out like the pictures! I think I could be queen of the #pinterestfails! Yours are super cute, though! I’m very impressed!

  5. This was so much fun to read! I’m going to visit your Pinterest page now! Also, are you on Snapchat?! I feel like we should be friends on Snapchat!! My favorite types of pins are Bible verses and encouraging quotes and also home design/decorating!

    • I maybe just added you??? Haha and me too! I love the design ones because even though I am obsessed with the pins and magazines and HGTV I don’t know if I could think of any of it myself!

Leave a Reply

