What’s Up [February]

Hi, friends! My dad was going through blog withdrawl, so I thought you might be too. 😉 What’s up with you this Wednesday?

 whatsupwed1

What I’m eating this week:

IMG_5160

I love Mexican food. I don’t love refried beans. I especially don’t love when they are black and touch the rest of my food. But I ran out of salsa and I wanted to dip my chip in something so refried beans it was…they weren’t THAT bad, but they aren’t my new favorite, either.

I believe I told you that I’ve been making and eating Three Minute Egg White Oatmeal every day…well, we’re still going strong. It’s filling, it’s healthy, it’s tasty…what’s not to love?! I get excited to wake up in the morning and eat my oatmeal. Ha!

I also made Anne’s Creamy Mexican Chicken Chili. I will spare you the picture, but it tastes SO good. Go to Fannetastic Food if you want to see some real food photography. 🙂 The weirdest part of this recipe is that it includes hummus, but that’s what makes it creamy and I love it!

IMG_5222.jpg

Only quality pictures here on this blog. I also ate macaroni and cheese from a box for dinner on Sunday night. I haven’t eaten mac and cheese for like 104 years. It used to be one of my “do not eat” foods back in the day and the carbs still freak me out but I BOUGHT IT AND ATE IT AND LOVED IT AMEN. #nonscalevictory

What I’m reminiscing about:

This whole lay-with-your-legs-up-against-the-wall thing is actually a real stretch with real health benefits, and I made Kristen be all touristy and lay with our legs up on the Washington Monument after one of our long runs this summer. I was SO looking forward to doing this stretch this past Saturday because I haven’t run long in a long time.

While I was laying there playing with my phone and celebrating 7 miles, a bunch of other tourists taking pictures laid down and started doing the same thing. I started a movement. 😉 The funniest part was not this guy just looking up, but the five people behind him laying down…and then his girlfriend or wife switched places with him, laid down, and pretended to be climbing the monument. I was dying. Hahaha

What I’m loving:

IMG_5215

Action shot! Go Mustangs!

What I’ve been up to:

Tried two new restaurants: El Centro (Mexican food) in Georgetown and Bluejacket (a brewery) in Navy Yard. Went to an outdoor art event called Light Yards in 60 degree February weather #praisetheLord. Running one day, lifting the next to prepare for the Rock ‘N Roll Half coming up in March. Referee-ing lots of tattle tales of second graders who are tuning into their sassy “I’m not gonna be your friend anymore” sides. Sitting in lots of traffic, because night class. 😉 Rain in DC in the car is worse than snow. People lose.their.minds. My coworker was almost late for work yesterday because traffic was so slow AND she left early!

What I’m dreading:

I want to be ahead on homework but that’s not really working out for me thus far. 😉 Thank God for workout clothes at work today. Thank God for Thursday tomorrow. And I guess thanks be to God that I have the opportunity to learn all of this stuff but I am craving some “me” time! Thursday night can’t come soon enough! #allthewine #oliviapopejunior

What I’m working on:

IMG_5225

Waking up and making my bed every day. Pastor Mark said if you can’t do the little things right, you can’t do the big things right. We’re 3 for 3 over here this week. 🙂

What I’m excited about:

IMG_5205

The Blardigan’s cousin in hoodie form. Pocket on the front, hood on the back, V-neck, angel soft material, what more could you ask for?! Oh, I know what more you could ask for. The $40 price tag. I bow down to Nordstrom Rack. I also REALLY wanted those jeans because the distressed legs are PERFECT but I think I am officially over low rise jeans and so they went back on the rack. Womp.

What I’m watching/reading:

Do fairy tales that I read to my second graders count? We’re currently reading through different versions of Little Red Riding Hood. Ha! The one version said she was taking her Grandma custard, and the next day another book said bread and wine. I read it aloud as bread and juice because REALLY LIBRARY you’re going to stock a book that says wine?! Then of course two students were going through the book later and one was like, “MISS MCGRAW IT SAYS WINE WHY DID YOU SAY JUICE!!!” while another student said, “What’s wine?” #oywiththepoodles #gilmoregirlsreference

For fun, I’m reading…

9758764

One of the characters is from Pittsburgh. 🙂

And I’m watching The Bachelor, Grey’s Anatomy, and Scandal! Bachelor –> not surprised by who went home after hometowns. Greys –> ALL THE FEELS! I have NO idea what Shonda Rimes is doing with Meredith this season…what is possibly left for her to go through?! Scandal –> Cyrus is being sneaky as per usual and I loved Mellie and Olivia hanging out and getting drunk on the floor. Hahaha

What I’m wearing:

These slouchy pants are awesome. I explain them as blouse material on your legs. Ha! They’re a snakeskin pattern and they feel like pajamas even though they’re dress pants. I bought a similar pair from Target this fall that ripped in THREE places the very first day I wore them. I chalked it up to cheap material, but in each of the places, it had frayed right on the seam and then split.

IMG_6436

The above pants have held up so well over the years. I’ve had them since junior year of college, and this is a fact because the picture above is old. I wore this exact outfit to work yesterday and I noticed that the seam right down the front started to fray. At 11 AM. When I’m in the middle of my teaching day and still have to go to night class at UMD. Needless to say, I put the now crotch-less pants in the trash as soon as I got home… #RIP

IMG_5194

I also ran in shorts this past weekend which was the happiest of all days.

IMG_5231.jpg

I got a few weird looks for crazy colored running tights and two unmatching compression sleeves, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do to change, run, and get back home before The Bachelor starts, right?!

What I’m doing this weekend:

Sleeping, eating, running, and reading. I am very easy to please.

What I’m looking forward to next month:

St. Patrick’s Day race.
Rock N Roll Half Marathon.
Girls’ weekend with my mom in Atlantic City.
Spring Break!
Going to Rochester, NY to see Stef!!!

What else is new:

Bonus: What is your favorite Easter tradition?

IMG_2642

We take our egg dying seriously around here. When my brothers and I were younger, we would each get a carton of a dozen eggs to color and decorate. Alex and Jake aren’t busting at the seams to dye eggs anymore, but it’s all about tradition and we do have so much fun. 🙂 Everyone has gotten involved over the years. Friends, significant others, neighbors, long distance relatives…whoever is in the house when my mom starts making the colors is who dyes eggs with us! And yes, we do end up peeling them and eating the hard boiled egg on the inside!

Me and my cousin, Lucy…on the left in 2008 and on the right in 2013! Now we just need to reunite for another picture because we look even MORE grown up now!

10 thoughts on “What’s Up [February]

  1. So there’s a lot to comment on but Drop The World?!?! Throwback. To like, middle school!!! So funny. Also, that picture of you all dressed up in your slouchy pants is so cute & you’re fashionable & I really hope you got that Hoodigan (Hoodie + Blardigan because Bloodie sounded creepy). Have fun this weekend doing nothing, just like me 😉

  2. All about that mac and cheese. Haha I ate it the other night and the entire box was the perfect serving size 😉 I love the slouchy pants so that stinks that they started to fray. I don’t think I could pull them off but they’re so cute!

  3. I used to do those same stretches in between basketball games when we had tournaments over the weekend! I love that you started a trend! Love that you linked up with What’s Up Wednesday it is so fun!!

  4. Pingback: What’s Up?! [March] | kylie mcgraw

Leave a Reply

