MIMM: This and That

Nothing like a Monday where you’re counting down the days until literally everything. The Rock N Roll Half Marathon, my mom’s visit, a quick trip to Atlantic City, visiting my best friend in Rochester, NY, Spring Break, Easter…I could go on.

On the other hand, there is something to be said for a Monday of a 5 day week by a teacher who feels like she hasn’t been in school all winter. As much as the long (read: normal length) weeks are going to hurt, we are all going to be better for it. I love a good snow day but it’s hard to get into a routine when the routine is constantly interrupted!

This weekend started off just marvelously  with my favorite Spin class at Zengo Cycle. The instructor was meh, the music was eh, but I love that studio and the atmosphere of a group exercise class so it was exactly what I needed! Then I was a terrible Whole Foods shopper because I started to make a plate of food from their salad bar and my friend suggested we walk across the street to The Cheesecake Factory instead. So I did what any good citizen would do. I pretended to look at the blueberries, ditched my half-filled takeout box, and went to The Cheesecake Factory. Oops!!!

I ordered chicken enchiladas for my meal and I wasn’t sure how it was going to go since I definitely wasn’t at a Mexican restaurant, but they were spicy and SO delicious! You could literally try a different plate every time you go to The Cheesecake Factory and never get the same thing for like 5 years, so add enchiladas to your list. 😉

My friend and I met up with one of my coworkers and his friends for drinks in DC and we went to the most fun bar ever. Everyone that I’ve talked to since knows exactly where Nellie’s is, so it must be legit. Ha! They had great drinks, fun music, and lots of people who love to dance so it was a blast. 🙂

On Saturday, Kristen and I took a day trip to Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. It’s about an hour drive from Arlington, but there was zero traffic and it’s a straight shot so it was an easy drive. Of course the pretty picture of the water was posted to my Snapchat and I never saved it, so you’re stuck with this instead. 😉 We shopped, bought candy, and browsed the huge Barnes and Noble. They had the newest Joanne Fluke book and I was sooo excited. My Grandma really loved reading murder mysteries and I was always a plain Jane with my books, reading stories of people exactly like me. Somehow got me into this series and we used to read them together. Now every time a new one comes out, I think of her!

IMG_5471

Next to the word marvelous in the dictionary is THIS PICTURE. I mean, come on. So cute. Stef is the friend that I am going to visit in NY in two weeks and her parents just sold their house. She was finding so many random things while going through some boxes of her stuff at their house this weekend and I LOVE this picture of me, her, and my brother Jake. It would be nice to recreate this picture, but Jake would definitely block my entire person if he tried to stand in front of me like this now. Hahaha

IMG_5460

My Sunday morning was just lovely because I fell asleep at 7 PM on Saturday night. Ha! I woke up and made myself eat dinner but then I went straight back to bed at 9. I was actually wide awake at 5:30 on Sunday morning but I was NOT about to let that hour happen on a weekend day so I dozed until the clock read an acceptable hour AKA 7:30 AM. I watched old episodes of Fixer Upper, made oatmeal and banana pancakes, and lounged until it was time to get ready for church.

My friends and I ate lunch at Eastern Market and I ordered an asparagus omelette, but I still managed to get syrup in the speaker of my phone. I was reaching across the table like the polite lady I am and I knocked somebody’s little cup of syrup over. I immediately started cleaning my phone as soon as it happened, but that stuff is SO sticky and just impossible to get off. My mother suggested rice, I’m thinking it’s a lost cause. Womp.

IMG_5474

I found my favorite snack at the grocery store…I’m wondering how long it’s going to last this week. 😉 I also parked next to a huge SUV that had three men in suits sitting inside of it. From the look of the car, I assumed they were Secret Service, so I peeked at their license plates while I was putting my cart away and they noticed me creeping past their car. Oops! Then when I got in my car and tried to pretend I was normal, I noticed another one of the same big black SUV’s with more men in suits sitting on the other side of the car next to me. I was sandwiched in between Secret Service! If it was one car, I would say they were shopping at the grocery store, but because there were two, I feel like they were watching for someone…only in DC.

IMG_5425

On the bright side of Monday, I have approximately 2394739 Hershey’s kisses left in my classroom because I numbered and hid 100 kisses for the 100th day of school on Friday. I wasn’t sure how many were in a bag, so I bought more than enough. I only hid 100 so we have lots of extra! The kids had a blast hunting for them and then they were extra quiet during our reading time at the end of the day. 😉

IMG_5463

Today, your challenge is to find something today that makes you as excited as Amigo is when it’s time to come inside. He really hates the cold. Hahaha

7 thoughts on “MIMM: This and That

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend! Proud of you for YOLOing it and eating Cheesecake Factory with your friend! That’s what life is all about 😉 Those pancakes look incredible! Recipe please. I love the secret service story hahaha that’s one of the reasons I love DC because it’s one of the most unique cities out there. Finally, Amigo is adorable and I hope to be that happy today! Happy Monday, friend!

  2. You just always seem to have the best weekends, but even *I’m* not in bed by 7 pm (of course, I’ve never in bed at 7:30 am either).

    Love dried pineapple! Which is kind of funny, since I’m not that crazy about the real thing. I don’t bother with the pieces, tho, I just go for the rings.

  3. Aww you were in Baltimore!! I was walking around downtown hahaha so as always, we totally could have run into each other. I swear, we WILL run into each other one day…

  4. I don’t think anyone could be more excited than Amigo! I went to bed at 10 on Saturday. I seriously couldn’t keep my eyes open! I think I got like four hours of sleep Friday night though, then walked a ton on Saturday, so I then slept from about 10 pm – 10 am and walked like 5000 steps. Opposite ends of the spectrum both days!

  5. Amigo is adorable and love his name! Great pic. How’s your phone now? Sounds sticky!

    That’s so cool you saw the secret service. The first day I moved to DC I saw obamas motorcade and it was awesome!

Leave a Reply

